We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous location”
Review of The County Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The County Hotel
Ranked #30 of 159 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 March 2014

This hotel is in a fantastic location, overlooking The rugby ground and the Abbey. Free parking and within walking distance of the town. Com and visit Bath and leave the car in the car park. You'll get a warm welcome, WiFi is available in reception (free) and there is a bar. Unfortunately there is no lift so request a first floor room if stairs are a problem.
I 'very been to this hotel four times and will come again in the future.

Room Tip: Best rooms are on the first floor. Rooms at the back will be the quietest. This is an old building a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eduardobear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (650)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

526 - 532 of 650 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2014

We were a party of two couples staying at The County Hotel early February. We were in Bath to watch our rugby team play theirs. The hotel was very close to the Rugby ground and we could actually see it from our room windows. The town centre was within 5-10 minutes walking distance so location was very good. We had booked deluxe rooms although we all felt sorry for the other guests staying in rooms which were not classed as 'deluxe' as they were very standard. The rooms were packed with unnecessary furniture and only one spare electricity socket for phone chargers, hairdryers, computer charges etc. The shower was reasonable although there was a constant pool of water on the floor after use where the screen and bath did not connect correctly. The staff were pleasant at check in but there were no staff behind the hotel bar. The atmosphere in the bar was incredibly uninviting. The music was played on a very out-dated mini stack music system so sound quality was poor. The breakfast room was bright and airy although the food was disappointing. The continental breakfast was a small selection of cereals, yogurts, concentrated fruit juices (not fresh) slices of ham and slices of tasteless cheese. The cooked breakfast was made to order. The description on the menu said eggs. bacon, sausages beans but when the food arrived, only one egg, one sausage and one slice of bacon were produced. The waitress was apologetic when we pointed this out although none of us wanted any extra as they were of poor quality. Location is good, staff are pleasant and helpful in pointing out places to eat and visit but I doubt vey much any of us would return to this hotel on any subsequent visits to Bath.

Room Tip: Request a room at the back as really nice views and front rooms will have constant noise from traffi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

This small hotel is situated perfectly for the shops, bars, restaurants etc and also for the rugby!
We had a lovely room at the front but was far enough from the road not to be bothered by noise. The towels were like no other towels experienced ANYWHERE! So large and soft! Really incredible!
The 'full English' was a little small and no black pudding offered. Toast was just one slice each but I expect we could have asked for more. The second day I had two fried eggs and then had the lovely, thick-cut ham from the buffet table and that was a lot more satisfying.
The staff were all very friendly and always on hand with advice (directions etc). We'd definitely choose to stay there for future visits.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

My friend and I chose Bath for a few days shopping, eating and sightseeing and it certainly did not disappoint. This is a lovely city, very compact with everything in walking distance. Our hotel certainly contributed to this positive experience. Excellent value for money in a very good situation with only a short walk into the centre. The staff were very friendly and took time when we booked in to tell us about the things to do and places nearby to eat, so we were not unduly bothered that the restaurant wasn't yet open. We had a lovely room at the back overlooking the cricket ground, very comfortable, although we did have to turn the radiators down!The only downside was that the hotel does not have a lift, although the staff were happy to carry our bags upstairs to our rooms. I would definately recommend this hotel and will be returning when Blunos is open.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back overlooking the bowling green and the cricket ground, lovely views into Ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catrina s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

This was our first experience of the County Hotel and the overall impression was very good. The reception staff were very helpful and knowledgable, happy to recommend places to visit and eat.

The hotel is located on the main A36 and was easy to find. We were not bothered by the traffic, but were at the back of the hotel (with a stunning view across to the very beautiful Bath Abbey). Parking was easy with space at the front and back of the hotel, so if you've mobility problems you can get close to the front door. Having said that there is no lift, so do let staff know when you book about any issues on that front.

A five to ten minute level walk takes you right into the city centre - over the famous Pultney Bridge. From there there are lots of places to visit, explore and eat at.

Breakfast is a choice of continental or full English and was charged extra. We weren't particularly overimpressed by the choice and chose to eat in the city on two mornings (Patisserie Valerie is recommended!).

Our room was very comfortable with a large double bed. Comfortable pillows ensured a good night's sleep. The ensuite included a bath and power-shower over and the towels were the best I've found in any hotel anywhere. Tea and coffee making facilities, hair drier and television were all adequate and easy to hand.

Lots of literature was available to help you plan your visit; the hotel was very happy to book a taxi if needed.

All in all we were very happy with our visit here. The only disappointment (and not the hotel's fault) was that the promised new restaurant was not ready (Feb 2014). This caused frustration to the staff and the chef who was all ready to commence in the middle of Feb. We'll return to try this out at some point in the future,

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back - the view is stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cornishsnapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Great hotel. We got upgraded to a deluxe suite because of a cancellation which was very nice. The view was outstanding. The room was very clean and the staff very friendly. The hotel was in a nice area, and a relatively short walk from the town centre.

I did have a few minor problems. First being breakfast finished at 10, checkout was at 11. This is pretty standard but it would've been nice to have another half an hour for the breakfast as we missed it. Also, the bed, while comfy and well presented was made of two single beds put together, which left a slightly uncomfortable line down the middle of the bed.

Overall though the hotel was great and we will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IzzyAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Great value! Clean, efficient, comfortable beds, lovely staff and fab breakfast. Parking too a bonus for hotel located mins from centre of Bath. This is a great stop over and exceptional value for money. Can certainly recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carobeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.1 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 32 in Bath
1,312 reviews
0.7 mi away
2 Crescent Gardens
2 Crescent Gardens
#16 of 159 in Bath
396 reviews
0.7 mi away
Paradise House B&B
Paradise House B&B
#4 of 159 in Bath
1,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Aquae Sulis Hotel
Aquae Sulis Hotel
#18 of 159 in Bath
980 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Henry Guest House
The Henry Guest House
#21 of 159 in Bath
849 reviews
2 mi away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#15 of 159 in Bath
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The County Hotel

Address: 18-19 Pulteney Road, Bath BA2 4EZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 159 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: £96 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The County Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The County is situated just a gentle stroll from Bath's "World Heritage Site" attractions, with splendid views over the city's famous Recreation Ground, Bath Abbey and beyond. The County in Bath has the perfect location! It is located just minutes away from the vibrant city centre and offers high quality standards and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
County Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing