We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, Clean and Very Freindly”

Charnwood Guesthouse
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Charnwood Guesthouse
Ranked #24 of 56 Shrewsbury B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 January 2014

The title says it all, what a wonderfull couple of nights. Jo was really freindly and welcoming, the room was very clean and tidy. I will definately be going back there the next time visit Shrewsbury.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2014

Jo is a very friendly and welcoming lady, cooks a mean (lovely and tasty) breakfast, with lots of choice. Bed is comfortable and warm, ensuite shower is wonderful and hot. Room at front was very quiet, despite being on a main road...

Room Tip: Front room (no.2) was perfect for no noise, but we did miss out on seeing the garden at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susanne Jeanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Staying at Charnwood Guestbook turned out to be great. The bedroom had a homely feel, and the good quality duvet cover and sheets allowed for a decent sleep. Services included everyday cleaning of the bedroom and replacement of essentials. The owner Jo offered for breakfast a good range of choices for breakfast and the full English option was cooked to perfection. Also, breakfast had been always amended to accommodate personal preferences, and prepared on time. The other areas of hosting became apparent whenever Jo and her husband Peter willingly gave information on transportation options and recommended sites to visit in Shrewsbury. Charnwood Guesthouse contributed to my first experience in Shrewsbury being a welcoming and pleasurable one.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dwayne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

The Charnwood is conveniently located for the English Bridge and Abbey approach to the town and the room was quiet and reasonably soundproof despite being on a somewhat busy main road.

Everything was clean and tidy, the rooms nice and airy with their large modern windows. The beds were comfy and there was a good shower,

Whilst not the best guest house I have ever stayed in, it was nonetheless good value at £50 per night.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrewms14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Jo the owner offered a very warm and friendly welcome. The room was very comfortable and very clean with a good shower. The garden at the back is large and features a beautiful willow tree. I would definitely return for a second visit.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

Let's start with the positive. I arrived early to deposit a few things before visiting Shrewsbury and she was very accommodating because it meant she could go to the cinema.
However I was disappointed because on booking I had requested somewhere to put my bike and she offered me space in her shed but when I arrived she said the shed was full and it was too much work to move stuff. She did offer me space at the side of the house behind a gate so it was safe but it was forecast to rain so I had to buy something to cover the bike with.
She was also taken aback that midweek someone might want to have breakfast at half seven and told me she couldn't possibly get up that early. I proposed cereal and things that I could organise myself but was disappointed that there was no kettle to be found in the breakfast room in the morning. Also disappointed that when I left after eight my host didn't make it down even briefly to say goodbye. It was probably the most I paid for a single night on my trip and the worst of the five places that I stayed.
I imagine it is better on a weekend.
The room was spacious and warm and she and her husband were not unfriendly.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank happy808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

My colleague and I stayed at Charnwood for four nights. We felt very at home and relaxed there and it was very quiet. The room was very nicely furnished with excellent pillows - and a great shower in the en-suite. All in all a very comfortable stay. I would definitely stay there again.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
Thank Liz O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shrewsbury hotels
0.7 mi away
Lord Hill Hotel
Lord Hill Hotel
#14 of 16 in Shrewsbury
428 reviews
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Shrewsbury Bayston Hill
1.6 mi away
The Shrewsbury Hotel
The Shrewsbury Hotel
#3 of 16 in Shrewsbury
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury
1.2 mi away
Darwin's Townhouse
Darwin's Townhouse
#2 of 56 in Shrewsbury
173 reviews
1.5 mi away
Morgans - The Exchange Hotel
Morgans - The Exchange Hotel
#18 of 56 in Shrewsbury
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charnwood Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charnwood Guesthouse

Address: 110 London Road, Shrewsbury SY2 6PP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Shrewsbury
Price Range: £69 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Charnwood Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Charnwood ahs earned th Four-star Visit Britain award. Ideally situated just off A5 with easy access to motorway network. One mile from town center and 5 minute walk to great choice of evening meal. The extensive breakfast menu is served to suit your timetable. Off-road parking; En-suite; Complimentary Sky tv and Internet access; All major cards accepted. Laundry service available. All rooms are double glazed and central heated with well stocked hospitality tray. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Charnwood Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charnwood Guesthouse Shrewsbury, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing