We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“had a lovely stay!”
Review of Lord Hill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lord Hill Hotel
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Shrewsbury
England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“had a lovely stay!”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

stayed in the lodge for 2 nights in august for a short break with my partner. the rooms were a great size, relatively modern and clean with a comfy bed!!
Staff were brilliant and the bar area was very relaxed and chilled out. Location wasn't the best for walking if you planned on drinking in the city centre. However, with a taxi costing maximum of £5 im sure you can cope!

Only reason im giving it four marks was because it was just like any other hotel, nothing really stood out to me as being like 'wow never had that before'

would stay here again for the price.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arran J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    133
    78
    51
    20
See reviews for
71
169
23
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I have stayed at The Lord Hill before in the main building and was fine. This time I was allocated room 42 in the Lodge. The room was perfectly satisfactory and maybe a little old fashioned but maybe more homely because of I it. However being August it was warm and I had to leave the window for a bit of draught to allow air to circulate. Sadly this also meant I awoke about six in the morning because of traffic noise from the busy adjacent road. Everything in the main hotel was good, friendly staff, good evening food and an outstanding breakfast beautifully served. All the staff were friendly and helpful meaning a lovely experience at a fine independant hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room in the main building even if it is a few pence more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Having checked in, we soon realised we hadn't got our request, which was straightforward, but as we were there for just one night, we didn't bother to fuss. This is a traditional 'old style' hotel, rather than the polished hotel chain look. We noticed a few improvements from a previous visit, an expensive and efficient shower, new carpets in corridors and rooms in the lodge. Beds in the lodge are doubles, smaller than we are used to, but OK for one night. The furniture is really oddly painted, not shabby chic so much as shabby, but it works. Kettle, drinks sachets and hairdryer were available. Large cobweb noted, draped from TV to wall.
Breakfast was pleasant, self-service buffet plus cooked-to-order hot food, always a plus. It was well cooked with quality ingredients and plenty of it.
The hotel is on an easy and frequent bus-route into town if you don't want to walk. During the busy flower show weekend, this was a big plus. It's easy to find and not far from town if you're energetic, as parking in town can be a pain.
On checking-out the receptionist seemed genuinely interested in our feedback, a rarity, and apologised for the Wi-Fi which is unbelievably cumbersome! You need access to text or e-mail to activate it, then the code remains active. Really not ideal for a hotel.
We aren't frequent visitors to Shrewsbury, but would go back again for the Flower Show, and stay here, provided the price remained reasonable.

Room Tip: Traffic noise in the lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bunny19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We had originally booked to go in the last room available, a twin in the Lodge which is an annexe to the main hotel but we emailed and asked to be moved to a double in the main hotel if possible as it was our Wedding Anniversary and we were delighted to be moved to a bridal suite in the main hotel at the same price. (We then read reviews and were pleased we hadn't had to stay in the Lodge)

The staff are excellent at this hotel, very friendly with super customer service. The breakfasts are extremely good with choice, fruit and lovely probiotic yoghurts from a Welsh dairy and everything was well cooked. We stayed four nights and enjoyed our walks from there and back into town, it was not in the centre but close enough on a very pleasant road.

The shower however was a basic one above the bath but we liked the bath itself. It was very hot when we stayed and there was no air conditioning or fridge in the room which we would have expected for champers as it was a bridal suite or in our case would have been used for white wine and water. The bed was also rather soft for us.

The hotel is a relaxing stay, looks impressive from the front but could do with a bit of a refurbishment as regards facilities. We would definitely stay again though but would make sure it was in the main hotel. Well done to the staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Energyatwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My Husband and I recently had our wedding reception here. The wedding organisers put us at ease from day 1 and were extremely helpful and thoughtful throughout. The room set up was incredible and Stevethemobile DJ was out of this world! He had amazing lighting and listened to our requests. The team worked very well together and the food was delicious. We had a buffet and stayed for a lovely breakfast. I stayed in the Abbey suit which was huge! Perfect for any bride, with separate lounge area. The guests staying in the main hotel also had excellent rooms. The service and level of care we received for the 18 months of planning towards our big day was outstanding. Huge thank you to The Lord Hill Hotel. You made our wedding feel like a dream - thank you! The guests had a great time too!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

The main building seemed ok but we were in the lodge at the back of the grounds and the decor and furnishings inside were very poor. Bathroom and shower in particular were outdated. In need of complete refurbishment. I wouldn't stay there again not even for £59 a night which was the online price.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank EmmaG2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Shrewsbury hotels

Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Our first time at The Lord Hill and might I say what a lovely friendly welcome we received. The front desk is a credit to the hotel.we were allowed to our room much earlier than advertised and nothing was to much trouble we were in the main part of the hotel and found our room to be a good size with all the usual refreshment facilities.We were grateful for their thoughtfulness of an addition fan to keep the room cool. The bathroom was a nice size with a modern suite fitted.breakfast was in the conservatory and was very substantial with the choice of pastries,cereals and hot food or all ! Again all staff were attentive with a great service. Overall a really nice experience worth three stars.
Thank you all at The Lord Hill

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Topchimp64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shrewsbury hotels
0.6 mi away
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
3.7 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
0.7 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#5 of 16 in Shrewsbury
1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#2 of 16 in Shrewsbury
633 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury
3.2 mi away
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
#8 of 16 in Shrewsbury
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lord Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Hill Hotel

Property: Lord Hill Hotel
Address: Abbey Foregate, Shrewsbury SY2 6AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lord Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your Lord Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Hill Shrewsbury
Lord Hill Hotel Shrewsbury, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing