We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staying in Style”
Review of Three Abbey Green

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Three Abbey Green
Ranked #8 of 154 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Woodstock, Oxfordshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Staying in Style”
Reviewed 6 April 2008

What better way to begin a visit to Bath than to arrive at Three Abbey Green, a beautiful Grade 2 listed Town House, with the floodlit Abbey behind. It really set the tone for my weekend. The central location was ideal for exploring all the main visitor attractions, and a good choice of quality restaurants are within walking distance.

The accommodation was elegant, spacious, very comfortable and complimented by an excellent breakfast. The house has a lovely homely atmosphere - Sue, Derek and Nici made me feel very welcome and their hospitality was a key part of the overall enjoyment of my visit to Bath.

  • Liked — An elegant, homely property with very welcoming owners - great hospitality.
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Twinkle49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,058
    99
    15
    1
    0
See reviews for
312
518
40
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
iowa, usa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2008

Our family stayed at Bathwick view, the Abby Green sister property, over Easter Break. Our flat was pure heaven! All the rooms are very tastefully and warmly decorated, with a gourmet kitchen and spa like beautiful bathrooms. Contemporary style and extremely comfortable. The walk in shower, bathroom towel heaters, Washer/Dryer, amazing coffee machine, dishwasher, cozy dining and lounge areas, etc. were just a few of the reasons we loved staying here. And our teen girls loved the free wireless internet and the reading lights above their beds! We didn't want to leave and wish that we had been able to stay longer. The only drawback was that it is a little noisy in the morning, but the owners thoughtfully have earplugs available if wanted. Sue and Derek, the owners, are such warm, gracious hosts and they have thought of providing every ammenity that weary travelers would want. They even have fresh milk in the fridge when you arrive, and also provide coffee and tea, dishes, etc. . The coffeemaker made the best cup of coffee we've ever tasted. Nick even helped us carry our heavy luggage up the stairs to the flat. I highly recommend staying here. You will feel totally pampered.

  • Liked — beautiful accomodations with every ammenity a tired traveler would want, hosts are super nice people
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank elleleegreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 March 2008

Three Abbey Green is the perfect little hotel to stay in Bath. As the name suggests it is right behind the Abbey on a picture postcard square. The Roman Baths are right next door. So are several excellent restaurants including Tilley's (French) and One Fish Two Fish, (well fish). The rooms are spacious, well appointed and nicely decorated. Our hosts, Sue and Derek were charming and helpful. Breakfast was delicious. The only knock about this place is also a plus. It is very hard to find by car, Walking in from the Abbey works well. The plus of this is the square has no traffic, or traffic noise.

  • Liked — The rooms
  • Disliked — The trouble with parking
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeycan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rayleigh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2008

Our family of five, including 3 young adults wanted a reasonably priced central location for a long weekend stay over the Easter break. The Asher Suite at 3, Abbey Green hit the mark perfectly. The room was large enough to accomodate us comfortably, clean and well cared for. The hosts, Sue, Derek and Nici were very friendly and breakfast was lovely, if a little too promptly served! The guest house couldn't be located better to experience all the delights of Bath, positioned close to the Abbey, it's impossible to get lost! There are no parking facilities and parking is expensive but then, it is to be expected in such a renowned tourist spot. We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate in booking again, next time we visit.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — no parking facilities
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank morse1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 25 March 2008

My friend and I spent a long weekend at Bathwick View, one of the Three Abbey Green's nearby self-catering apartments, and would highly recommend this excellent accommodation.
The apartment was beautifully styled, immaculately clean, and was really well equipped with quality furnishings and all possible comforts. It's in a great corner location, minutes from the railway station and parking and very conveniently placed for shopping and dining.
We put everything to good use, putting together several meals in the smart kitchen, including a full roast dinner for Easter Sunday and we had everything we needed for the task. A particular treat was the fabulous built-in coffee machine that does everything except wash up after itself. Even the fresh coffee beans and the milk and sugar were provided (along with tea bags, ground coffee for the cafetieres and instant coffee for those who prefer it). The proprietors have given great attention to detail and gave us a very warm welcome.
After this experience, I wouldn't hesitate to book one of the apartments again or to stay at Three Abbey Green, which is also beautifully presented and (we could tell from our two quick visits) very well managed.

Gill Radcliffe (London)

  • Liked — Clean and stylish
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill_R_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penarth, Wales
1 review
Reviewed 24 March 2008

We recently stayed four nights in The Westwood Suite. Excellent accommodation and superb location with everything right on the doorstep. Bath is a beautiful city and Three Abbey Green the ideal place to stay with historical sights, places to eat and good shopping all just a few minutes walk from the front door. Thanks to Sue, Derek and family for helping to make our visit so very enjoyable.

  • Liked — spacious
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank enthusiast31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 March 2008

Myself, my partner and my elderly father recently had the pleasure of staying with Derek and Sue at Three Abbey Green, Bath.
We were warmly welcomed and had a beautiful room overlooking the green which was quite literally a stones throw from the Roman Baths, The Abbey, Sally Lunn's and some other lovely places to eat etc. Oh, and a 2 minute walk to the start of the Bath Half Marathon!
The room (The Sycamore) had an enormous, comfy bed, a large sofa, cast iron fireplace and was very tastefully decorated. Our en suite was immaculate, shower powerful and towels fluffy! Dad's room next door (The Lilliput Suite) was more than comfortable for a single occupant.
Breakfast was delicious and prompt and served in their beautifully clean, basement breakfast room.
Being in a city centre location meant there was of course, a few drunken revellers in the early hours wandering past singing but nothing that went on past midnight (or that the ear plugs wouldn't have blocked out if they were needed). It was a fabulous hotel which I couldn't recommend more highly!

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginger_Fox34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.1 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 34 in Bath
1,367 reviews
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.4 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
0.5 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 34 in Bath
1,344 reviews
0.3 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Abbey Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Abbey Green

Property: Three Abbey Green
Address: 3 Abbey Green, Bath BA1 1NW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Three Abbey Green 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three Abbey Green is a Four Star Gold Award guest house, hidden away in a quiet cobbled square in the heart of central Bath. A stone's throw from the Abbey and Roman Baths, everything you could wish to see is on your doorstep. A leisurely walk to the Royal Crescent and King's Circus takes in an eclectic mix of boutique, independent and big-name shops, street performers and stunning Georgian architecture along the way. And when you get there, don't forget to visit the Assembly Rooms - ladies, no visit would be complete without trying on a corset and crinoline at the Fashion Museum. Whether you're here to relax at the Thermae Bath Spa, take in a little culture at the Theatre Royal, or shout yourself hoarse in support of your team at the Bath Rugby ground, Three Abbey Green is ideally situated for everything Bath has to offer.A Grade 2 listed building, parts of which date back to 1689, the main house has seven rooms (including two large suites ideal for families or groups), each with its own character and unique charm. Period features such as original fireplaces and wood panelled walls fit comfortably with tasteful contemporary furnishings. Greet the morning with an award winning breakfast, packed full of local produce. Don't worry if you have dietary needs - we can meet them all, given a little notice! As part of our commitment to expanding upon the service we currently provide, we are extending our award-winning bed and breakfast, Three Abbey Green, into the beautiful Georgian maisonette next door (which was once Four Abbey Green apartment). We also have a beautiful one bedroom self catering apartment, Abbey View, if you would prefer to cater for yourselves. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Three Abbey Green Hotel Bath
3 Abbey Green

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing