We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Shrewsbury Hotel
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Certificate of Excellence
POULTON
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights Bank Holiday weekend. The room was clean and had all the essentials for a weekend stay, Bathroom had a shower and a bath water was lovely and hot. We had a full english breakfast and this came nice and hot, we didnt eat here other then breakfast so cant comment on the meals but from what we saw the meals looked good. The place was always busy. Our room was overlooking the car park (which is a bonus) and busy road but we could not here any road noise. The staff we encountered were extremely polite and pleasent even when they were busy, especially the young man who was the Duty Manager. Shrewsbury is a lovely place and we will defiently stay at The Shrewsbury Hotel when visiting again.

Room Tip: Ask for a River View when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DOLLYPoulton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    258
    55
    20
    12
See reviews for
63
361
16
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2010

Stayed at The Shrewsbury Hotel (Wetherspoon Lodge) and had fantastic time.
Food was brilliant, Sunday Roast (Beef) was best ever and only £5.99, roast spuds - perfect, Chicken Caeser Salad was wonderful. Beer/wine excellent. Room very good value for money, booked day before and got room for 33% discount so only £42 for 2. Room was clean, tidy and had everything we needed for a great nights stay, so quiet. Modern looking/great facilities.

Will definetely book again.

(Went to Tewkesbury Royal Hop Pole 3 weeks ago - again excellent value for money, and going to Chesterfield, Portland Hotel next weekend can't wait!!)

Anyone reading reveiws for Wetherlodges need to note - they aren't 5* hotels but then you aren't paying 5* rates but you do get value for money.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JDW2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2010

We arrived in Shrewsbury by train and had booked the hotel last minute on the day of arrival itself on JD's own website. There was a 33% discount given online which i reckon was a last minute booking discount offered.

The location was excellent, easy to find and all the attractions were within walking distance. The room was spacious and clean. We had coffee and tea in abundance and also had small packs of biscuits for our consumption. The staff were also friendly and helpful.

Cannot comment on carparks as we did not drive.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank holidaymood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2010

Stayed with oap parents and two teenage girls. The rooms for the others were a tad small - but mine was large with a seperate dressing area. The downside of this room was mainly the noise coming from the extracter system directly outside my window. This made in impossible to sleep with the window open. The bathroom was large and spotless - would have been better to have frosted window in there - I nearly gave the people in the ouside garden a flash!! The other rooms were big enough for the other guests - the tea and coffees were filled every morning and the rooms were spotless. I couldnt fault any of the staff - all cheery and willing to please. Even when I had to block someone in the carpark - the receptionist found out who it belonged to. It was reassuring to find out it was another guest who wasnt moving for 3 days. The girls couldnt get onto the internet and that was their only grumble - not bad for to 15 year olds. The food was hot and tasty and value for money. Would recommend for a midweek stay. We left on the Friday morning and noticed that the quieter guests were going. You get what you pay for

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mums-taxis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2009

This was our first and probably last time we have stayed in a Wetherspoons chain hotel.
From arriving there was no room to park in the hotel car park, most of the cars there belonged to customers in the bar.
Our room was nothing like advertised, very small and very noisy. The furniture on the landing was damaged, the decor was tired.
The bar staff were miserable, there seemed to be plenty of underage drinkers well and truly drunk and still being served.
The breakfast was cold, we left it and ate somewhere else.
We complained to reception staff about all the above, the receptionist was not interested and told us to write in, which I did. I have attached their response. They did not look into all matters raised, nor did the manager contact me further.
We don't usually moan much as you can see from my other reviews, we are generally easy going. Think twice before going to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank yorkieinlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S Wales
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2009

Expected the same level of professionalism as is evident in most JD pubs- unfortunately
the room was more like an expensive seaside bed & breakfast. Chipped paintwork,windows didn't fit, everything just a little bit worn.In fact I was quite disappointed I thought that the Lodges had been refurbished to a modern standard,this is not so. The gap around the door into our room was quite something - you certainly could put your hand under it. I wonder just what the fire service would say! Not a good deal.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetheworldr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2009

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights after getting a good deal (3 nights for the price of 2). Well located on a main road & with a Wetherspoons next door. As previously mentioned parking is very limited however as we didn't use the car all weekend it was not personally an issue for us.
The room was extremely small (about half the size of a Travelodge/Premier Inn standard room). However on the face of it the facilities were adequate & it was modern. However the cleaning left a lot to be desired as we found some mouldy chips underneath the bed! The bathroom was a bit dusty too.
Having a door directly into the pub was a bit of a novelty & also handy too as you can eat from 8am until 10pm. The room was well soundproofed & we didn't hear noise from downstairs.
The staff were very friendly & helpful & the issues mentioned were only niggles. Good value for money & happy to stay again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank petekim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shrewsbury hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
0.2 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#4 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
3.4 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shrewsbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shrewsbury Hotel

Property: The Shrewsbury Hotel
Address: Bridge Place Mardol, Shrewsbury SY1 1PU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 22 bedroom Hotel owned by J D Wetherspoon, located in the beautiful town of Shrewsbury in Shropshire. Situated in the town centre looking onto the River Severn. All rooms have free WIFI. A friendly reception team are on the front desk 24 hours a day to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Shrewsbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shrewsbury Hotel Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing