We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Foot Trails Walk - this time the Cotswolds”
Review of Foot Trails

Foot Trails
Ranked #21 of 64 Tours in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Hello and welcome. We are Alison Howells Foot Trails ™. One of England's best loved regional walking travel companies and an expert authority on walking and travel in South West England. Book with us to enjoy an independent, custom made walking trip or walking tour. We have the experience to plan and organise walking trips from 3 days to 3 weeks. You can also book privately guided walking tours with founders Alison and David Howell, starting from one day. Authentic walks, off the beaten track with trails originated with the expertise of Foot Trails own in-house team. Choose Foot Trails for peaceful, crowd free walking staying in hand picked country pubs and inns.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had asked for a short notice itinerary in the Cotswolds as I had a conference in Birmingham to attend, and we didn't have a lot of time to walk. As was true of our great Wiltshire walk last year, we had a wonderful time walking in the beautiful countryside. Our walk was tailored to the amount of time we had, and was the right distance. We loved the small towns, fields, farms and sights as always. What we really enjoy too are the people we meet: the innkeeper, servers, etc. who are friendly and chat with us wherever we go. This is what makes us keep coming back. The hotels we have used have been superb and we really enjoy the "oasis" when the walk is done.

Thank HighDesert88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison H, Owner at Foot Trails, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear guest, thank you - I really appreciate that you have taken the time to leave this review about your experiences with your recent custom made Foot Trail here. Thank you for choosing us to plan your second trip. I speak on behalf of my team when I say we are delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful time and that you always enjoy meeting all the different and friendly people who go to delivering a Foot Trail and making it all happen. They are a talented and committed bunch and I am proud of their efforts.

Best Wishes, Alison Howell
CEO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"walking holiday"
in 4 reviews
"english countryside"
in 5 reviews
"ancient kingdom"
in 2 reviews
"daily walks"
in 2 reviews
"provided maps"
in 2 reviews
"wiltshire countryside"
in 2 reviews
"historical knowledge"
in 2 reviews
"self guided"
in 2 reviews
"inns"
in 15 reviews
"instructions"
in 8 reviews
"adventure"
in 5 reviews
"organisation"
in 4 reviews
"scenery"
in 5 reviews
"somerset"
in 4 reviews
"company"
in 7 reviews
"route"
in 4 reviews
"hike"
in 3 reviews
Filter

3 - 7 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2018

We just completed our second walking trip with Foot Trails, and the second trip was just as wonderful as the first! We hiked six days in the Cotswolds and four along the Devon coast, with one day in-between to travel and rest. This company is the best! They are truly off the beaten path, though you always feel safe and connected. Instructions are clear, the inns are comfortable and quiet, food is locally sourced and delicious, and the experience is so rejuvenating for mind and body. The company gives options to shorten some daily walks, which we found helpful - we prefer to go 8-10 miles per day, with plenty of time to take pictures, meander through churches, lean on fences to enjoy views, and picnic wherever we find a spot to perch.

Helpful hints: waterproof hiking boots are a MUST. Trail or walking shoes don't cut it. Mine are ugly and not fashion-forward, but they work! Ditto for waterproof jacket. We pack for three days of hiking (base layer shirt, long-sleeve quarter zip, top layer jacket, quick dry pants), then wash and wear along the way. I also hike with an umbrella when it rains, which keeps my head and camera bag mostly dry. It's a look!

Highly recommend Foot Trails!

1  Thank Virginia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison H, Owner at Foot Trails, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2018

Dear guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your kind review. We really appreciate your feedback. The team are all thrilled to know you had such a great time on your second trip with us. So pleased you loved our off the beaten path trails and enjoyed our instructions and country inns. Thank you for posting your helpful hints for other travelers and for highly recommending us as an expert walking company. We are delighted you chose to return and we would love to welcome you back for a third Foot Trail if that opportunity arises.

All the very best,
Alison Howell
Founder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2018

I have used Foot Trails twice in the past four years and would certainly use them again. They're easy to work with, knowledgeable about the areas for their hikes and all around great people. The walks are well thought out with interesting stops and historical places along the way. Maps and instructions are provided and are clear in detail. Even little books about the wildlife, plant life, trees, or sea life (depending on where your hike takes you) are provided. The hotels, inns and B&Bs where you stay are truly amazing. My friends and I have had wonderful experiences. I highly recommend this company!!!!

Thank Tisbe52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison H, Owner at Foot Trails, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your review here and your kind words. We're made up you chose Alison Howell's Foot Trails for the second time and the team and I are thrilled you had such a great trip. We are glad you enjoyed the wildlife books and our accommodation choices for you. Thank you very much for your recommendation.

Warm Regards
Alison Howell
Founder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2018

They bill themselves as having walking trails that are off the beaten path. It’s true. We had a custom designed 8 days of Cotswold walks and very seldom encountered other people or the dreaded tour buses. We walked in fields, pastures, villages, isolated roads, etc and wound up at charming small inns, with great pubs and great restaurants. The tour was designed with a maximum of 12 miles, but with options to shorten that to less if desired and the ability to decide the morning of the walk. The transfer services for luggage and for getting you to where you needed or wanted to be was top notch and were great sources of info for the area. The provided maps and instructions for your walks were excellent, but as we learned, you have to pay attention to the instructions. We got lost several times, but in retracing, we realized we were at fault and the instructions were clear if you read them correctly. The inns were very comfortable, quiet, and friendly. All in all, a really wonderful experience. After a couple of weeks of being home , we are contemplating doing another walk next year with foot trails. (Which for us, we almost never go back to a place we have been).

1  Thank jfp01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison H, Owner at Foot Trails, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2018

Dear guests,

What a lovely review of your experiences with us. On behalf of the whole of Team Foot Trails, thank you. We love to receive feedback and enjoy hearing about your adventures. It's so nice to hear that you enjoyed our off the beaten path trails so much and that having the option to shorten some of your days worked well for you. It is rewarding to know that you are contemplating another walk with us next year. We would be delighted, please do let us know how we can best help with that.

Until then, all the best
Alison Howell
Founder

Alison Howell's Foot Trails

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2018

I booked on the Somerset Knights Quest staying at the Queens Arms. David was very helpful with the booking and made sure there was a variety of walks provided and the lengths were what I was looking for. The maps and directions provided were very clear and easy to understand. It was also nice to get the additional comments on historical aspects.
The only glitch was that the inn told me that cooked breakfasts were not included in the price. But after I emailed David that was quickly resolved. Apart from that the food and service at the inn was wonderful.
The walks themselves were well planned out and very enjoyable. It's a beautiful part of the world. When I come back to England, I'll definitely be looking at Foot Trails again.

1  Thank trippy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison H, Owner at Foot Trails, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2018

Dear guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your experience with us here. We appreciate hearing that you found making your booking simple and that you found your maps and directions clear to follow and understand. I'm sorry that you were mistakenly told breakfast was not included but pleased that we were able to quickly resolve this for you. Thank you once again for your kind feedback and we are really thrilled to hear that when you are back in England you will definitely be looking at Alison Howell's Foot Trails to organise your trip.

With Kind Regards Alison Howell
Founder & CEO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Foot Trails also viewed

 

Been to Foot Trails? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing