We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“thank you”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Certificate of Excellence
staffordshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“thank you”
Reviewed 24 February 2013

wehad checked out of another hotel due to issues and range Albright Hussey to see if they could help . They were fab did everthing to make our one night away special . Excellent service, freindly staff, super food and rooms.

Room Tip: we had a delux room, well worth the treat
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    81
    36
    18
    15
See reviews for
58
151
16
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013 via mobile

We stayed here after being given a voucher for a free nights stay. The hotel was very quiet when we stayed but the service was impeccable, the food excellent and the room was lovely although as others have said the hotel is looking a bit dated but we've stayed in much worse. We would definitely recommend this hotel we had a wonderful night.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LottieOrtho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

We stayed here because we had received a gift voucher as a present for Unique Places to stay. These in themselves are a damned sight harder to redeem than is made out in the voucher information so be warned if you have one!!
The old manor part is lovely but voucher holders appear to be put in a rather sterile annex with tatty bathrooms. Our first floor window looked out over the entrance which on the night we stayed was the main smoking area for the guests at the wedding reception being held there and attended by Shropshires finest chav's and possibly the world finest foul language experts!!! (previous reviews mention similar so it looks like its a regular wedding venue)
The breakfast was most excellent - enough said.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MarkandHelen_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Much Wenlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

My wife & I went for a belated birthday celebration; dinner, B&B. The celebration was the meal and the hotel was a bonus.

Staff from the Manager down to the maids are very pleasant, hospitable, and helpful. Their service is outstanding.

I would think the owners would be looking to redoing the rooms before too long. Don't get me wrong, our room was clean and comfortable. It just seemed to me to be a bit dated.

The food in the restaurant is to die for!! I've eaten in places with Michelin stars that were not as good as this. The breakfast choices are very good, and unlike as noted in another review, ours was cooked to order rather than a buffet.

Give them a go, you will be more than pleasantly surprised!

I know we'll be returning!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CT_Salop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

The hotel itself is a beautiful manor house and guests stay generally in a modern extension. The staff and little touches like homemade biscuits and a robe in the rooms were excellent but considering the price the whole place needs updating. May have last been decorated in the early 90's and it shows. My only other issue was with the breakfast, there was no menu as the only choice was a buffet breakfast which was served on a table so wasn't the hotest. Overall lovely stay but is overpriced for what you get.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Math125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Our second stay the the hotel and we were equally thrilled. The service, cleanliness of the room and quality of the food were all superb. The duty manager was very cheerful, friendly and obliging. The maid had mistakenly put a mattress topper on the bed in place of the duvet. When I rang down about it, the duty manager came up with a proper duvet and placed it in the duvet cover straight away.
During the courses for the NYE gala dinner, I mentioned that I didn't want the Champagne iced course, and the duty manager (who was serving), promptly brought me a blackcurrant sorbet instead! There were 100 people to serve, so the kitchen must have been stretched,so I was very impressed with that. Another guest said that she couldn't eat a creme caramel with alcohol in, so the same duty manager, brought out two huges scoops of chocolate ice cream!
A good place to stay, although it has no leisure facilities!

Room Tip: If you can upgrade to a room with a 4 poster bed, then we were told it is good to choose rooms 1 and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 52Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Me and my Wife's Family went to Albright Hussey Manor to celebrate her Mum 80th Birthday
As our Party consisted off 21 Adults and 4 Children we were given the Moathouse Room which was a great room,the food was a three course Dinner with a good choice of Starters,Mains and Dessert the food was excellent for the price (under £20 per head) all of the Staff were very friendy and could not do enough for us the service was excellent and all our party got there courses at around the same time which says a lot for the Chef .The Manor was very Impressive inside and out to the Bridge over the Moat to the inside of the rooms .Overall all of the party were very impressed with the whole experience and as most of the Party live 40 miles away including me and my Wife I will be having a Trip out there again for a meal and maybe a stay .

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geoff_woods1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shrewsbury hotels
0.5 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
3.1 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#2 of 16 in Shrewsbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
3.0 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#5 of 16 in Shrewsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel
8.0 mi away
Rowton Castle
Rowton Castle
#1 of 1 in Halfway House
5.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albright Hussey Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albright Hussey Manor Hotel

Property: Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
Address: A-528 Ellesmere | Broadoak, Shrewsbury SY4 3AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Albright Hussey Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drive over the bridge spanning the original Tudor moat, up to the doors of our family owned and managed Albright Hussey Manor Hotel where you will receive a very warm welcome. Set in over four acres of beautifully landscaped gardens, our grade 2 listed, classic country house is one of only two hotels in Shrewsbury to be awarded four AA stars. Dating back to circa 1524, the hotel encompasses a wealth of history whilst offering the highest standards of comfort, cuisine and service. Our 26 superbly appointed bedrooms are all individually designed and our Moat Room Restaurant has an enviable reputation for some of the finest dining in Shropshire.Our aim is to ensure your visit to the beautiful county of Shropshire is as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. We look forward to welcoming you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Albright Hussey Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albright Hussey Manor Shrewsbury
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel Shrewsbury, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing