We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Part of the Family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Certificate of Excellence
Barnsley
1 review
“Part of the Family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2008

Well what can I say, but fantasic! I have stayed in the Albright Hussey Manor now for the last 6 weeks due to relocation of job. The grounds and hotel are a rare treat and they have to be experienced. I have found the staff to be very friendly and professional. The food for me as been an experience that I have found to be most enjoyable and I can say I have completed all the menu's. The rooms are always kept clean and fresh and are very comfortable. The General Manager and the family who own this hotel have made me feel that I am part of there family and team, which as made my time away from my family alot easier.

All I can say is a big thank you to the team at the Albright Hussey Manor.

  • Liked — The Staff
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank HappyStayerBarnsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    80
    36
    17
    15
See reviews for
57
150
16
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2008

I stayed here on business and will definitely be coming back with my wife. First and foremost excellent customer service from friendly, welcoming staff. (I know what I'm talking about ,as I train people in customer service). Combine this with a clean, comfortable room and a truly charming setting and you have a refreshing change from the norm. The hotel is family owned and you can tell this from the general atmosphere, no "hotel chain" rules and proceedures. One simple example of this is the sherry decanter on the reception desk, should you fancy a(complementry) tipple as you check in after your journey.
The resturant was excellent, intimate and decorated in the period. I recommend the glazed pork.

Well worth a visit.

  • Liked — Friendly atmosphere
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank HampshireRoadwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2008

This hotel is set in a beautiful location and looks stunning. I have stayed in both its new wing and its older traditional rooms and found them to be very comfortable. The older rooms have all the character you would expect from a tudor building. The hotel is family owned and run, and this shows in the level of service which is second to none. From the general manager to the waiting staff the people here are some of the most friendly and helpful I have experienced. As a vegetarian I was extremely well catered for, the chef created a new menu for me each night! The wine list is excellent. Access to a very nice fitness club is provided free. As a business user I was also pleased to find that wireless access was provided free.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Jedam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwyn Bay
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2007

Having spent two nights at the hotel we have come to the conclusion that it is a superb place to dine, but not to stay.

Our room in the annexe was not particularly clean, the carpet grubby which was unexpected. The bed was hard and the pillows flat foam. We enquired if there were any other pillows only to be told that there were no other options owing to allergies. A newer pillow would have made all the difference!

Dinner was delicious, the staff friendly and helpful. However breakfast was a let down. Definitely not fresh orange juice, chewey sliced bread toast and a lacklustre english breakfast.

The manager was friendly and funny and our stay would have been very different if more attention was paid to guest's rooms.

  • Liked — Dinner
  • Disliked — Our room and the terrible coffee!
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gegs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2007

We stayed here 2 nights and found the building and gardens as beautiful as the photographs although our room was in the modern extension. We found the reproduction furniture and decor a harsh contrast to the genuine Grade II listed 16th Century building. Staff were friendly and pleasant but we were made to feel unwelcome when we sat at one table for breakfast only to be told it was reserved when there was no reservation notice on it. If you like a full English breakfast ( i.e. fry up) then you would be happy, but we would have liked to have had more fresh fruit and healthy alternatives such as bread and jams from the local area - not packaged jams and cereals. This hotel pretended to be something it wasn't. Classy.

  • Liked — The 16th Century part of the building
  • Disliked — The reproduction furniture and paintings
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OzTravellers44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2007

Stayed in their annexe - this was the worst hotel room I have ever stayed in:
- cold
- no curtains or proper blinds on skylight windows
- uncomfortable bed that creaked everytime you moved
- paper-thin walls through which you could hear everything
- poor bedding - no duvet

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Staying there
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank SpiderTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2007

We went to stay at the Hussey as a relaxing get-away before our wedding. We stayed in the Royalist Suite which was extremely large and had a great jacuzzi bath. It was a beautiful room with lovely views and we could not have been more happy with it.

The staff were all very friendly and hospitable, and we were dealt with efficiently.

We had dinner in the restaurant. The food was not up to the standard one would have expected from the rest of the hotel, or the prices. We had a nice drink with some good olives in the rather Fawlty Towers-esque looking bar. Dinner was un-imaginative and over-cooked. It wasn 't awful, it just wasn't what we were expecting!

Stay here but eat somewhere else!

  • Liked — Fantastic room
  • Disliked — Dinner
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Nonamesorry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shrewsbury
0.5 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
3.1 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
3.0 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#4 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel
8.0 mi away
Rowton Castle
Rowton Castle
#1 of 1 in Halfway House
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albright Hussey Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albright Hussey Manor Hotel

Property: Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
Address: A-528 Ellesmere | Broadoak, Shrewsbury SY4 3AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Albright Hussey Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drive over the bridge spanning the original Tudor moat, up to the doors of our family owned and managed Albright Hussey Manor Hotel where you will receive a very warm welcome. Set in over four acres of beautifully landscaped gardens, our grade 2 listed, classic country house is one of only two hotels in Shrewsbury to be awarded four AA stars. Dating back to circa 1524, the hotel encompasses a wealth of history whilst offering the highest standards of comfort, cuisine and service. Our 26 superbly appointed bedrooms are all individually designed and our Moat Room Restaurant has an enviable reputation for some of the finest dining in Shropshire.Our aim is to ensure your visit to the beautiful county of Shropshire is as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. We look forward to welcoming you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Albright Hussey Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albright Hussey Manor Shrewsbury
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel Shrewsbury, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing