We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant evening”

Cromwells Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #43 of 382 Restaurants in Shrewsbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$61
Cuisines: European, British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: A vibrant and lively popular Inn right in the centre of the historic County Town. Close to all the main attractions. Run by local staff members and owned and by a local family. Based in an atmospheric 500 year old building in the centre of Shrewsbury with a Wine Bar, Restaurant and superb Garden. Six fine guest rooms with three having hand-made fourposter beds which were made just across the border in Heredordshire. Awarded a five star Restaurant rating by the Shropshire Star. Many new features for 2014 including a new Restaurant.
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I phoned on Saturday morning to hopefully book a table for 4 early that evenin but being flower show day was not confident of getting one. I spoke to a very helpful chap who said they were indeed very busy but could manage a table for 7.15 So glad we went ....the staff were all brilliant very friendly and helpful, the drinks were good and the food was excellent... Would certainly recommend Cromwells if you want a splendid night out thank you to all at Cromwells for a great all round very enjoyable night

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank karen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (534)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

333 - 337 of 534 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

Lovely sunny weather saw us in the truly beautiful patio garden with table service. We had an excellent local ale, Three Tuns xxx. Although they only have one or two ales on, they are always served in top condition. Our waitress brought our menus including the lunch special. £10 including a pint, glass of wine or soft drink. I choose a haloumi burger while my husband had the homemade beefburger. Both arrived with hand cut chips and homemade coleslaw. The burgers were lovely, served in ciabatta buns. We both really enjoyed the food, the drink and the lovely, relaxing and sunny garden patio.
Staff are attentive, efficient and friendly. A great place to have a lazy lunch!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Julie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

With probably one of the best beer gardens Shrewsbury has to offer, Cromwells is great place to spend a sunny day. With table service and good food what more do you need? Has a cosy restaurant / bar too for when the weather isn't so good. Pup friendly rating ★★★★

Thank Opie-dog_about_town
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Very rarely do you actually find a 'wine' bar that does nice wine. Cromwell's does. And they don't charge the earth for it either. We ordered a little food too as a snack before meeting up with friends for dinner later in the evening, and wished we were all eating here instead.
Will definitely return. The staff were so friendly, helpful, efficient and seemed happy in their work. The food was tasty, good value and very quickly served. The wine was beautiful and the whole place had a wonderful buzz about it.
Thanks for making our afternoon such a great one.

Thank Kat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelJAvery, Owner at Cromwells Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

We are delighted that you enjoyed yourself and thank you very much for sharing your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The last time I visited Cromwells was over a year ago, when I was suitably impressed with both the venue and the food, so thought I would give it another go. I am starting to think that was a mistake.
The food was still OK, nothing to really complain about but nothing the rave about either.
My problem however was with the service. We arrived and were seated for 7.30pm, our drinks order took 20 minutes to arrive and just to order the food was 45 mins. Our food then didn't arrive for another 45 mins and all three of us had only ordered salads.....!! The service was awful. Whilst I expect a Saturday night to be busy- I don't expect to have to wait for 50 mins.
The other issue was the music. I had to ask for it to be turned down 3 times. I am not hard of hearing and have never had this problem elsewhere - but I literally couldn't hear what my friends across the table were saying.
All in all - if you want to be able to hear yourself think and want a meal reasonably quickly then don't go here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tilby87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelJAvery, Owner at Cromwells Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thanks for taking the time to give your feedback. I am sorry that you did not enjoy yourself as you say you did last time. It is a shame that you did not post a positive review on that visit. I agree with you that the music can be a bit loud and I have made it known that it must be kept at a suitable level. Customers need only ask and it will be turned down. The food we serve is locally sourced, apart from the fish and even then we know where it is caught. It does take time to prepare as it cooked from fresh. I am sorry you did not enjoy yourself as last time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cromwells Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Shrewsbury, Shropshire
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
 
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
 

Been to Cromwells Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing