We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vegetarian Food”

Acorn Vegetarian Kitchen
Ranked #33 of 583 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$38
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: A vegetarian restaurant unlike any other. Modern, exciting food using local and artisan ingredients. A place to relax with friends and family, a glass of wine and food to remember.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great Vegetarian Food”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Having been a vegetarian for over 40 years I have suffered from many poor meals, even in so-called vegetarian restuarants. However, The Acorn Vegetarian Kitchen shows what can be done. Not only was the meals well cooked, well presented and delightfully served, it also satisfied the requirements of any meal, to supply protien, fat, carbogydrates as well as fresh vegetable content.
We had the set Sunday Roast and the food was not only good but represented very good value for money.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    896
    247
    91
    41
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Misterton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Lovely food in Bath (and we're not even vegetarians!)”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I read the review of this restaurant in The Week mag and thought we'd go the next time we were in Bath which just happened to be last week. It was easy to book, the chap I spoke to was very friendly, and didn't mind when I changed the booking a few times.
It is small but very central. Nicely decorated and busy for a Thursday evening.
The food was great, really tasty and delicious. Especially the chocolate tart!
We had the three courses for £28 something - I thought good value for Bath.
My only annoyance was when we entered the restaurant the girl too our names, but wouldn't seat us until the manager came who was speaking to a couple at a table. By this time another couple walked in so we all had to wait in this little entrance. Why couldn't she just have seated us? Luckily the food made up for all that!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank _lindastill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Sublime Sunday”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We booked a table for Sunday lunch and I was delighted that the entire meal was available as gluten-free. Our starter of carrot and cashew pate (recipe card available) with pickled vegetables and honey drizzle was beautifully presented on slate and the nut roast that followed was equally delicious and lovely, with a side of rosemary potato cake, carrot and flavoursome gravy. Dessert of chocolate mousse in a glass jar with raspberry sorbet was the perfect finish to an elegant set menu… and all for £13.99. Service was friendly and efficient. We will be back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JaneD162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bath
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“very good”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

had vegetarian friends staying with us and took them here and it was amazing food , very well presented and lovely flavours, would def go back and two of us were not veggie!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank christy40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales Great Britain
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Delayed review”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Glad to see there has been some improvement as our visit was a disapointment despite excellent food.
We went to sit at a table and were told very frostily we were not to do this despite the table being free.
The staff were unwelcoming and seemed uninterested generally,we felt uncomfortable.
It would be interesting if we were in the area again to compare.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank 71Tink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Acorn Vegetarian Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Acorn Vegetarian Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing