We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pleasure to stay there” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lord Hill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lord Hill Hotel
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Leeds, England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A pleasure to stay there”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

We stayed for two nights on a weekend break and decided to pay a little extra for the Wrekin Suite which we found extremely comfortable. The hotel is well maintained and wecoming and all staff made a real effort to meet our every need in a friendly way. The food both at breakfast and evenings in the bar was of a good quality. The abundant free on site parking made it easy for a trip out to the Ironbridge area (about 20 minutes drive and highly recommended) It was a little further walking distance to the town centre (15 -20 mins) than we expected but not a great problem or an unpleasant walk. A thoroughly enjoyable stay and we will certainly book again.

Room Tip: Book a suite if cost not too much more at the time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    129
    74
    50
    17
See reviews for
66
160
23
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Berks
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in June. The hotel was really nice with the front end recently refurbished by the looks of. We stayed in the annex at the rear the room was ok looks as if they're starting to work on this area also. Staff were friendly and very helpful, breakfast was alright seemed to be different each morning different chefs I suppose. Nice wander into the town centre plenty of car parking spaces and the bar was was open for late nights drinks if required.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aftonlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

I only stayed one night in this hotel whilst travelling through the UK and I did not pre-book. On arrival I got a great large room for great value. The staff were friendly and the breakfast very good. They do have a restaurant but I ate out. In general a good place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vickyt0ria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Stayed in a refurbished room in main hotel- very clean,comfortable bed and nice bathroom.Our main requirement however is a good nights sleep which was spoilt by noise from kitchen directly below our room which started around 5am. Delivery vehicles also arrived around 6 and could not get back to sleep. Breakfast was good,served at our table by attentive staff.Would be wary about staying on a Saturday night if not attending a wedding function here !!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 63LeslieH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coventry england
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed here in order to explore this wonderful part of England and were not disappointed .The room was spotless . Breakfasts had an excellent choice and the evening meals one in the bar and one in the restaurant were very good too. All the staff were at all times polite and helpful and generous with their local advice with nothing too much trouble for them a lovely relaxing 2 night break which helped to enhance our enjoyment of this absolute gem of a town. We also visited Chester which is only 1 hour away by car.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank retiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

We attended a wedding over the August bank holiday weekend in Shrewsbury. We stayed at the Lord Hill for 4 days total. While the room was quite tiny, especially with our two cases, it was furnished nicely and the bathroom was just amazing. The rooms were very modern and the shower was very nice. The linens were clean and very soft and the bed was great; only a double could fit in that tiny room. It was a bit of a pain since I am pregnant and was using a body pillow - my poor husband was a bit squished. We had breakfast every morning and it was delicious! The staff were very kind, and took extra care of my pregnant self - even washing my husband's jeans after our flight as he had split coffee all over himself and that was his only pair of trousers! The inside was well decorated, very plush, and comfortable. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maplemooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

We got married on 31st August and had our reception at the Lord Hill. Everything went really well, the service and food was excellent and we were treated extremely well by all to make it a very special day.

A special thanks to Jenny who helped us organise the day, you were great! Also to Mark and his staff who served us throughout the evening. We can thoroughly recommend this venue for a wedding reception, very good value too!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LesPoultney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shrewsbury hotels
0.5 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel
3.6 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#4 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lord Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Hill Hotel

Property: Lord Hill Hotel
Address: Abbey Foregate, Shrewsbury SY2 6AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lord Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Lord Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Hill Shrewsbury
Lord Hill Hotel Shrewsbury, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing