We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right in the heart of the city”
Review of Three Abbey Green

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Three Abbey Green
Ranked #9 of 155 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 September 2012

A point about Bath first: Driving in Bath is a mission. The B&B advise that you try and avoid driving however I had to. Traffic is very very slow 1mile took us 40min. This is due to one way systems, bus lanes and generally trying to keep traffic out of the centre. Sat nav tried several time to take us down bus lanes etc so watch for this also. That said, once parked, the centre is fantastic and parking rates at the recomended station car park were very reasonable.

Three Abbey Green is one fantastic find. The owners and staff are friendly and welcoming and really could not do enouh for us. They recomended both watering holes and eateries, marking them on a map for us and really spending time to find out what we were looking for. All the recomended places were great and gave us a real taste of the city.

The rooms were big and comfortable well furnished and well equiped. the bathrooms again were of a good size with a large shower.

We stayed in the Sycamore room and were on the Abbey green. When we checked in, we found a note telling us that the area could get a little loud at times being right in the centre and opposite a fairly busy pub and that ear plugs had also been provided however these were not required. Yes there was a little noise but only a pub kicking out time and this did not really affect us and was very very limited.

Breakfast was cooked fresh as you ordered in and was made with a good food stuffs again we really could not fault it.

Staying here you are less than 5 min away from anywhere you want to visit in the city. The shopping areas are within 2 min walk. The roman Baths 3 and the Spa 4-5 min.

Whilst staying here you should ask the staff for directions to the Raven Pub who serve great local brews and amazing pies and was recomended to us by the staff.

Overall this B&B made our trip to Bath a joy. This is a must for anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G60Rallye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,228)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

681 - 687 of 1,228 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2012

THree abbey green has it all! We stayed in the 2 ground floor rooms. They are spacious, comfortable, bright, cheery and well appointed. The location is in the heart of everything you go to Bath to see! There is free wifi and a fridge available for guests use. The breakfast was home made and delicious. WE left early on our last day to catch a flight from Heathrow and they packed a breakfast to go for us to eat en route on the train. Service just doesn't get any better than this. We were thrilled with our stay.
If you are going to Bath, this is the place to stay!

Room Tip: LOVED the rooms on the ground floor. So convenient and stairs are an issue for me. Did get a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewfoundlandDorie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

The B&B was incredible, the owners were friendly and could not do enough for us and made us feel very welcome.
The location was perfect and the Room was big and very clean. The owners had thought of everything, and the breakfast was superb.
All in all we had a brilliant time and would certainly return to this B&B without hesitation.
Cannot recommend it enough.
Ro and Helen

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenRo20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

This guest house is oustanding and a must stay for any trip to Bath. The location is incredible; the guest house is beautiful and immaculate. The breakfast is first rate and also catered willingly for our family of vegetarians and vegans. The staff / owners were lovely, friendly and extremely helpful. Can't recommend it highly enough. Superb!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We got this B&B very last minute in August and got a room on the top floor which was described as 'small' but was still bigger than our bedroom at home!! I think we had the only room with a direct view of the Abbey from the window which had a window seat in, absolutely brilliant.
Breakfast was first rate with hot food being ordered and served to our table which made a nice change from it just being piled high on a make shift table like you find in some B&B's.
Owners were very helpful and gave some advice about where to visit and eat.
Only downside was the noise during the night from late night revelers but the hotel does provide ear plugs free of charge and you are staying in the most central location of Bath so what would you expect.
Considering booking the self catering apartment next time as they look fabulous!

Room Tip: The Lilliput Room is on the top floor but has a view of the Abbey!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrbbates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

First, I am technically reviewing Four Abbey Green (the apartment next door to Three Abbey Green and run by the folks over there - but it is a self-serving apartment vs. a B&B).

The location is just incredible. You stay in the HEART of Bath. It is so convenient and nice and we loved where we were at. You are one block from a Mark & Spencers, and walking distance to a bunch of solid restaurants like Sally Lunds. I cannot say more about the location in the heart of Bath.

The apartment was great for our party: Myself, my wife, our daughter (who turned 1 during our stay here), and my Mom. It had a working kitchen, a refrigerator and dishwasher, and came in handy for warming bottles for our little girl.

The beds were comfy and the staff had a crib in the room, so we were set! Additionally, we were allowed to use the computers at the B&B next door to check up on the World.

Now, I also have a very positive story about the staff and the fact that they went "All Out" to help us out and make our stay enjoyable.

The day that we were leaving, my wife and I took a cab to the Hertz located outside of the city (Rick Steves recommends making Bath your first stop in England and picking up your car on the last day). So, we get there - and when we do, they don't have an Automatic Transmission. My wife tried driving it, but we kept stalling and was burning through the clutch. She had driven one many years ago, but the combination of that and being on the wrong side of the road wasn't going to work.

We made it back after 2 hours to Three Abbey. The staff was concerned about us as my Mom and little Pamela were waiting. We explained the predicament. One of the staff said that her husband was off that day, and would drive us (and the car) back to Hertz. He did so, and Hertz was able to find us a suitable car in Cardiff.

We were very thankful that the staff looked out for us on that day (who knows where we would have been without their help) and truly appreciate it.

So, besides the location, the amenities - the staff is awesome and well worth a visit the next time I make it to Bath!!!

Room Tip: Get the Apartment next door at Four Abbey...it can't be beat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abnegazar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

In fact, much more than perfect. If you are going to Bath, stay at Three Abbey Green. The location couldn't be more perfect for restaurants, the train station, Bath Abbey and the Old Roman Fitness Center. Excellent service and great breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank St_Stefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.4 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,313 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#18 of 34 in Bath
1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
0.3 mi away
The Kennard
The Kennard
#11 of 155 in Bath
1,098 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Gainsborough Bath Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Abbey Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Abbey Green

Address: 3 Abbey Green, Bath BA1 1NW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: £98 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Three Abbey Green 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three Abbey Green is a Four Star Gold Award guest house, hidden away in a quiet cobbled square in the heart of central Bath. A stone's throw from the Abbey and Roman Baths, everything you could wish to see is on your doorstep. A leisurely walk to the Royal Crescent and King's Circus takes in an eclectic mix of boutique, independent and big-name shops, street performers and stunning Georgian architecture along the way. And when you get there, don't forget to visit the Assembly Rooms - ladies, no visit would be complete without trying on a corset and crinoline at the Fashion Museum. Whether you're here to relax at the Thermae Bath Spa, take in a little culture at the Theatre Royal, or shout yourself hoarse in support of your team at the Bath Rugby ground, Three Abbey Green is ideally situated for everything Bath has to offer.A Grade 2 listed building, parts of which date back to 1689, the main house has seven rooms (including two large suites ideal for families or groups), each with its own character and unique charm. Period features such as original fireplaces and wood panelled walls fit comfortably with tasteful contemporary furnishings. Greet the morning with an award winning breakfast, packed full of local produce. Don't worry if you have dietary needs - we can meet them all, given a little notice! As part of our commitment to expanding upon the service we currently provide, we are extending our award-winning bed and breakfast, Three Abbey Green, into the beautiful Georgian maisonette next door (which was once Four Abbey Green apartment). We also have a beautiful one bedroom self catering apartment, Abbey View, if you would prefer to cater for yourselves. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
3 Abbey Green
Three Abbey Green Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing