We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The pub is in need of refurbishment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Shrewsbury Hotel
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Went to the Wetherspoons pub for lunch.The furniture was in very poor condition for a Wetherspoons.Reluctant to sit on some of the seats.Food was the usual fare,although it did take a while to get it.Did not stay at the hotel,so cannot comment on that.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane C, Manager at The Shrewsbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you for your recent feedback we do appreciate all feedback whether positive or negative
and have passed on to the Pub Management Team. Regards Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (685)
There are newer reviews for The Shrewsbury Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

572 - 578 of 685 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

Stayed here about 2 years ago,to be true it was ok but not wonderful..well now it is!The rooms have been brought up to date and how!!.Lovely big comfy double bed,warm and elegant decoration and fabulous revamp of bathroom.Sound proofing must have been looked at because in room 105 we slept like a log.I must mention the young lady on the reception when we booked in,she was brilliant and very helpful and a perfect person to have front of house,did not manage to get her name but hopefully she will be told how good she is..

Room Tip: room 105 good night sleep.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank william78Shropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane C, Manager at The Shrewsbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Many thanks for your recent feedback we are so pleased that you had such and enjoyable stay
and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards Jane & The Hotel Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Rude bar staff! Bar one jolly young man who made our hen party feel welcome the other girls serving behind the bar seem to have a lack of knowledge when it comes to using 'please and thank you'. They can't get the food orders right, the wait to be served was horrendous. We didn't stay in the hotel so cannot comment, if the staff are anything to go by i'd avoid staying here. Never again, i work hard to earn my money, i expect a thank you when i hand it over.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsK1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane C, Manager at The Shrewsbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you for your recent review and for bringing your experience to our attention. We do take
all feedback very seriously whether positive or negative. I have passed on your comments to
The Pub Management Team and we do hope that you will visit us again when visiting Shrewsbury. Kind Regards Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Visited here several times during our stay in Shrewsbury this week , but only for a drink and a meal we did not stay here.

On Thursday evening we called here and fancied a Steak for supper but were disappointed when the server told us they had no steaks left!! i looked up j d wetherspoon on my phone and discovered that they had another pub in the town so i asked a member of staff how far away it was and she said 30 seconds and proceeded to tell us the way we told her we were going there as they had no steak's lleft and she immediately asked us if we prefered to stay here she would go over there and get Steak's for us !! as the atmosphere here was good we took her up on her offer and settled down with our drink's whils they cooke our meal.

It turn's out that the lady concerned (Sue) was the Manager and she certainly went beyond the norm in making our visit perfect, no wonder she is the Manager.

The food turned up and was gorgeous as was the wine that accompanied it.

We visited again last night for a drink and Sue came over and spent some time chatting with us , reading the reviews on here for this establishment pleases me as it is evident that Sue and her team excell in customer service at all times .

Sue if you read this this thanks again from us Eifion & Belinda WILLIAMS (Wales)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ew6460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane C, Manager at The Shrewsbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Hi Eifion & Belinda many thanks for your lovely feedback, Sue sends her best wishes and says dont forget to visit us again and it was a pleasure to be able to make your visit an enjoyable one :-) Regards Jane & Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

If you're ever looking for a hotel in Shrewsbury, look no further. Modern, clean and functional rooms at a great price.
We are nine golfers who stayed for two nights.
The bonus of staying in a JDW hotel is you get the added value of good beer and food (if you want to eat in) at reasonable prices. Plus, here we had free parking.
If any golfers read my review we played Oswestry, Shrewsbury and on our way back to the West Midlands, Astbury Hall. I dealt direct with everyone and with breakfast at the three golf clubs, golf and hotel it cost us £190 each.
Everything was great (except my golf that is!)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bcfc1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane C, Manager at The Shrewsbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Hi, Thank you for your feedback we thoroughly enjoyed having you stay with us too :-) regards Jane & The Hotel Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

We booked The Shrewsbury Hotel as it was only £39 for a twin room through Laterooms and it was only a base gor a girly shopping trip. It was a first time stopping in a Weatherspoons hotel and to be honest we weren't expecting much as Weatherspoons are generally chesp and cheerful. We were checked in quickly and the receptionist was friendly and helpful. Our room was at the back of the hotel but we didn't mind, the room was clean and decorated lovely with good facilities. We chose to have our evening meal in the bar which was lovely as was the breakfast the following morning. All staff were pleasant service was quick and the food was served on hot plates. If we had to criticise anything it would be the disturbed nights sleep due to the room being do warm. We left both windows open but it was unbearable warm, maybe a fan in the room would have helped. Having said that we will definitely stay here again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Tracey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane C, Manager at The Shrewsbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Hi, Thank you for your feed back and we are pleased that you enjoyed your first stay in a Wetherspoons Hotel. Due to this lovely summer we are now having we have put a fan in each bedroom. Hope to see you again soon, regards Jane & The Hotel Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Went in for a bite and a pint before going to see Billy Ocean at The Buttermarket.Found a table and went to order drinks before looking at the menu.Quickly got served by a friendly barmaid.The real ale was very good.Looked at the extensive menu and settled on the all day brunch for him indoors,chicken strips and chips for my son and a club sandwich for myself.Ordered the food at the bar and waited a short time for the meals to be delivered to the table.Good pub grub.Tasty and hot at very reasonable prices.Another pint each and we where all set for a great night.This is a great place for a meal and drink with a good atmosphere.With the nice weather a lot of people had chosen to sit outside.It's in a great location for people watching and relaxing.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Dawn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane C, Manager at The Shrewsbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for your recent feedback. We are pleased that you had an enjoyable time in our bar and hope that you had a great night seeing Billy Ocean, we look forward to you visiting us again in the near future. Regards Jane & The Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shrewsbury hotels
0.3 mi away
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
0.2 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#5 of 16 in Shrewsbury
1,168 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#2 of 16 in Shrewsbury
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury
2.9 mi away
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
#8 of 16 in Shrewsbury
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shrewsbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shrewsbury Hotel

Address: Bridge Place Mardol, Shrewsbury SY1 1PU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Price Range: £48 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 22 bedroom Hotel owned by J D Wetherspoon, located in the beautiful town of Shrewsbury in Shropshire. Situated in the town centre looking onto the River Severn. All rooms have free WIFI. A friendly reception team are on the front desk 24 hours a day to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Shrewsbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shrewsbury Hotel Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing