We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel, lovely people”
Review of Three Abbey Green

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Three Abbey Green
Ranked #9 of 157 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Winkleigh, Devon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel, lovely people”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Great location, very comfortable, and welcoming, would definitely return. Right in the centre of the city, best to park and walk to, had a nice room at the top of the hotel, Breakfast was excellent and the owner and daughter were very welcoming and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiciJones, Owner at Three Abbey Green, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thanks for your review, I'm so pleased you had an enjoyable time. It's a real treat to hear that guests are eager to return and stay with us again - we love making new friends! We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,067
    100
    16
    1
    0
See reviews for
317
520
41
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Braunton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We are two friends that wanted a few days away to catch up on things and do some shopping. I had moved from Maidenhead to North Devon so Bath was a good place for us to meet up both traveling by train. We were given detailed instruction by email of how to get to the Hotel from the station which was only about 4 minute walk away. When we arrived, we were greeted by Sue and given the discount card fob with our key and a leaflet with all the companies that took part in the scheme, together with a map. Sue told us about the Lord Mayor Walk around Bath the next morning which was free and gave us a good idea of the layout of the town. We were in the Sycamore room which was good for us as it was very spacious and we had a great view of the huge tree from our windows. The breakfast was good with either fresh fruit, grapefruit or cornflakes, then a good choice of cooked breakfast and toast. All the staff and owners were very friendly and happy to talk if they had time. I had stayed in Bath a couple of years ago but the hotel I had been in then was up a one in four hill and nearly a mile from the centre of town. Three Abbey Green is so close to Bath Abbey and right in the middle of the town. All in all we had a great time and the only down side was that our suit cases weren't big enough to take everything home that we would have liked to buy.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matchless_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiciJones, Owner at Three Abbey Green, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you for such a friendly and detailed review, it's great to hear that you had such a lovely time. I think it's a sign of a successful holiday when you go home with more in your suitcase than you started with, and Bath is wonderful for that. So many shops, so little time... We'd love to see you again - just remember to bring a bigger bag next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed 4 nights in the Lady Hamilton Room on the first floor. The room and bathroom are very spacious and comfortable. We slept with the windows open just about an inch or two and were not bothered by any outside noise. Breakfast was very good as was the coffee. The location was central and easy walking distance to all attractions.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moonstoneri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiciJones, Owner at Three Abbey Green, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review - we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you weren't troubled by any noise. Four nights is just about long enough to get a good feel for our lovely city and discover some of its hidden treasures; I hope you found it memorable and have enjoyed the rest of your trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Having contended with the drive from London, and struggling navigating through the streets of Bath in the dark we were so happy to receive a lovely warm welcome from Alan on arrival.

We were given a fantastically comprehensive overview of Bath, such as where the main sites and places to eat were as well as the best times to visit and all of this before we were even shown to our room.

Our room was Old Plane Tree, and it really was worth the 3 flights of stairs from the basement to the top of the house! A, what I would call, huge bedroom with a lovely big bed, two very comfortable chairs and more than enough space to swing a rather large cat, I was very happy, and to top it off a spotless clean bathroom.

The breakfasts were delicious (and even offered veggie sausages for my other half) and with a lovely, friendly and personal service from Sue, making breakfast time a true delight - especially after a full English with no washing up to do!

Finally, the location was perfect for anyone wishing to explore Bath on foot, being right by the Abbey and the Roman Baths, it was just ideal.

Would highly recommend staying here to anyone, and will definitely be recommending it to my friends and family. We are already wondering when we might be able to come back as we didn't nearly have enough time in either Bath or this wonderful bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haynesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiciJones, Owner at Three Abbey Green, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
It's wonderful to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you're recommending us to friends and family - thank you for letting us know that we're doing a good job. Part of the magic of Bath is that there's always something more to see; one visit is never enough! We look forward to seeing you when you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Ives, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed at Three Abby green in October for a weekend getaway. We originally only booked for the one night but ended up staying two. We started in The Sycamore Room, which overlooks the beautiful Tree. We found the room warm and cosy ( in the true sense, not the tiny sense). The bed was soft and huge. The sofa was perfect for snuggling on watching the TV. There is a fridge to chill you own drinks in down stairs which is great. The Internet connection was good too. We spent the day at the Thermai Spa and it's not too far to float back from and just relax. Although it is in the centre of town, for a Saturday it was very quiet. The Breakfast the next morning was very very good, only local produce so no orange juice which was the only(but acceptable) disappointment as I can't drink apple juice. The cooked breakfast was hot, a good size and cooked to your order, the mushrooms were the best I think I have had with a breakfast in a hotel! We were given a discount card fob with our key, which I wish we had known about beforehand as we may well have arranged a few things to take advantage on, including discount at the Spa.
The change of rooms for the second night (upgraded to the Asher Suite as there were no more rooms available) went effortlessly, we left our bags by one door and swapped keys to find the bags at the door in the suite. The bed was just as comfy although there were two chairs ( not so snuggly). The bathroom was huge, (there were two other beds which we didn't need but they were a double in the other room, which you enter in and walk through to get to the bathroom, so not too private, and another single in the main room). We ate at the Morrocan restaurant around the corner recommended by our hosts(do book) which was spectacular. Again the breakfast was fantastic.
Our hosts were very welcoming, cheerful and informative. I do hope we can go back again, as this is probably the best hotel in and around Bath we have stayed in.

Room Tip: Book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PurpleSheep13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiciJones, Owner at Three Abbey Green, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a detailed review. It's great to hear the story of your visit, with so many positive comments too! We'd love to welcome you back to stay with us again - if you remind us about the orange juice when you book, we'll happily get some in for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2013

A friend and I stayed for Halloween night! Sue was so wonderful and friendly. The Elizabeth Bennett room we stayed in was very comfortable and cosy.

The breakfast was cooked to order and tasty. I would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidaybutterfly965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiciJones, Owner at Three Abbey Green, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
It's great to hear that you enjoyed your short stay with us on Hallowe'en - I trust you were not disturbed by any spooky things going bump in the night! Thank you for taking the time to review and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Everything about this guest house/hotel is great. The owner was friendly and very helpful in booking us a table for dinner, answering questions of all sorts, and making recommendations for our 2 days in Bath. Our room was beautifully furnished and comfortable; the bathroom was modern, and both were immaculate. Breakfast included many choices, all locally sourced and delicious. Lastly, the location, steps from the Abbey, the Roman Baths, tourist information, and lots of cafes, restaurants and shops could not have been better.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiciJones, Owner at Three Abbey Green, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, thank you for your kind remarks. We know we are very lucky to have such a great central location - there's really no excuse not to get out there and explore everything that Bath has to offer! I'm glad we were able to help you make the most of your time here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.1 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 31 in Bath
1,380 reviews
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.4 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 31 in Bath
1,246 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#23 of 31 in Bath
2,763 reviews
0.3 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Abbey Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Abbey Green

Property: Three Abbey Green
Address: 3 Abbey Green, Bath BA1 1NW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Three Abbey Green 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three Abbey Green is a Four Star Gold Award guest house, hidden away in a quiet cobbled square in the heart of central Bath. A stone's throw from the Abbey and Roman Baths, everything you could wish to see is on your doorstep. A leisurely walk to the Royal Crescent and King's Circus takes in an eclectic mix of boutique, independent and big-name shops, street performers and stunning Georgian architecture along the way. And when you get there, don't forget to visit the Assembly Rooms - ladies, no visit would be complete without trying on a corset and crinoline at the Fashion Museum. Whether you're here to relax at the Thermae Bath Spa, take in a little culture at the Theatre Royal, or shout yourself hoarse in support of your team at the Bath Rugby ground, Three Abbey Green is ideally situated for everything Bath has to offer.A Grade 2 listed building, parts of which date back to 1689, the main house has seven rooms (including two large suites ideal for families or groups), each with its own character and unique charm. Period features such as original fireplaces and wood panelled walls fit comfortably with tasteful contemporary furnishings. Greet the morning with an award winning breakfast, packed full of local produce. Don't worry if you have dietary needs - we can meet them all, given a little notice! As part of our commitment to expanding upon the service we currently provide, we are extending our award-winning bed and breakfast, Three Abbey Green, into the beautiful Georgian maisonette next door (which was once Four Abbey Green apartment). We also have a beautiful one bedroom self catering apartment, Abbey View, if you would prefer to cater for yourselves. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
3 Abbey Green
Three Abbey Green Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing