We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mixture of emotions”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Shrewsbury Hotel
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Certificate of Excellence
Carmarthen
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A mixture of emotions”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We visited this pub/restaurant for food with friends after returning from a family funeral. We had been advised that the food was good and prices reasonable. Our visit was around lunchtime and the place seemed to be quite busy. There were a number of dirty tables, but not too many to worry about. We found a quiet table, chose our food and I went to the bar to order. The lady behind the bar only seemed to be interested in cleaning pumps and told me that I had to go to the tills at the other end of the bar to order food (not very politely). I got to the other tills and there was only one young lady, Linda, serving and inevitably, the queue was about 6 or 7 people. Eventually, cleaning pumps lady came and started to help take orders and it seemed that her attitude had completely changed. I was served by Linda who was extremely helpful and polite and her lovely personality, helped to cheer me up on a miserable day, thanks :).

Even though the place was busy, the food arrived quickly and was very good. Clean plates from all, always a good sign. I did enjoy our visit, though the initial surly attitude could have quite easily lost our custom.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    279
    59
    23
    12
See reviews for
66
392
18
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

This is the second Wetherspoon's hotel we have stayed in and again we were not disappointed. This is not a pub with rooms but a separate hotel run next to a Wetherspoons pub.
As a couple we were allocated a family room, 206, which contained one 6ft bed . It was on the top floor, up two flights of stairs and along corridors. There is no lift and access to this particular room would be difficult for those with mobility problems.
The room itself was lovely. Clean with plenty of space, possibly newly decorated with silky matching curtains and runners. The sheets and duvet covers were crisp and white, superb.
The bathroom, although small, was clean and had a shower fixed over the bath. There was a heated towel rail, large enough to hold all our towels.
The windows had secondary double glazing, but I was able to open the actual windows . The hotel is situated on a busy road so traffic noise could be a problem. It is also facing the wide river so has an open aspect. On booking you are advised to ask for a river view if that is what you want, but this is at the front of the hotel.
Breakfast is not included in the price, we paid under £60 a night for our room over a weekend, but the full Wetherspoons menu is available and we had Eggs Benedict and a drink £4.29 with a traditional breakfast at £3.29, excellent value.
I was a little perturbed to see men downing pints at 8.30 in the morning, I much prefer fresh orange juice.
The hotel has a separate entrance although there is a door leading directly to the bar, one other reviewer queried this, but although guests can go from the hotel to the pub, a key is needed to go from the pub to the hotel - a security feature. The reception desk is not always attended, it would have been helpful if there had been a notice informing us that we could get attention by dialing 0 on the telephone!
Loved the children's pictures hanging in room, painted by a 10 year old from a local primary school.

I found all the staff, both in hotel and pub were excellent, polite and welcoming. What else could you ask for?

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 49sunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Not a place to visit if you value a good nights sleep! The floors all creak very badly so you could believe Mannie the Mammoth was in the upstairs room. Although there is double glazing, if you have to have the windows open, the smokers outside the river side of the hotel, plus the traffic on the main road make a lot of noise.

Although there is free parking for hotel customers, it is difficult to get on the car park I saw lots of people parking up, without displaying permits, and going to do their shopping.

Most of the staff were very pleasant, professional and efficient, apart from the very mouthy lady duty manager at breakfast times who seemed to consider the customers to be a nuisance for interrupting her whilst she was boring the other poor staff members to death with her vews on the world.

Room Tip: Front rooms have view of the river but suffer from road noise and smokers shouting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Staffsgreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, UK
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We have ended up in Shrewsbury a few times now on National Coaches mystery weekends and we always have a few drinks here.

The pub is a traditional style Wetherspoon place.

Good service, great drinks and brilliant prices.

The atmosphere is great and there is also a seating area at the back which is a really good suntrap in the summer.

We haven't eaten here yet but the food always looks amazing when it comes out of the kitchen and so we will probably give it a try next time.

Like I say, we always have a drink or two in here when we are in Shrewsbury and will always return when in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davey102001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bewdley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We met up with friends whom we had not seen for a long time whilst they were enroute to The Shrewsbury for a weekend break. We decided to see if they had a room available for Saturday night to be told they were fully booked on the Saturday night 8th Feb. I asked could they take my mobile number and advise me if there was a cancellation but was told rather rudely that this was not policy. Early on Saturday afternoon I happened to check late rooms to see if there was anywhere in Shrewsbury who had accomodation available for that evening to find the Shrewsbury had a room available!! I rang up and Dan? on reception and he could have not been more helpful and agreed to hold the room for us, he is a credit to the hotel and restored my faith in the hotel just with his pleasant manner on the phone and whilst checking in. The room 210 overlooked the ally and was a little noisy in the early hours but for a quick overnight stay it was a nice room only spoilt by its outlook and the noise from the ally. If I had not decided to check late rooms it would not have known about the cancellation and surely it is better to take someones details in case of a cancellation rather than risk an empty room!! The food was typical Weatherspoons lovely fresh and hot and served quickly despite being packed with some large parties in on Saturday night.

Room Tip: Aoid room 210 unless you want a view of a brick wall and an ally the room is nice but can be noisy f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bradley3362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

The hotel has a perfect location ,the room was clean and tidy (although there were no drawers of any description) the outside noise was awful you could hear every word of conversations ,our room was right above an alley and opposite a kebab shop,the first night we were awake all night .we won't go here again avoid room108!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Just back from an overnight stay. Rooms really lovely. Clean well appointed & very nice decor if on the small side. Check in & out staff friendly & informative. Good food & well priced drinks made this a great place to stay. Will ask for a river view room next time we stay as we overlooked an alleyway (room 110) which got very noisy at certain times in the early hrs waking us up. Apart from that, all good.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 7218emmah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shrewsbury hotels
0.3 mi away
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
0.2 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#5 of 16 in Shrewsbury
1,150 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#2 of 16 in Shrewsbury
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury
2.9 mi away
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
#8 of 16 in Shrewsbury
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shrewsbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shrewsbury Hotel

Property: The Shrewsbury Hotel
Address: Bridge Place Mardol, Shrewsbury SY1 1PU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 22 bedroom Hotel owned by J D Wetherspoon, located in the beautiful town of Shrewsbury in Shropshire. Situated in the town centre looking onto the River Severn. All rooms have free WIFI. A friendly reception team are on the front desk 24 hours a day to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Shrewsbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shrewsbury Hotel Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing