We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lord Hill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lord Hill Hotel
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Cradley Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

We got a late deal, which included a vcery nice breakfast cooked to order. We stayed in the Lodge which was comfortable, spacious and warm. Our only criticism would be that it was a little too warm, but rather that than too cold. The rooms are 1980s decor and a bit tired but other than that more than adequate.
The staff were all very nice, helpful and pleasant. There was plenty of very hot water,tea tray with plenty of choice etc.
It was a short walk in to the main town which again suited us fine.
Would we stay here again? Definetly.

Room Tip: The Lodge is set back from the main hotel which some people may not like, however we quite liked it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    129
    74
    50
    17
See reviews for
66
160
23
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

A pleasant enough short stay with a nice menu in the bar and restaurant of this privately owned hotel. Reception and the duty manager were always helpful and attentive. The bar staff equally so both with drinks and food including on the evening when I ate from the à la carte menu in the bar rather than the restaurant. The wine list was overpriced for what it was. Breakfast was hit and miss. Some very delicious Danish pastries and croissant but an inability on my last morning to serve my porridge (which was all I was having) when I was the first person in for breakfast. The previous morning I managed to have porridge and a full English breakfast in less than fifteen minutes. On my final morning when I was in a rush people who arrived after me were getting full English breakfast before my porridge arrived. Despite a couple of requests it never arrived and I just left after waiting for more than forty-five minutes.

A surprisingly quiet room in the "Lodge" which is the relatively new build at the foot of the car park. As usual, the room was not as light proof as I like but there was no noise from the nearby main road. Disappointingly, whilst the main building of the hotel has been refurbished the bedrooms in the Lodge do not appear to have been so. Only two power points in the room coupled with appalling Wi-Fi reception that kept dropping out and a similar problem with the Freeview television. Couple that with very low power energy saving lightbulbs that were difficult to read by and the room was on balance less than satisfactory.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TempusLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night for work. I booked due to pricing, location and reviews which unfortunately I can't agree with.

Upon arrival I checked in, was told that my room was located at the lodge facility at the back of the carpark. Receptionist was very cold and not welcoming, I had no conversation whatsoever.

The room was old decor, bathroom was unclean, TV kept freezing, and the radiator clicked all night!
Turn the radiator off due to the room being boiling!
Skirting, (boxed in piping), has been ripped up with nails poking out!

Only positive review I can give is that the room was relatively cheap and the hotel was easy to find, lots of car park spaces.

Would not recommend for holiday break or family. It is bearable for business trip!

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Vincentliu1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Shrewsbury hotels

Shropshire
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

My mum booked for the family to have a family meal (10 ) having sunday lunch. The hotel was busy on arrival and we went and told them we where there. We bought drinks at the bar and sat and waited, eventually we were handed some menus and they came and took our order. 2 mins later the table was ready. The host was happy to watch as we struggled to carry drinks coats, bags kiddies bits and just stood and watched. I asked where we could hang our coats and he pointed to the rack! He then watched me hang 10 coats up! Anyway we got seated in the lovely conservatory. The round table was snug for 10 but the food was really very good, the waiting staff were good. Food was hot and plentiful.
We sat back in the lounge for coffee and the children where quickly told to not play, by a member of staff,even though the hotel at this point was nearer empty and they were also just walking round having a look!
Went and asked for the bill and settled up and left quickly.
So great food and very comfy, but they let themselves down with the hosting, friendliness and general finesse. I would recommend it for good food and value for money, but u wouldn't rush back to gain good customer service! However it is a 3 star not a 4 star!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tobyson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

We stayed for two nights on a weekend break and decided to pay a little extra for the Wrekin Suite which we found extremely comfortable. The hotel is well maintained and wecoming and all staff made a real effort to meet our every need in a friendly way. The food both at breakfast and evenings in the bar was of a good quality. The abundant free on site parking made it easy for a trip out to the Ironbridge area (about 20 minutes drive and highly recommended) It was a little further walking distance to the town centre (15 -20 mins) than we expected but not a great problem or an unpleasant walk. A thoroughly enjoyable stay and we will certainly book again.

Room Tip: Book a suite if cost not too much more at the time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berks
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in June. The hotel was really nice with the front end recently refurbished by the looks of. We stayed in the annex at the rear the room was ok looks as if they're starting to work on this area also. Staff were friendly and very helpful, breakfast was alright seemed to be different each morning different chefs I suppose. Nice wander into the town centre plenty of car parking spaces and the bar was was open for late nights drinks if required.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aftonlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

I only stayed one night in this hotel whilst travelling through the UK and I did not pre-book. On arrival I got a great large room for great value. The staff were friendly and the breakfast very good. They do have a restaurant but I ate out. In general a good place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vickyt0ria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shrewsbury hotels
0.5 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel
3.6 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#4 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lord Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Hill Hotel

Property: Lord Hill Hotel
Address: Abbey Foregate, Shrewsbury SY2 6AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lord Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Lord Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Hill Shrewsbury
Lord Hill Hotel Shrewsbury, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing