We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel - Perfect Location”
Review of The County Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The County Hotel
Ranked #29 of 154 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Hotel - Perfect Location”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Great hotel - perfect location just a 5 minute stroll from the city centre and the attractions, but with ample free parking. (And only a 2 min taxi ride away if arriving by train.) Staff were very friendly and attentive. Stayed in a rear facing room with a view of the Abbey and green fields. Breakfast was great. Will certainly be visiting again once the new Blunos restaurant in the hotel is up and running. Top Tip: Look for the power saver switch on the side if turning on the TV.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uneasyposter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    195
    59
    19
    3
See reviews for
40
362
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Emsworth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Wonderful Location with great views of Bath. Friendly and Attentive Staff. The Blunos Restaurant is wonderful with exceptional food and great atmosphere along with the Hotel. Highly recommended as a venue to stay and eat in Bath.

Room Tip: Ask for view of Bath across.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Neil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

Great hotel right in the middle of Bath if you love Rugby which is why we picked it . There are rooms overlooking The Rec. Clean super breakfast lovely staff.Be aware there is no lift so if you have a day in The Clubhouse its a long way up.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BashandGorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We stayed at the County during the Bath Christmas Market, and as with our previous 5 visits, enjoyed a very pleasant weekend. The hotel provides free parking and is close enough to the city centre, approx. 10 minutes walk, to be able to leave the car and not have to worry about city centre parking. The rooms are clean, comfortable and bright with plenty of drawer space, tea & coffee making facilities, flat screen Freeview TV and telephone, although the beds could be a little more comfortable. The bathrooms are very bright with either a shower cubicle or bath with shower over & free toiletries are also provided. The dining room for breakfast looks out over the recreation ground towards the Abbey and is bright and clean, the breakfast choice is varied, from cereal, fruit, yogurts, cold meat, fruit juice to cooked full English, although a larger selection of cereals would be a good addition. The staff are always cheerful & ready to help and provide information on local restaurants and pubs, there is free Wi-Fi available in the reception area, and also in some rooms if you are lucky with the signal, and the bar, although small, has a reasonable selection of beers and also has Sky TV, although it never seemed to be used much when we were there. We will certainly be going back later this year and would recommend the Hotel to friends & family.

Room Tip: Rear facing rooms offer great views of the Abbey and are quieter with no road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyExile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I am a regular visitor to Bath and have stayed at The County on the last 4 occasions. The staff are always friendly, the bedrooms, although not huge are always spotless, could do with a fridge in the room to keep the wine cool!
Breakfast is always a lovely selection of fresh fruit, cereals and full English.
Great position for access to the city centre, railway station and some great free parking.
Also great base for doing one of the three Treasure Trails that are available in Bath.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cjay407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

It is ideal for car travellers. There is a car park and it is a 10 minute walk to the city centre. The breakfast (included in the price) is very generous. There is also a bar which is open until 11pm.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guthrie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Having spent a 4 night break for the 4th time at the County Hotel in mid December i must say that we are always pleased with our stay there. It is in an ideal location for visiting Bath as it is only a 5 minute walk into the centre. The staff are always very courteous and obliging and nothing is to much trouble, The accomodation is well appointed , although some of the rooms are a bit on the small side but as they are meant for 2 people we have no probles, The stairs are difficult if you have any problems with mobility as there is no lift. The breakfasts ar very good with plenty to eat. The good news is that they will be openimg a restaurant there soon so evening meals will be catersd for a bonus if the weather is inclement or you dont like walking into town at night. My wife and I always look forward to visiting the hotel and look forward to our next. As a Seasons member it is a splendid hotel in their portfolio
Paul &Gail Lavender

Room Tip: Quieter room at the back overlooking the rugby stadium
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulthefisherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.0 mi away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#9 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
0.5 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#1 of 35 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The County Hotel

Property: The County Hotel
Address: 18-19 Pulteney Road, Bath BA2 4EZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The County Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The County is situated just a gentle stroll from Bath's "World Heritage Site" attractions, with splendid views over the city's famous Recreation Ground, Bath Abbey and beyond. The County in Bath has the perfect location! It is located just minutes away from the vibrant city centre and offers high quality standards and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
County Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing