We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost a 5” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lord Hill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lord Hill Hotel
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Almost a 5”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

Have just spent 4 nights at this hotel and almost everything was fantastic.

Stayed in room 103 which was massive, but even though space allowed, it had no armchair. I suffer with my back so found it uncomfortable spending evenings watching tv lying on the bed as there was no comfortable chair to sit on.

Having said that the hotel was beautifully clean, the meals were excellent, and the service was really great.

My only real disappointment, and the reason for not giving it a 5, was the fact that trying to take a bath every morning was a real trial. To get any hot water out of the bathtap you had to run it for 15 minutes. Eventually it did come through though. When I mentioned this at reception one morning the receptionist said there had never been a complaint about this before. On the day I checked out though, I mentioned it to another receptionist who seemed to know what I was talking about. I also discovered that if you run the hot tap on the sink at the same time as the hot tap on the bath it comes through hot in 3 to 4 minutes. It would have been much better customer service if I had been told at check-in "Room 103 sometimes has problems with water getting through hot. Just run both hot taps for about 5 minutes and it should be fine". I would then not have batted an eyelid.

So - overall an almost excellent experience. Will I go back? Absolutely.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main house have creaky floors, but it doesn't really affect the pleasure of the sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    129
    74
    50
    17
See reviews for
66
160
23
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

What a treat to have Sunday Lunch out, especially when it's at the Lord Hill Hotel in Shrewsbury. On arrival we were greeted in a professional and friendly manner by General Manager Mark Chapman. The food was excellent; usually it's either quality or quantity but at the Lord Hill it's both. The waiting on service was also excellent with all the staff being very friendly - in fact I commented to the manager on our way out telling him what lovely staff he had working for him. There was a good choice of foods on the menu and the presentation was, dare I say again, excellent. If you're looking for somewhere special to eat and a break from pub grub then this is the place - 3 courses plus coffee and mints for only £16.95. Really, if there are any negative comments on this site with regards to the Lord Hill then all I can say is that they must have been hallucinating! Right now I'm feeling very sleepy and contented after a lovely afternoon. Thank you everyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardiff17
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

what a great hotel clean tidy friendly staff great food warm welcome.pleasure staying in this hotel.5#####.we stayed here for about 4 weeks and could not fault are stay..close to the center of town but easy to get to the motorway.the restaurant food was stunning and well priced ..........

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cardiff17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

We enjoyed our two night stay. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was comfortable as were the beds. The position of the hotel is very good so we were able to leave the car at the hotel and catch a bus straight into Shrewsbury.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vera B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013 via mobile

I have visited the Lord Hill Hotel twice, both times for meals and hopefully will be booking an over night stay very soon!
Last time we both went for the Rib eye steak with peppercorn sauce; which was fantastic, I had a lovely pâté starter and my partner had black pudding and bacon, I had a try and it was gorgeous!
At the time of my most recent visit they had just finished the toilet refurb so I had to take a look! Wow! Pure luxury! Segregated urinals and toilets all set off in a chocolate brown tile finish.
I can't wait to return to see what else they have done with the place!
Overall I received a warm welcome by the staff followed up with one of the nicest pieces of rib eye I've had to date. Vist this hotel!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rorycor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

Paid £134 for two nights at the beginning of January but only stayed one because were unhappy with the room. It was in the lodge rather than the main building and wasn't particularly clean - although the bathroom, towels and bed linen were. We could not open the window or work the TV - had to ask reception twice for someone to come and help and felt as if we were a trivial inconvenience. However the gentleman who eventually came was helpful. The Hotel advertised dinner in the evening but we were told by the barman there was no cook and he suggested nearby pubs. Reading the other reports we must have been unlucky with the reception staff because we did not feel welcome.

Room Tip: I would have chosen a room in the main Hotel rather than the lodge as apparently they are much bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hazelg43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

Stayed for just one night on a cycling trip. The majority of the rooms are split from the bar/restaurant and reception. This might be a pain in the rain but we were lucky with the weather. The rooms were not badly spec'd and nice and clean. The restaurant staff were excellent for the meal and the food very good. The bar staff were also very good. The decor looks a little dated in places but they are planning a refurb and it didn't detract from the stay.

Room Tip: No lift so be mindful if you have a heavy bag.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shrewsbury hotels
0.5 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel
3.6 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#4 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lord Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Hill Hotel

Property: Lord Hill Hotel
Address: Abbey Foregate, Shrewsbury SY2 6AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lord Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Lord Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Hill Shrewsbury
Lord Hill Hotel Shrewsbury, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing