We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little place in the heart of Shrewsbury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Old Post Office
Ranked #20 of 56 Shrewsbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice little place in the heart of Shrewsbury”
Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

Got a great last minute deal and only paid £49 for a double room! :)
Good location in the centre of Shrewsbury, unfortunately we didn't know until we got there that it had shared bathroom facilities - only staying for 1 night so not too bad but would have been nice to know before
Lovely people and a great deal on prosecco!
Would recommend!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cln1510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    82
    28
    11
    12
See reviews for
20
91
23
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

I booked a few days away for myself and my husband's first anniversary and we had a fantastic time. The hotel was lovely and had a traditional feel to it. It is ideally placed in the centre of town. All the staff were really friendly and welcoming. Our room although basic was perfectly fine with a nice comfy bed, TV and tea and coffee. The food was delicious and excellent value for money and we were very happy that they had Thatchers cider!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I have stayed here twice now, once for my stag party and my wife booked a secret trip for our first wedding anniversary and both times I haven't been let down, The rooms are nice a simple, just what you want from a B&B. The staff are really nice and friendly and made us feel welcome, the food is out of this world, the portions are huge just what you want (especially the steak), and the breakfast set us up for the rest of the day.

The location is perfect, not a lot of noise and all other pubs and shops within a 5-10 mins walk and the Car Parks are really cheap.

If you're looking for a place to stay then I would recommend this place as we will be staying here again

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bradders351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coseley, null, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We love Shrewsbury and whenever we go there for a shopping day we always eat here. Its lovely and clean and really comfortable. The staff are always nice and the food is great. We always have the two for a tenner and it's always well worth it. Their chips are really yunmy. The building itself is lovely and there is a nice little courtyard for those nice sunny days. Looking forward to my next visit already.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Stayed at the Old Post Office for 3 nights in a double en-suite, was very disappointed to find our room only had a bath NO SHOWER, especially with the very hot weather we have had recently!!! The website doesn't make this clear so if you want a shower avoid room 6! Apart from that small issue everthing else was good, the bed was probably one of the most comfortable beds I have slept in away from home. Be aware that this is a busy pub which was quite noisy over the weekend, not a problem for us but could be an issue for some.
The location was great although Shrewsbury isn't that big so I guess anywhere would do. Had 1 meal at the pub and although it was good I think you get what you pay for.
Would definately stay here again though, good value for money

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gillybobs2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013 via mobile

Have eaten here before and always had a good meal so Popped in for a Saturday lunch and well worth the visit! Fast service, great prices, courteous staff, lovely food. Simply couldn't fault any aspect of the meal and will return as soon as possible.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davewill2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a long weekend and was totally amazed by the history of the pub, and indeed Shrewsbury. The Old Post Office offers Central clean and affordable accommodation which suited my budget. Will be definitely staying again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shrewsbury hotels
0.0 mi away
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
0.1 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#5 of 16 in Shrewsbury
1,153 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#2 of 16 in Shrewsbury
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury
3.6 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Abbots Mead Hotel
Abbots Mead Hotel
#13 of 16 in Shrewsbury
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Post Office? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Post Office

Property: The Old Post Office
Address: 1 Milk Street, Shrewsbury SY1 1SZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Shrewsbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Post Office 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Old Post Office reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Post Office Hotel Shrewsbury
The Old Post Office Shrewsbury, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing