We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very helpful owners”
Review of Three Abbey Green

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Three Abbey Green
Ranked #9 of 157 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
S Wales
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very helpful owners”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed for one night in the Elinor Dashwood room, very comfortable, had everything we needed, generous selection of tea/coffee/hot choc/biscuits available in our room. Separate good size shower room for our use only next to our room with a lockable door so any personal items could be left in there safely. The robes that were provided were really nice especially as the bathroom was separate, although being the only room on the top floor you have that area all to yourself. Both the room and the bathroom were very clean, the bed was really comfy, and the ear plugs provided were useful, although I wasn't disturbed by noise at all overnight and slept really well.
Breakfast was very good and set us up for the day. The owner was very friendly and very helpful, coming out to meet us as we were struggling to find the guest house. He also ordered us a taxi to take us to the restaurant we'd book, if we stayed again we'd eat locally as there are lots of nice places to eat within walking distance.
The only downside (and the owners are very clear about this on their website) finding our way to the car park and negotiating the Bath one way system was a nightmare, made worse by the fact that we arrived in the dark, the signposts are few and far between and at times I felt like giving up and driving home! We persisted though and were very glad we did as we had a lovely stay. We also visited the Bath Spa which was excellent, the guest house owner provided us with a token that allowed us to get 3 hours at the spa for the price of 2 which was great. Overall I was really impressed with the accommodation and the service, all the staff at the guest house were friendly and welcoming, the only reason I haven't given 5/5 is due to the difficulty in getting there, but now I know the way I'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SStrawb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiciJones, Owner at Three Abbey Green, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
I'm so relieved that you persisted in your search despite the difficulty of negotiating the one way system in darkness - well done! It's great to hear that you had a comfortable and enjoyable time here and we'd love to see you again. You'll be old hands at getting around Bath in no time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,067
    100
    16
    1
    0
See reviews for
317
520
41
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

My daughter and I stayed in the Lilliput Court room, which we understand is the smallest room, however it was just perfect - the huge bed is extremely comfortable and the room had everything necessary. The en-suite is roomy, scrupulously clean and the shower is luxury! Friendly, well organised and efficient staff, filling and tasty breakfast (cooked to order) locally sourced products The location is ideal and only a few minutes away from Thermae Spa, Roman Batrhs and Abbey. We parked in the nearby city car park, and only paid £3.30 to park overnight from 6pm Monday to 10:30am Tuesday. We peeked into a couple of the other rooms as we were leaving - and they looked truly sumptuous. I would definitely stay here again when next in Bath.

Room Tip: Lilliput Court is the smallest room, but in my opinion more than adequate for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindiLoo193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiciJones, Owner at Three Abbey Green, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
I'm so pleased that you both enjoyed your stay, thank you for your kind comments. It's surprising how spacious our littlest room actually is - you'll have to try out a different one next time for comparison! We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We are a couple who stayed in the Lord Nelson Suite for a night on a sunday. The room is beautiful. We enjoyed the beautiful 4 poster bed, comfy sofa and chairs, TV, and the amazing fireplace. So very romantic, warm and inviting. Clean bathroom with shower. Perfect location. Walking distance to all shops, restaurants and spas. Great customer service and amazing breakfast. LOVE LOVE LOVE. Will definitely recommend to friends and looking forward to visit again. Thank you!

Room Tip: Lord Nelson Suite is very comfortable and romantic
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kitchymomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiciJones, Owner at Three Abbey Green, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review! It's great to hear from guests who are keen to recommend us to their friends and families. We're glad you found Lord Nelson so comfortable and romantic - you'll have to stay longer next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Won't say too much, just endorse all the good things I read in other reviews. We came by car and it is indeed a mess trying to navigate the downtown area. Best just to park in the nearest parking house (12 pounds for 24 hours) and walk in, it's only a couple of hundred meters. They give instructions on the website. I was extremely impressed by the style, manners, attentiveness and way the proprietors clearly care about their BandB and their guests' experiences. Thanks to their quick thinking we were on a great walking tour within 20 minutes of arriving! That couldn't-be-closer location gives a lovely feel of being in old Bath, too.

Room Tip: we liked our room, the Lord Nelson. looks out over the square. i guess that may mean a bit of nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prattlecette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiciJones, Owner at Three Abbey Green, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and well done for rising to the challenge of driving and parking in Bath! I'm glad we could help - we try to offer the kind of service we would hope to receive on our own holidays and it's just lovely to hear when we succeed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Weekend stay for daughters wedding,great location for the Abbey. Excellent choice of breakfast, owners very helpful and friendly. Stayed in the Elizabeth Bennet room which was a lovely room overlooking a busy square. Would recommend, ideal place to stay for central Bath.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiciJones, Owner at Three Abbey Green, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
I'm so glad you enjoyed your weekend with us, thank you for taking the time to review. We are lucky that our central location makes us the perfect base for special days at the Abbey, Roman Baths or Guildhall; we have played host to many bridal parties and there's nothing quite like that buzz of expectation in the air! Please pass on our regards once again to the happy couple.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We stayed for 1 night in the Lord Nelson room which is on the first floor. We were fortunate to be permitted to book a single night as usually there is a 2 night minimum booking policy at the weekend (we stayed on a Saturday night). I had noticed the single night available on the booking site, and although it would not allow me to book, I sent a message to the owners and received a phone call almost instantly and the booking was made. We arrived by car around 10.30am and found a parking space in the nearby Southgate Car Park, where we left the car until the following morning. It is an underground car park, which is secure, well lit and even plays piped music! It cost us £13 for 24 hours which I thought was a fair price. Once we got our bearings (and a nice friendly local asked if they could help us find where we needed to go when they noticed us looking at a map) we easily found Abbey Green. Sue showed us to the room which is beautiful. She then took me downstairs to the dining area and she checked us in and ran through everything (she is very organised :-)). The location is perfect for seeing the attractions - everything is in walking distance. The bed in the room is enormous and very comfortable. There is a shower but no bath (not a problem for us) and liquid wash (no shampoo or conditioner - again not a problem for us). The breakfast in the morning was freshly cooked (and very well cooked) and the was a choice of fruit, cereals, yoghurt and preserves. Sue even brought us an extra round of toast without us having to ask. If there are any areas to improve what is already arguably a high end guest house, I would suggest face cloths and either larger bath towels or toweling bath robes. However having said that, I would stay here again in a heartbeat - we were sorry we could only stay the one night.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ymbam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiciJones, Owner at Three Abbey Green, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
What a lovely detailed review - thank you! It's great to hear such positive comments and constructive suggestions; we are always keen to excel in the service we offer. We provide face cloths on request and the Gilchrist & Soames shower gel we supply is in fact a 'hair and body wash', so it can do double duty as a shampoo - for future reference! We're glad you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

You couldn't get a better location to explore Bath. We only had one day, so got to see plenty because it was so central. We had the Elinor Dashwood room up in the loft next door in Four Abbey Road. Well worth the climb! Lovely views, clean comfy bed, roomy bathroom with lovely body washes. Great local knowledge and hosts were always on hand. Would love to stay for longer. Maybe next time.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiciJones, Owner at Three Abbey Green, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us - and that you managed to pack plenty into such a brief visit! Elinor Dashwood is a lovely room with bags of charm, so it's good to hear that you weren't deterred by the stairs. We look forward to seeing you again, hopefully for a longer stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.1 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 31 in Bath
1,379 reviews
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.4 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 31 in Bath
1,246 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#23 of 31 in Bath
2,763 reviews
0.3 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Abbey Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Abbey Green

Property: Three Abbey Green
Address: 3 Abbey Green, Bath BA1 1NW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Three Abbey Green 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three Abbey Green is a Four Star Gold Award guest house, hidden away in a quiet cobbled square in the heart of central Bath. A stone's throw from the Abbey and Roman Baths, everything you could wish to see is on your doorstep. A leisurely walk to the Royal Crescent and King's Circus takes in an eclectic mix of boutique, independent and big-name shops, street performers and stunning Georgian architecture along the way. And when you get there, don't forget to visit the Assembly Rooms - ladies, no visit would be complete without trying on a corset and crinoline at the Fashion Museum. Whether you're here to relax at the Thermae Bath Spa, take in a little culture at the Theatre Royal, or shout yourself hoarse in support of your team at the Bath Rugby ground, Three Abbey Green is ideally situated for everything Bath has to offer.A Grade 2 listed building, parts of which date back to 1689, the main house has seven rooms (including two large suites ideal for families or groups), each with its own character and unique charm. Period features such as original fireplaces and wood panelled walls fit comfortably with tasteful contemporary furnishings. Greet the morning with an award winning breakfast, packed full of local produce. Don't worry if you have dietary needs - we can meet them all, given a little notice! As part of our commitment to expanding upon the service we currently provide, we are extending our award-winning bed and breakfast, Three Abbey Green, into the beautiful Georgian maisonette next door (which was once Four Abbey Green apartment). We also have a beautiful one bedroom self catering apartment, Abbey View, if you would prefer to cater for yourselves. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
3 Abbey Green
Three Abbey Green Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing