We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Penthouse”
Review of Three Abbey Green

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Three Abbey Green
Ranked #8 of 154 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect Penthouse”
Reviewed 18 September 2012

My friends and I graduated from the University of Bath in 1992 and I was tasked with the job of organising our 20 year reunion. I had stayed in the Penthouse for my sister-in-laws hen weekend and knew it would be perfect for the 6 of us. Most of us came by train and the location in Manvers street is perfect to pull a trolley bag up. Town centre round the corner meant food and wine were always on tap. The apartment was beautifully clean and organised on our arrival. The location was a great base to wander round all our old haunts. Being able to sit round catching up made it infinitely better than a hotel. We all agreed it was a perfect place for our reunion. I hope to return sometime soon

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tanya31169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,049
    99
    15
    1
    0
See reviews for
309
512
40
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Three Abbey Green is more comfortable and has more amenities than some 4-5 star hotels I have stayed in previously. There is a fridge for guests to use which is topped up daily with bottled water for you to help yourself, there is free wifi but if you want to use a computer there is one set-up for guests to use free of charge. There is an ipod dock and alarm in the room, tea and coffee with enough milk to make at least 4 cups (which you never get in hotels) and there are earplugs in the room incase the pub over the green gets to loud (which it didn't when we stayed). Beds were comfortable and had freeview tele.

The owners/staff could not do enough for us. We were a couple of hours later than the time we said we would be checking in due to traffic and getting lost and they phoned us up, checking we were ok and giving directions. When we arrived they gave us a map to Bath and they made recommendations for food, drinks and attractions.

Breakfast was home made, locally sourced and yummy. There was a menu of cooked goodies and help yourself cereals and fruit. We was warned that if everyone comes down to breakfast at once then there can be a bit of a wait... 10-15mins! If I didn't have to wait that long for freshly cooked breakfast i'd be worried, not that 10mins is a long time to wait.

On the day we checked out we wanted to stay in Bath for a few more hours so they kindly looked after our cases for us and gave us a front door key so we could still come and go as we pleased and pick up our cases when we wanted to leave.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone and when we return to Bath for a longer stay we will stay here again.

There is no parking here (nor any other city centre hotel) so we used the carpark they suggested, a secure multi storey about a 3-5 min walk away through the new shopping precinct which was reasonably priced. We stayed 2 nights and parking cost us £23.

One word of warning, Bath is not car friendly and if your satnav is not up to date it will probably try to take you up bus lanes or pedestrianised zones so ignore your satnav and stick to the very helpful directions map on the Three Abbey Green website.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent but check out the hotels website as it lists each room with pictures and adv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmiLou-Monkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

A point about Bath first: Driving in Bath is a mission. The B&B advise that you try and avoid driving however I had to. Traffic is very very slow 1mile took us 40min. This is due to one way systems, bus lanes and generally trying to keep traffic out of the centre. Sat nav tried several time to take us down bus lanes etc so watch for this also. That said, once parked, the centre is fantastic and parking rates at the recomended station car park were very reasonable.

Three Abbey Green is one fantastic find. The owners and staff are friendly and welcoming and really could not do enouh for us. They recomended both watering holes and eateries, marking them on a map for us and really spending time to find out what we were looking for. All the recomended places were great and gave us a real taste of the city.

The rooms were big and comfortable well furnished and well equiped. the bathrooms again were of a good size with a large shower.

We stayed in the Sycamore room and were on the Abbey green. When we checked in, we found a note telling us that the area could get a little loud at times being right in the centre and opposite a fairly busy pub and that ear plugs had also been provided however these were not required. Yes there was a little noise but only a pub kicking out time and this did not really affect us and was very very limited.

Breakfast was cooked fresh as you ordered in and was made with a good food stuffs again we really could not fault it.

Staying here you are less than 5 min away from anywhere you want to visit in the city. The shopping areas are within 2 min walk. The roman Baths 3 and the Spa 4-5 min.

Whilst staying here you should ask the staff for directions to the Raven Pub who serve great local brews and amazing pies and was recomended to us by the staff.

Overall this B&B made our trip to Bath a joy. This is a must for anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G60Rallye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

THree abbey green has it all! We stayed in the 2 ground floor rooms. They are spacious, comfortable, bright, cheery and well appointed. The location is in the heart of everything you go to Bath to see! There is free wifi and a fridge available for guests use. The breakfast was home made and delicious. WE left early on our last day to catch a flight from Heathrow and they packed a breakfast to go for us to eat en route on the train. Service just doesn't get any better than this. We were thrilled with our stay.
If you are going to Bath, this is the place to stay!

Room Tip: LOVED the rooms on the ground floor. So convenient and stairs are an issue for me. Did get a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewfoundlandDorie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 September 2012

The B&B was incredible, the owners were friendly and could not do enough for us and made us feel very welcome.
The location was perfect and the Room was big and very clean. The owners had thought of everything, and the breakfast was superb.
All in all we had a brilliant time and would certainly return to this B&B without hesitation.
Cannot recommend it enough.
Ro and Helen

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenRo20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

This guest house is oustanding and a must stay for any trip to Bath. The location is incredible; the guest house is beautiful and immaculate. The breakfast is first rate and also catered willingly for our family of vegetarians and vegans. The staff / owners were lovely, friendly and extremely helpful. Can't recommend it highly enough. Superb!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We got this B&B very last minute in August and got a room on the top floor which was described as 'small' but was still bigger than our bedroom at home!! I think we had the only room with a direct view of the Abbey from the window which had a window seat in, absolutely brilliant.
Breakfast was first rate with hot food being ordered and served to our table which made a nice change from it just being piled high on a make shift table like you find in some B&B's.
Owners were very helpful and gave some advice about where to visit and eat.
Only downside was the noise during the night from late night revelers but the hotel does provide ear plugs free of charge and you are staying in the most central location of Bath so what would you expect.
Considering booking the self catering apartment next time as they look fabulous!

Room Tip: The Lilliput Room is on the top floor but has a view of the Abbey!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrbbates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.1 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#1 of 35 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Bath City Centre Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Gainsborough Bath Spa
0.2 mi away
Harington's City Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Abbey Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Abbey Green

Property: Three Abbey Green
Address: 3 Abbey Green, Bath BA1 1NW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Three Abbey Green 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three Abbey Green is a Four Star Gold Award guest house, hidden away in a quiet cobbled square in the heart of central Bath. A stone's throw from the Abbey and Roman Baths, everything you could wish to see is on your doorstep. A leisurely walk to the Royal Crescent and King's Circus takes in an eclectic mix of boutique, independent and big-name shops, street performers and stunning Georgian architecture along the way. And when you get there, don't forget to visit the Assembly Rooms - ladies, no visit would be complete without trying on a corset and crinoline at the Fashion Museum. Whether you're here to relax at the Thermae Bath Spa, take in a little culture at the Theatre Royal, or shout yourself hoarse in support of your team at the Bath Rugby ground, Three Abbey Green is ideally situated for everything Bath has to offer.A Grade 2 listed building, parts of which date back to 1689, the main house has seven rooms (including two large suites ideal for families or groups), each with its own character and unique charm. Period features such as original fireplaces and wood panelled walls fit comfortably with tasteful contemporary furnishings. Greet the morning with an award winning breakfast, packed full of local produce. Don't worry if you have dietary needs - we can meet them all, given a little notice! As part of our commitment to expanding upon the service we currently provide, we are extending our award-winning bed and breakfast, Three Abbey Green, into the beautiful Georgian maisonette next door (which was once Four Abbey Green apartment). We also have a beautiful one bedroom self catering apartment, Abbey View, if you would prefer to cater for yourselves. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Three Abbey Green Hotel Bath
3 Abbey Green

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing