We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Treat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Certificate of Excellence
Nottinghamshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Birthday Treat”
Reviewed 20 April 2009

We stayed at this hotel for three nights. My husband never works on his birthday and we thought we would explore this part of Shropshire. We had a lovely time at the Albright Hussey Manor.The food was excellent and the house and gardens superb. The wine is supplied by Tanners. Best of all the staff are a great team and enjoy their work.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annedeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    85
    39
    18
    15
See reviews for
66
156
16
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2009

My husband and i stayed at the Albright Hussey in early February. We booked to stay via booking.com.The room that we booked was one of their executive rooms. On arrival we were met at the car by one of the hotels managers who welcomed us to the hotel and offered to help us with our bags, so far so good. We were asked if we would like a newspaper[HE FORGOT TO ORDER THIS SO NO PAPER THE NEXT MORNING] and were fully informed as to breakfast times and told about the booking arrangements for dinner that evening. Then we were shown to our room and for me this is where they let themselves down.The corridors that we were led through to get to our room was in darkness, this was blamed on the housekeeping staff, as was the room that we were led into.As we had pre-booked the room i did feel that they could have put the bedside lights on prior to our arrival. The room was only made up for one person[this we found out the next morning when speaking to the receptionist],one bath towel one hand towel. THis we were informed is common practise at this hotel, fair enough but on receiving our booking which clearly stated for two people i think that someone should have checked, they were hardly rushed off their feet. The room itself was nice enough,clean and warm and a really comfortable bed,but i would not call it executive not by any means. I could not help but notice that the wallpaper borderwas coming away from the paper and the over basin light in the bathroom was not working. We did decided to go down later on that evening for a bar meal and we were not disappointed here. We had the mixed meat platter with walnut bread and homemade pickles, lovely. The gentleman that served us was helpful and attentive, all round excellant.Breakfast was just as good in fact one of the best breakfasts that we have ever had whilst staying in a Hotel. We were informed by the breakfast waiter[who was really nice] that it was a new chef ,you could not tell so well done to him[or her]. And so to checking out . My husband brought up the afore mentioned comments and to her credit she did make the gesture of not charging us for the coke and two tonics that we had with our meal the night before,so that was nice of her. I suppose that to some who are reading this it sounds like i am nit-picking, but think of this.We paid almost £90.00 to stay in this hotel,if we had booked it direct it would have been £130.00 B/B, and for that i do expect the little things to be taken into account just as much as the main things.Would i stay there again No would i eat there again ABSOLUTELY.

  • Liked — The evening meal and th Breakfast both excellant
  • Disliked — The room and the lack of attention to detail.
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Geoff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke on Trent
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2009

I would just like to say a very big thank you to everyone at the Albright Hussey Manor Hotel. So warm and friendly was the welcome that both my Mum and I felt at home from the moment we walked through the door.
The surroundings were more luxurious and charming than I had ever imagined, and the food was second to none! The a la carte menu was made to delight, and the chef (on both nights) was first rate.
I would like to give special thanks to Christine, Malcolm and Anis. What a wonderful team! We couldn't have asked for more! An absolute credit to the hotel.

  • Liked — The charm and beauty of the hotel...and it's staff!
  • Disliked — Having only had two nights to stay there....
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suze381UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worcestershire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2009

We visited Albright Hussey Hotel as a family of 8, and we were bowled over by the fantastic service and attention to detail. It was to celebrate a family members 5oth Birthday and we had a lovely time! Malcolm Brewster looked af ter us really well! definitely go back again soon.

  • Liked — pictureque grounds and gorgeous moat with black swans
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ORMOFI-KOUKLITSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2008

I stayed here whilst away on business for the week and it is a fab hotel. The ducks & Geece meet you in the grounds which look great for parties or weddings. Malcolm the Manger is a chiry chap and very helpful. The rooms have comfy double beds, Molton Brown products in the bathroom and robes are availble. The food for room service is really good and reasonably priced. The location is only 10 min drive dependent on traffic from town. It is a bit difficult to see the hotel sign,entrance from the road as the hotel is down a lane so not visable from the road.

  • Liked — Nice friendly staff
  • Disliked — Dark approach
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TravellerBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 4 September 2008

Clapham, London
This gem of Shropshire was highly commended by some of my friends, so for a special occasion I took my wife for our twenty fifth wedding anniversary. When I had booked a room I mentioned wedding anniversary. On check-in I was welcomed by a very nice caring gentleman who took our luggage and guided my wife and I through the old part of this wonderful Tudor building to our room. A four poster bed, splendor and old beams, like the middle ages, very comfortable and clean, perfect after a long journey. We made our way down to the cocktail bar at early evening and where welcomed by Malcolm, when he served our drinks he gave us an amazing introduction to what we where about to experience, he explained every dish of the menu to us and all was mouthwatering without even tasting it, I went for the beef and my wife for the lamb both had ordered scallops to start with. We kept the menu and read the Chef introduction and knew we would be in for a real treat. After a little while Malcolm announced that the Chef was ready with our order and took us to our table near the window, there were about twenty other people dining and the atmosphere was electric and there was a real buzz, the food was amazing, fresher then fresh scallops, the beef and lamb simply to die for, we swapped our main courses, we had to taste all, with a fine bottle off Beaujolais Fluerie. For after we were handed a sweet and cheese menu, I do like cheese, when presented with an a la carte cheese menu, I was going to be more then happy, my wife choose a soufflé with amaretto. The cheese was served at room temperature and the soufflé was just wow. Afterwards the Chef made his appearance, this is new to me you only see this on TV, in the restaurant and talked to all the guests, he spoke to us about his involvement and use of local food, I have never met a Chef being so passionate and full of pride. Malcolm served us coffee and brandy in the bar area, I thanked him for the "experience" and wonderful evening we had and we would be back soon. The following morning after a healthy breakfast we met the owner and complimented him, we left the Albright Hussey Manor with a warm hearted feeling. I will recommend this gem to anyone.

  • Liked — being cared for
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank B1lco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2008

Stayed here for one night with business colleagues. Nothing special and wouldn't come back. No character or atmosphere to this hotel and definately not a four star. The staff were very brusque, cold and unfriendly, was really treated like a pleb. The rooms were ok, but nothing special. The restaurant for dinner & breakfast was pretty standard.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Very basic rooms
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Roxy023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shrewsbury hotels
0.5 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
3.0 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#5 of 16 in Shrewsbury
1,136 reviews
3.1 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#2 of 16 in Shrewsbury
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
5.7 mi away
The Mytton and Mermaid Hotel
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albright Hussey Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albright Hussey Manor Hotel

Property: Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
Address: A-528 Ellesmere | Broadoak, Shrewsbury SY4 3AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Albright Hussey Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drive over the bridge spanning the original Tudor moat, up to the doors of our family owned and managed Albright Hussey Manor Hotel where you will receive a very warm welcome. Set in over four acres of beautifully landscaped gardens, our grade 2 listed, classic country house is one of only two hotels in Shrewsbury to be awarded four AA stars. Dating back to circa 1524, the hotel encompasses a wealth of history whilst offering the highest standards of comfort, cuisine and service. Our 26 superbly appointed bedrooms are all individually designed and our Moat Room Restaurant has an enviable reputation for some of the finest dining in Shropshire.Our aim is to ensure your visit to the beautiful county of Shropshire is as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. We look forward to welcoming you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Albright Hussey Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albright Hussey Manor Shrewsbury
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel Shrewsbury, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing