We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy for shopping”
Review of The County Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The County Hotel
Ranked #28 of 155 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 May 2012

As Seasons members we have stayed in the County Hotel a couple of times and always had a lovely time. Staff are very helpful and friendly. The breakfast, both cooked and continental are very good with plenty of choices. It only takes 5 or 10 minutes to walk into the city centre with it's wealth of sights and things to do. My only gripe would be that the climb to the rooms on the top floor is quite steep and the rooms are rather small.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Catravello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (635)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

588 - 594 of 635 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2012

We stayed here last weekend as guests of Seasons members. It was excellent all round and the breakfast was delicious.The staff were really friendly and helpful when we experienced some difficult personal issues.The rooms were spotlessly clean, warm and comfortable.

Room Tip: If, like us you live in a bungalow, request a room on a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Berringtongardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We stayed at the County Hotel last month in conjunction with the timeshare group that we own in. Having read previous reviews we made sure we selected first floor room at the back and it was a lovely room. Had everything we could want. Minor maintenance problem fixed promptly! Although there didn't appear to be many staff! Maybe because of off season - were very helpful but seemed to be same two members of staff. We didn't use bar so can't speak for that. It is owned by The Seasons Group so if you stay there and aren't members I imagine they'd like to introduce themselves. We attended a 45 minute per-booked appointment and didn't find them pressurising at all. All in all I'd definitely recommend hotel. It's so well located also. Parking provided free and didn't need car for the duration.

Stayed: April 2012
10  Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

When we were asked to this Hotel by Seasons I checked previous reviews and asked for a room on the first floor. We had a lovely room at the back of the hotel and it was very comfortable and in a great location. The continental breakfast was excellent and the staff were friendly. Apparently the hotel is getting some minor refurbishments but they need to add some chairs to the rooms and do up the decor.

Room Tip: First floorm, rear of hotel appear to be the best bet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

We had a top floor room to the side of the Hotel, and it was fine. Perfectly adequate, with a lovely walk in shower. We could hear the people in the next room, but it wasn't too much of a problem, as we weren't in the room that much.
The location of the Hotel is wonderful, and a short walk either left or right out of the Hotel takes you into the City centre within about 5 minutes, with wonderful views across the river.
Breakfast was very nice, and wasn't that expensive - most Hotel breakfasts are around £10, so £8.95 for a full English was perfectly reasonable. There was a large selection of cereals, fruit, yoghurts and plenty of toast to eat too.
Overall, I would highly recommend the County Hotel, and would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MandaCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights in a room at the back of the hotel. The views were great of the abbey. The room was very small and 4 nights was long enough. Staff very pleasant and helpfull. Bar was very cosy, we didnt try the breakfast as it was very expensive. Shower was very compact.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dolphinsunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

As Seasons members we took advantage of their £25 break offer, after reading the previous reviews we were a bit hesitant about having a top floor room.
When we arrived we were led to a top floor room, to say they are small for a double is an understatement, in our room there was hardly enough room between the end of the bed and the wardrobe, and less than 2ft between the bed and the walls.

The walls a very thin, we could hear the couple in the room next door to us talking, and doing what married couples do !!.

Older people should be warned the stairs are quite steep, and have been carpeted to an extent where the treads are quite narrow. The en suite facilities couldn't be faulted, excellent shower and very clean.Maids visited each morning to make the bed and restock the tea and coffee.

On big plus for this hotel is that you are in easy distance of the main attractions of Bath, you can park the car and not use it during your stay, which means you can enjoy a meal and a drink.

The bar was empty every time we walked past it, and wasn't welcoming.

Breakfasts were excellent, Full English or continental, and they would cook you something off the menu as well, service was quick and polite. £29 for 3 mornings for two represents very good value, in an expensive town.

Overall we enjoyed our stay, but would not want to spend a week in such a small room.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank GrahamWalters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.1 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,304 reviews
0.7 mi away
2 Crescent Gardens
2 Crescent Gardens
#15 of 155 in Bath
393 reviews
2.0 mi away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#14 of 155 in Bath
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Aquae Sulis Hotel
Aquae Sulis Hotel
#17 of 155 in Bath
976 reviews
0.2 mi away
Henrietta House
Henrietta House
#13 of 155 in Bath
1,275 reviews
2.1 mi away
High Beeches
High Beeches
#16 of 155 in Bath
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The County Hotel

Address: 18-19 Pulteney Road, Bath BA2 4EZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: £102 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The County Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The County is situated just a gentle stroll from Bath's "World Heritage Site" attractions, with splendid views over the city's famous Recreation Ground, Bath Abbey and beyond. The County in Bath has the perfect location! It is located just minutes away from the vibrant city centre and offers high quality standards and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
County Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing