We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Family Stay”
Review of Three Abbey Green

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Three Abbey Green
Ranked #8 of 154 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria
1 review
“Wonderful Family Stay”
Reviewed 21 April 2008

Our family of five stayed at Three Abbey Green for three nights in March 2008. We were very pleased with our choice. The location is excellent; so close to shopping and all the major sights and the guest house itself is exactly as advertised. Though they don't have their own parking, using the public carpark only a couple of blocks away was easy--really not a problem at all.
When we arrived Nici spent a long while orienting us to Bath going over the map of the city and pointing out suitable restaurants for our family (Martini's serves delicious Italian food including enormous pizzas).
Our room (Lord Nelson) was perfect for us--the teenagers had their own small room and our youngest stayed in the main room with us which had plenty of space for the three of us. (In fact, every room we saw when the doors were open for cleaning was lovely and spacious.) The breakfasts were great---fresh and home-cooked and the hosts were extremely accomodating. They obviously really enjoy what they do. They are friendly and helpful without being cloying or overbearing. We highly recommend Three Abbey Green.

  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ComoxFabFive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,049
    99
    15
    1
    0
See reviews for
309
512
40
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2008

Have just returned from a two night stay for a "girlie" break (4 of us).
The accommodation was exactly as described on the website. Lovely, character rooms - clean, comfortable, lovely and warm, attention to detail in the decor and complete with alarm clock and ear plugs! (The only negative comment I could possibly make about this place was the noise from late night revellers - not the fault of our hosts and the price one pays for being in the centre of things). Great breakfast too, with the usual fruit , cereal and a good choice of cooked options.

This was a first visit for two of us and an ideal location for visiting the local sights - Roman baths, pump room, abbey etc. and only a five minute walk to the new Thermae Spa complex (another highlight of our stay). There was a huge choice of places to eat right on the doorstep - Sally Lunn's just around the corner and Tilley's French Restaurant to name but two. The food and service at these two establishments was excellent.

Our landlord and landlady were extremely attentive and gave us good information about exploring Bath and places to eat. We were warned in advance that there was no parking attached to the Guest House. We managed to find space in a public car park nearby and though this was a bit pricey we felt it was worth the extra cost.

Would definitely recommend Three Abbey Green to all our friends and we will be back.

  • Liked — Character, clean, warm, comfortable
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JulieBuckinghamshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 17 April 2008

It's always difficult to know whether you are choosing good accomodations when you travel overseas, but 3 abbey green turned out to be our best choice of the trip. Sue, Nici and Derek were very helpful hosts, their breakfasts were superb, and the rooms were cozy and beautiful.

We loved it! Thanks
From: Oregon, USA

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank JPOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury
1 review
Reviewed 17 April 2008

We were a bit late booking, having suddenly decided we needed a romantic get-away but couldn’t get a room in Three Abbey Green, our favourite guest house, this time but fortunately the owners, Sue and Derek, had just completed a new apartment on the other side of Abbey Green, so we stayed there instead. Wow! It is fantastic. It’s a light and airy one bedroom apartment with lounge, kitchen and bathroom, views of Bath Abbey and adjacent to the Roman Baths. It combines Georgian elegance with contemporary furnishing and we loved it. As you would expect from Sue and Derek, the attention to detail is amazing – everything is top spec and we lacked for nothing. Being in the heart of the city, we had many great restaurants to choose from. We can’t wait to go back.

  • Liked — So modern, clean and luxurious
  • Disliked — Having to leave it again!
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank fidawe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munster
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2008

Spent a weekend here, Location and setting is excellent for traveling around Bath, you couldn't be more centrally located to the main shopping streets and the Abbey. Some fantastic resturants within walking distance. However the beds could be more comfortable as they do need to be replaced, in the room that I had. Breakfast was very good but you need to be up early to avail, they also require an early check out however you baggage will be looked after while you wander around the many small streets for hours. Location, location.

  • Stayed April 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MunsterMunster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
Reviewed 10 April 2008

A lovely small hotel (B&B), right in the historic centre of Roman Bath, yet tucked away in a quiet square. Rooms excellent, well-equipped, and very clean. Staff most helpful, and breakfast first class.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngliaUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whidbey
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2008

Spent 5 days staying at Three Abbey Green and thoroughly enjoyed the entire experience.
Sue, Nici & Derek were all cheerful, helpful and have a really cozy hotel.
The food and service was outstanding. It's very family friendly or just as suitable for couples.
The hotel is centrally located and therefore an ideal place to start your walk around Bath, or to catch the train or start a bus tour.
Most enjoyable start to our tour of England. Would defineatly go back.

  • Liked — location, comfort, friendliness
  • Disliked — lots of stairs
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sign-to-speak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.1 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#1 of 35 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Bath City Centre Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Gainsborough Bath Spa
0.2 mi away
Harington's City Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Abbey Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Abbey Green

Property: Three Abbey Green
Address: 3 Abbey Green, Bath BA1 1NW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Three Abbey Green 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three Abbey Green is a Four Star Gold Award guest house, hidden away in a quiet cobbled square in the heart of central Bath. A stone's throw from the Abbey and Roman Baths, everything you could wish to see is on your doorstep. A leisurely walk to the Royal Crescent and King's Circus takes in an eclectic mix of boutique, independent and big-name shops, street performers and stunning Georgian architecture along the way. And when you get there, don't forget to visit the Assembly Rooms - ladies, no visit would be complete without trying on a corset and crinoline at the Fashion Museum. Whether you're here to relax at the Thermae Bath Spa, take in a little culture at the Theatre Royal, or shout yourself hoarse in support of your team at the Bath Rugby ground, Three Abbey Green is ideally situated for everything Bath has to offer.A Grade 2 listed building, parts of which date back to 1689, the main house has seven rooms (including two large suites ideal for families or groups), each with its own character and unique charm. Period features such as original fireplaces and wood panelled walls fit comfortably with tasteful contemporary furnishings. Greet the morning with an award winning breakfast, packed full of local produce. Don't worry if you have dietary needs - we can meet them all, given a little notice! As part of our commitment to expanding upon the service we currently provide, we are extending our award-winning bed and breakfast, Three Abbey Green, into the beautiful Georgian maisonette next door (which was once Four Abbey Green apartment). We also have a beautiful one bedroom self catering apartment, Abbey View, if you would prefer to cater for yourselves. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Three Abbey Green Hotel Bath
3 Abbey Green

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing