We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely Georgian themed B&B”
Review of Dolphin House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dolphin House
Ranked #105 of 155 Bath B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 June 2011

We stayed in the Jane Austen Suite for 2 nights which compromised of a lovely sitting room, a seperate twin bedroom and a large bathroom accessed via a small flight of stairs. A fabulous continental breakfast of fruit salad and yoghurt followed by cereal followed by toast / croissant and jam!

Beautiful garden and views across the back of the property.

Small negatives are very limited parking space and odd check in (4pm - 7pm) and out (10.30am) times.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glitzy_queen00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2011

We enjoyed our 2 day stay so much we had to stay 3 days.
Wonderful hosts (Jane & George) who were able to guide us in the right direction.
Breakfast in the orange room was a real treat.
Would not hesitate to reccomend this B&B to any of our friends.
Thank you Jane & George

Room Tip: Just ask, if it is available, you will get it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donnaandrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2010

Dolphin House is a delightful place to stay near Bath, especially if you like the atmosphere of a Georgian house which has been lovingly furnished and styled in keeping with the period. The rooms are huge and very comfortable. We had our excellent continental breakfast served in the cool new orangery, as even at 9am the terrace was too hot to sit out on! George & Jane also kindly let us use their terrace for the pre-dinner drinks we'd brought. We stayed in the The Darcy room downstairs, which has a separate bathroom (you have to walk into the hall, but a gown was provided). The bathroom was the only disappointment in this otherwise excellent B&B, as the shower was unusable, providing either scalding or cold water, so we could only take baths. Upstairs in our friends' room, the bath was also in need of updating, this time just a hand-held shower attachment to the taps. Perhaps this takes the Georgian experience a bit too far....!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bramblers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2010

We recently returned from a weekend at Dolphin House Batheaston, Near Bath. We went for my birthday as we have done 4 times previously. The owners Jane and George have always been very welcoming, helpful, and knowledgable about the area- one of the reasons we keep going back. The house which is full of character, is a Georgian Grade II listed building. The garden is lovely and has a couple of interesting and secluded parts at the bottom. We usually have our breakfast out on the terrace-which is a very substantial continental. We stay in The Jane Austen Suite which has it's own lounge next to the bedroom and the bathroom is upstairs. The owner is a painter and displays some of her work in the rooms. There is another room downstairs which looks lovely and has a separate bathroom-but we are usually travelling onwards into Cornwall afterwards so need the extra room the suite provides. The village has some interesting buildings and an old pub with decked beer garden. To get into Bath we choose to walk 10-15 minutes down to Bathampton Mill in the mornings to catch the boat to Pultenay Bridge in the centre of Bath(£3.50 single) although you can walk along the canal (1 hr 15 mins) or take the bus 20 mins. Obviously there is plenty to do in Bath but the Bathampton Mill and The George both are good restaurants near Batheaston. I would recommend Dolphin House as it is in such a fantastic location-near Bath but also has the village feel.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank campbell18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2009

Looking for a short break away I dont think we could have chose better than Dolphin House. George and Jane ( The owners) were friendly and welcoming. The Room was nice and in character for a building over 300 years old! The Garden was lovely and having continental breakfast out on the terrace was a good start to the morning. The House lies a couple of miles outside Bath, but even without a car, getting into the City is a breeze with a frequent bus service a few minutes down the road. With 4 pubs within walking distance, evening meals and drinks were sorted. For those of you that enjoy a walk, we would recommend taking a walk by the canal into the city centre, its quite flat easy terrain and the scenery is nice. before you know it you have walked the 2 miles and you're into the city. all in all a very nice stay :)

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holbeach67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2009

The Dolphin B&B is a good location , outside of bath by a couple of miles. The bus stop is near and there is a bus every 20 minutes to the town and back.

There are also 4 pubs within walking distance of the B&B which we found handy for our first nights arrival.

Our room whilst it did have a private bathroom it was not en-suite so check before booking if your fussy about that.

There is no dining room for breakfast, its brought into the room. This sounds a bit better than it is. I missed the nice feeling of having breakfast round a large table with the host on hand to dish out some local information while serving up food. Also no fry up was available which was disappointing.

The lack of communal areas for the guests meant chats to the hosts was restricted to breakfast being served only.

The House is very nice, and in great condition. The Garden is very nice, though not as secluded as the photos make out.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank t0m0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2008

Dolphin House in an absolutely gorgoeus georgian house set in beautiful grounds. We stayed in the Darcy suite which consisted of a reception room, lovely bedroom and then an upstairs bathroom. The hosts are lovely and recommended some lovely eating places nearby. The guest house is a couple of miles outside Bath set in Batheaston which is a lovely village. Would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rach1709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.4 mi away
Old Mill Hotel
Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Batheaston
1,177 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
2.2 mi away
The Lansdown Grove Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
2.7 mi away
Bay Tree House
Bay Tree House
#47 of 155 in Bath
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin House

Address: 8 Northend, Bath BA1 7EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: £88 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dolphin House is a grade 2 C18th listed building 2 1/2 miles east of Bath. It has private parking for guests and is a short walk from the bus stop for busses into the city every 15 minutes. There are pubs and a shop within easy walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Dolphin House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing