We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleased”
Review of The County Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The County Hotel
Ranked #25 of 159 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

Spent 2 nights over the weekend and was very pleased with this hotel. Finding a reasonably priced hotel in Bath was daunting task with so many reviews to go through but I'm glad I chose the County. The hotel is a short and pleasant walk to the centre over the river and from the breakfast room and our bedroom the views across the field to the Abbey are charming and remind you of the beautiful city you are in.

Some people have commented on the size of the rooms, we had a smaller sized room but was perfectly fine, shower and bathroom all good, and the view was perfect!

Breakfast was plentiful also, friendly staff, and parking outside the hotel. Would definitely book here on a return visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreggSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (663)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

585 - 591 of 663 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2013

and it was.... Such attentive staff from start to finish, Lovely room with great views of the rugby pitch and Bath Abbey, especially gorgeous at night when it its lit up. The room wasn't the biggest in the world, however, it was beautifully presented and clean. A huge pat on the back to the staff. The Lady on reception and ladies in the breakfast room were so helpful and accommodating. True customer service which hopefully is recognised. So close to the city centre with free parking. BRILLIANT. Will definitely recommend and stay again.

Room Tip: Only a short walk away from the centre of bath, brilliant choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PlymouthJoeyA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Great base to explore Bath. Staff all lovely friendly and helpful, spotlessly clean comfortable room, good value. Breakfast was included in the 105£ per night tariff and was plentiful and delicious even the plunger coffee was great.

Room Tip: No lift so if you have trouble with stairs request a lower floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pvk4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

This was our second visit with Season's timeshare and this time had a smaller room but with the same stunning view of the Abbey and surrounding buildings. Room clean, lovely towels and comfortable bed, but just a bit cramped.
There's no restaurant, but a good breakfast (pay extra) and a small bar area.
Car parking is fine, and it's a short walk into Bath centre to explore this lovely city and shop 'til you drop. Plenty of restaurants not too far away and an excellent and reasonable taxi service if needed.

Room Tip: ask for a middle rear room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jabManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Room was Tiny, for two of us to fit in we always had to be in a different sides of the room (and we are both slim people). We had the email from reception promising us first floor on a special request, we never got it, was allocated on the top and told they have no idea about the email. The room also was Very basic, definitely not 4* rating, more just the travel inn. No baths in the top rooms either. WiFi is only in the bar and reception area! English breakfast was awful, most of people were returning their plates half full! And we had to wait for it 30 min, as they lost our ticket, didn't get offered anything to make up for it.
But hotel was very clean and room had a great view over the city.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zoe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Wespent three nights in the County Hotel and found it a v ery pleasant stay. We had a warm welcome and our room was prepared to a good standard and being at the back of the hotel it was quiet with a lovely open view across sports fields to the Cathedral. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: ask for one at the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FishermanAyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

My wife and I stayed here on a last-minute booking. We had a room on the second floor (the only one available) which was not ideal as it was rather cramped and reached via an extremely steep flight of stairs. However it was quiet (at the back of the hotel) and had a magnificent view across playing fields to the abbey and the city centre. The sight of the abbey floodlit at night was stunning. Staff were very helpful and friendly and breakfasts were good. It was also great to have free parking in such a congested historic city.
The location of the hotel, on Pulteney Road, in superb. A delightful 10 minute walk takes you into the heart of the old city and there is a convenient bus service from just around the corner. There are lots of good places to eat but I would strongly recommend The Boathouse, 10 minutes walk up the road, on the banks of the river Avon. Whilst staying at the County Hotel you should definitely visit the Holburne Museum and Sydney Gardens (in which it stands) less than 5 minutes away along Pulteney Street. It will enrich your understanding of Bath and it also has a delightful cafe.

Room Tip: first floor at the rear - quiet with good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roger t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.9 mi away
Dorian House
Dorian House
#17 of 159 in Bath
1,128 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Kennard
The Kennard
#9 of 159 in Bath
1,126 reviews
2 mi away
Aquae Sulis Hotel
Aquae Sulis Hotel
#16 of 159 in Bath
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Bath House
The Bath House
#7 of 159 in Bath
1,877 reviews
0.7 mi away
Paradise House B&B
Paradise House B&B
#4 of 159 in Bath
1,941 reviews
0.7 mi away
2 Crescent Gardens
2 Crescent Gardens
#15 of 159 in Bath
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The County Hotel

Address: 18-19 Pulteney Road, Bath BA2 4EZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 159 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: £87 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The County Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The County is situated just a gentle stroll from Bath's "World Heritage Site" attractions, with splendid views over the city's famous Recreation Ground, Bath Abbey and beyond. The County in Bath has the perfect location! It is located just minutes away from the vibrant city centre and offers high quality standards and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
County Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing