We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good basic stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelodge Shrewsbury Battlefield
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed at this Travelodge while visiting the Shrewsbury Flower Show. It is in a very convenient spot outside the town but less than half a mile down the road from the Park and Ride bus service into the town centre. On-sitte is a pub: The Two Henry's, a well stocked Spar grocery, a petrol station and a coffee shop. Down the road by the Park and Ride is a 24 hour Tesco with a couple of restaurants nearby. The lodge staff could not have been more helpful although they were under pressure due to a member of the team being absent. Unfortunately we were disturbed by a noisy group of clients outside on our first night but a member of staff spoke to them. The next morning we asked to change rooms for our second night and although the lodge was full Chris went out of his way to grant our request. The rooms are basic but clean and the lodge has undergone a refurb. in the last 12 months.We found the new beds to be far more comfortable. If you want a simple place to sleep at a modest price then this is for you.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank bookish24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

Last minute impromptu stay at this Travelodge. Very comfortable but I wish that they would use proper beds for additional guests. The sofa bed is okay but the pull-out bed was very uncomfortable for my 14 year old son who ended up sleeping in the double bed with me as the springs were digging in to him. All in all, a good stay but one night was enough due to the bed.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Vivienne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Check was really quick and easy.A very pleasant stay.Room was very nice.A little dusty under the bed. The staff were very good,ran out of coffee and milk
just went down to reception and they were happy to give us more.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Nicki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

the staff were extremely pleasant and helpful during our 2 night stay. however, each time we left the room the key card would not work and we had to go back to reception. the room was very hot and noisy from some sort of generator although the lady did offer a fan on checking in. the kettle needed putting in the bin, the towels were thin and not even a chair or a hairdryer. the room was very clean though but the room was not cleaned, cups replaced after user beds made which is poor for the price paid. best thing about the place the lovely staff but definitely not worth the £168 for two nights

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank susan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

travelodge provide the basics well. refurbished hotel, very clean and well presented. only criticism is the lack of choice of pillow - the ones provided are extremely firm! as are the new beds........


  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Just returned from a weekend stay at the TL Battlefield. The rooms was spotlessly clean and one of the best I have stayed in. We were greeted on arrival and asked if we required any help or advice during our stay. The rooms are spaciously and adequately equipped for a short stay. The TL is about 2 miles from the town centre but is not served by a bus, so a taxi is just £8. There is ample car parking as this TL shares it's car park with the Two Henry's pub. There is a garage/spar, Burger King and a Starbucks all less than 1 min walk away.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back of the lodge, which was quiet enough not to disturb me in the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LoyalroyalBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Stopped here very last minute after booking messed up at another hotel. We would have had nowhere to stop otherwise, but this was a great stay. We checked in at 1am, the member of staff was extremely friendly & helpful, even suggesting places we could go for cooked breakfast in the morning as the hotel didn't have this facility. Room was immaculate & all round great stay. Lifesaver & excellent

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shrewsbury hotels
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury
5.2 mi away
Travelodge Shrewsbury Bayston Hill
1.5 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
3.0 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#5 of 16 in Shrewsbury
1,174 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Shrewsbury Hotel
The Shrewsbury Hotel
#3 of 16 in Shrewsbury
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Shrewsbury Battlefield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Shrewsbury Battlefield

Address: Battlefield Roundabout | Junction A49 and A53, Shrewsbury SY4 3EP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Price Range: £38 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Shrewsbury Battlefield 2*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your Travelodge Shrewsbury Battlefield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Shrewsbury Battlefield Hotel Shrewsbury
Travel Lodge Shrewsbury
Shrewsbury Travelodge
Shrewsbury Travel Lodge
Travelodge Shrewsbury Battlefield Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing