We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we recommend 'The County'”
Review of The County Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The County Hotel
Ranked #30 of 159 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We have stayed several times at 'The County Hotel', usually in February or March. It is always warm and welcoming; the staff are very friendly and helpful and helped us with our luggage as there is no lift.

The rooms are always comfortable and well-equipped, though some can be rather small for two people. They are clean and the showers always work well.

It is such a bonus to be able to leave our car in the hotel car park and walk into the city. It usually takes us about 15 minutes. There is so much to see in Bath. This time we also visited the American Museum, which is a few minutes by car from the hotel.

The breakfast is reasonably priced and we have always found it more than adequate. We are delighted that there is now a restaurant on site and look forward to trying 'Blunos' next time we come.

Room Tip: As there is no lift, we recommend a 1st floor room if you find stairs a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VictoriaT762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (650)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

518 - 524 of 650 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2014

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights and loved this beautiful old hotel
The rooms are smallish but very clean, good decoration and well appointed
The location is a few minutes walk from the centre of Bath and the hotel parking is great
Attached to the hotel is the magnificent Blunos restaurant
Hotel staff are efficient and very friendly, well directed by the ever smiling manager Erin

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank richardnewman123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Have just had a stunning lunch at Blunos, food was superb as was the service. My Scallop starter was the best I have ever tasted.We were personally greeted by Martin who chatted at out table and he even made my wife special Truffles with a birthday greeting. An absolutely wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

my wife and I have stayed at The County many times and have always had a really lovely break there.
The location is superb along with free parking ( which is definitely a bonus when staying in this lovely City ). There is a pleasant short walk into the City centre.( I'm 71 and it takes me less than 10 minutes ) but the best advantages of staying in The County Hotel is the comfort and cleanliness of the rooms, a lovely breakfast each morning but most of all the staff. they make you feel really welcome, are friendly and most helpful. We love visiting Bath and would never consider staying anywhere instead of The County. Looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: lovely views from the rear of the hotel overlooking the City and magnificent cathedral
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

It sits a little way outside of the main city, but it is a small price to pay to be able to park. We had no problem walking everywhere we wanted to go. The staff is fantastic and the building has great views. It was worth staying here for the breakfast!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Just back from a lovely two nights in Bath. This hotel is in a great spot for walking into the city. It has parking which is fantastic as for many city hotels this is an issue. The hotel is lovely, clean and modern. Public areas are very quiet but this is perfect if your seeking peace. We had a room at the back with great views, lovely comfortable bed & bedding and lovely big towels. Bathroom was small but how much room do you need in there!?! Good choice of breakfast, only thing was we found the bacon & sausages over cooked both mornings. Staff were very accommodating. Was no problem for us but If you can't manage stairs easily there is no lift. Would recommend this hotel.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank louloucakes_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

stayed for 1night for my husbands birthday and wasn't disappointed lovely staff .the room we had was great very clean and the bed was so comfortable,with a wonderfull view looking onto the rugby ground and the abbey breakfast was very nice and again the staff very nice bath is a beatifull city and worth a visit.will certainly be going back.and a big bonus is when we checked out we was told we could leave our car at the hotel for the day.

Room Tip: no lifts so if you have a problem with stairs ask for a room on the lower levels
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jane l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.1 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 32 in Bath
1,312 reviews
0.7 mi away
2 Crescent Gardens
2 Crescent Gardens
#16 of 159 in Bath
396 reviews
0.7 mi away
Paradise House B&B
Paradise House B&B
#4 of 159 in Bath
1,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Aquae Sulis Hotel
Aquae Sulis Hotel
#18 of 159 in Bath
980 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Henry Guest House
The Henry Guest House
#21 of 159 in Bath
849 reviews
2 mi away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#15 of 159 in Bath
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The County Hotel

Address: 18-19 Pulteney Road, Bath BA2 4EZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 159 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: £96 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The County Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The County is situated just a gentle stroll from Bath's "World Heritage Site" attractions, with splendid views over the city's famous Recreation Ground, Bath Abbey and beyond. The County in Bath has the perfect location! It is located just minutes away from the vibrant city centre and offers high quality standards and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
County Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing