We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect for family get together”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Shrewsbury Cottage

Private walled garden. Not overlooked.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private walled garden. Not overlooked.
Bespoke oak four poster Haughmondview hill
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
5 reviews
Private walled garden. Not overlooked.
Bespoke oak four poster
Haughmondview hill
View from top of Haughmond hill
Entrance hall
En-suite off master bedroom
Kitchen
Lounge
Dining area
Kitchen
Twin room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Shrewsbury, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Barbara K
2 reviews
“Perfect for family get together”
Reviewed 23 July 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Very happy with with all aspects of this house. There was 10 of us and there was enough room and equipment.
Would have liked towels for everyone but Jo provided for the people who came from abroad so that was helpfu
Very easy to get into town. Would recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tina m
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing compared to description”
Reviewed 3 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed for a 'girls' weekend which didn't start that well as had to ask for towels - stated they were included on the site, this was disputed but reluctantly found! Disappointing decor, furnishings and plumbing - definitely not the 5 beds and 4 bathrooms we anticipated. Sadly in need of an upgrade and there is a real need to bring everything from the last to this century. We had a nice time being together but not up the standard of our previous places.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2017
I'm sorry you were disappointed...... and very surprised! The furniture in the lounge is a leather 'stressless' suite. Extremely comfortable but classic traditional. The furniture in the master bedroom is bespoke and hand made of beautiful solid oak. Both of these cost in excess of £4000 and are pure quality. Towels were not disputed at all, they were provided free of charge and with good grace.
There is absolutely nothing at all even remotely from the last century ( or even decade) and in fact there is echo dot for every taste in music.
For the price you paid you had a bargain
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob S
1 review
“Shrewsbury holiday”
Reviewed 8 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Recently stayed at Shrewsbury cottage for our annual walking holiday. The property is very nice with a lovely sitting room opening onto the small garden, quiet and peaceful, beds were comfy, nice kitchen, jo the landlady was very nice and helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2017
Thank you Bob for your kind words
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie D
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“army reunion get together”
Reviewed 18 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

was in Shrewsbury for an army reunion and 6 of us 3x couples stayed in the house, was very clean and tidy, has a private garden with bbq, the owner was very friendly and helpful and its a short walk from town and the football ground it did us for what we needed and have made steps to book it again next year

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blibbywel...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely big house with all amenities”
Reviewed 14 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Stayed here with my family for my birthday weekend. Jo has been helpful throughout the booking process and everything worked out excellently and Jo was very responsive to all queries.

The house itself is big and spacious, newly decorated with a lovely enclosed garden, accessed through a tri fold patio door. Not that we were able to use the garden much because of the cold but I can imagine how lovely it would be in the summer. The house comfortably sleeps 7, and there's space in the main bedroom for an extra bed and cot, if needed.

We were able to cook a full roast dinner in the kitchen for one of the evenings, as my kids miss my cooking but Shrewsbury has many great restaurants and gastro pubs, all within a short drive away.

I would definitely stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Mar 2016
Thanks for your kind words Jenny. Not as warm here in March as in Dubai eh, but glad you were comfortable and left at home enough to cook your roast dinner!
Here's to your next visit!. Jo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing