We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lord Hill Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury(Shrewsbury)(Great Value!)
US$74
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$69
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$101
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$162
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$157
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Abbots Mead Hotel(Shrewsbury)
US$115
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$66
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$63
Priceline
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Shrewsbury Hotel(Shrewsbury)(Great Value!)
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (469)
Filter reviews
469 results
Traveller rating
155
149
84
58
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
155
149
84
58
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain buildingsunday lunchnight porterpleasant hotelwedding receptionon arrivalfull english breakfastbreakfast was excellentstaff were brillianttown centreshort breakan overnight staystayed for one nightenjoyable stayfollowing morningevening mealvisiting shrewsbury
Filter
Updating list...
463 - 468 of 469 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2007

Looks nice from the outside but this is a hotel very badly in need of a refurbishment. We stayed in the Lodge - an annex outside the main hotel. It looked ok from the outside but the rooms were really tatty and not air conditioned which made it oppressive. The bathroom was cheap, sink was chipped and stained, and the shower no more than a trickle.

On the plus side the food was ok though not cheap and when part of our group arrived late (11pm) they did rustle up some sarnies and chips even though the kitchens had closed.

For £70 a night there are better options out there I think.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank JRS1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
319
Reviewed 4 April 2006

I was working at the County Council offices in Shrewsbury and booked a night in the Lord Hill Hotel. I made the reservation firstly by email then confirmed by phone.

When I arrived to check in they had me booked in for the wrong night (although I had confirmed by email). Luckily, they had one single room remaining which they sorted out for me. However, the room was tired, it didn't have a desk to work from and as the hotel does not operate a no smoking policy in any of the rooms it smelt like a pub. I asked to be moved and the very friendly member of staff said that the only rooms available were in 'The Lodge' and said that I could be moved there if I wanted, but she stressed that I would be the only one in there! I declined the offer.

Having settled for the room I settled down around 11pm to get some sleep and then realised that the staff laundry room was directly behind my room. The staff decided to start their washing around 11pm so it hit fast spin around 12.30pm so hence I didn't get much sleep. They were also chatting loudly throughout.

Breakfast was ok, but the very willing member of staff working in the restaurant ignored me when I walked in so I didn't know where to sit - she did this to everyone.

So, in summary, it's not the greatest hotel experience I've ever had, but I was only there for one night so you may have more luck than me!

9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterlooShrewsbury, directors at Lord Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2007

Whilst we are always grateful for any feedback concerning our hotel - good or bad - we feel that we need to express our concern regarding the above review:

we are currently undertaking a full refurbishment of both our main hotel and lodge and would highly recommend that the guests in question consider a second visit.

we would like to apologise to them for their disapointment and ensure them that many of our superior rooms have now been completed and work has begun to rectify any other existing faults.

we take great care and pride in the level of customer satisfaction we deliver and would hope that everyone reading this review sight will take the time to consider a trip to the Lord Hill Hotel & Restaurant, where we can promise a comfortable and enjoyable stay.

Vera & Raymond Proctor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Kamers in de lodge zijn eenvoudiger. Zit wel dichter bij doorgaande weg, waardoor met raam open er meer verkeersgeluid is.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl S, General Manager at Lord Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2015, travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl S, General Manager at Lord Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2015
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews