We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel convenient for city centre”
Review of The County Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The County Hotel
Ranked #31 of 157 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice hotel convenient for city centre”
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night while visiting Bath. Has onsite parking included which is very useful. City centre is only a short walk away. Service was very good and breakfast was nice. No lift since this is an older property so request a ground floor room of that's a problem for you.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    209
    60
    20
    3
See reviews for
49
380
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Had a weekend in this hotel.
Was given room 17, the room was very cramped, no cupboards only one small wardrobe and that had a very bad smell coming from it so had to keep our things in suitcase. Shower was very small could not close door (no bath) , paint in bathroom was not finished by extractor fan .Carpet in bedroom was badly stained and needed replacing . All in all would not stay in that room again.
On the plus side the staff were very good , breakfast was great and the rest of the hotel looked very good. Bath is a lovely city to explore.

Room Tip: Don't except room 17
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This hotel is close to the city centre, an easy, level ten minute walk (with opportunity to change route) to the centre of Bath. It is well set back from the road, good car parking and, at the rear, views of Bath and the Rugby ground in the middle distance.
The rooms are well decorated and comfortable. The staff friendly and the breakfast excellent and not expensive. Cooked breakfast is to individual order and not half warm on a buffet.
Overall a quiet, comfortable base for your antsy in a city with lots to do.

Room Tip: rooms at the rear are quiet with great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frederick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

We visited Bath to watch the rugby. This hotel is 5mins from the ground, you can see the groung from the car park, so suited us perfectly. It is also only a few minutes walk to the shops and restaurants. Off road parking is available at the back of the hotel, a pass will be given to you when you check in. We visited at a bank holiday wkend but this hotel being on the very edge of town meant we werent bothered by any crowds or noise.
The hotel itself was clean and tidy. The staff were lovely and helpful. We had a lovely visit and will definately go back :-)
I think the hotel mention it in their advert but i would like to confirm that there isn't a lift, just stairs. Didnt bother us though ;-)

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paula W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We have stayed several times at 'The County Hotel', usually in February or March. It is always warm and welcoming; the staff are very friendly and helpful and helped us with our luggage as there is no lift.

The rooms are always comfortable and well-equipped, though some can be rather small for two people. They are clean and the showers always work well.

It is such a bonus to be able to leave our car in the hotel car park and walk into the city. It usually takes us about 15 minutes. There is so much to see in Bath. This time we also visited the American Museum, which is a few minutes by car from the hotel.

The breakfast is reasonably priced and we have always found it more than adequate. We are delighted that there is now a restaurant on site and look forward to trying 'Blunos' next time we come.

Room Tip: As there is no lift, we recommend a 1st floor room if you find stairs a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VictoriaT762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights and loved this beautiful old hotel
The rooms are smallish but very clean, good decoration and well appointed
The location is a few minutes walk from the centre of Bath and the hotel parking is great
Attached to the hotel is the magnificent Blunos restaurant
Hotel staff are efficient and very friendly, well directed by the ever smiling manager Erin

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank richardnewman123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Have just had a stunning lunch at Blunos, food was superb as was the service. My Scallop starter was the best I have ever tasted.We were personally greeted by Martin who chatted at out table and he even made my wife special Truffles with a birthday greeting. An absolutely wonderful experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.1 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 31 in Bath
1,246 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 31 in Bath
1,380 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#9 of 31 in Bath
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.1 mi away
The Edgar Townhouse
The Edgar Townhouse
#40 of 157 in Bath
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The County Hotel

Property: The County Hotel
Address: 18-19 Pulteney Road, Bath BA2 4EZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The County Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The County is situated just a gentle stroll from Bath's "World Heritage Site" attractions, with splendid views over the city's famous Recreation Ground, Bath Abbey and beyond. The County in Bath has the perfect location! It is located just minutes away from the vibrant city centre and offers high quality standards and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
County Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing