We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem in the heart of Bath” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Three Abbey Green

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Three Abbey Green
Ranked #9 of 192 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A gem in the heart of Bath”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

Its rare to find somewhere that exceeds expectations nowadays. This small, slightly eclectic B&B (a moniker that does it some injustice) is a real find. The main house (and the second property) are on a quiet square, 200 mtrs from the Abbey. We went for the Christmas Market and were so pleased to find that some of the stalls occupied the square itself!. The rooms are large and very comfortable. Some late night noise from passers by but nothing that you don't always get in a UK town centre at weekends and less than most. The hosting skills of the owners are excellent and the second 'B' of breakfast is an ordering delight (especially if gluten-free) - all cooked to order and a good range of choice. Overall excellent as a base for a lovely town visit.

Room Tip: Go online and choose..We had top floor in the main building (Old Plane). First floor also looked exc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiciJones, Owner at Three Abbey Green, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Many thanks for your lovely review! It's great to hear that breakfast hit the spot for you and that you were pleased with our gluten-free menu options. We feel that no-one should have to miss out on a tasty breakfast, whatever their dietary needs; I'm glad we succeeded for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,029
    99
    15
    1
    0
See reviews for
305
498
39
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

We enjoyed one night at this very pleasant and beautifully decorated bed and breakfast. The landlady was very attentive and made us feel most welcome, providing plenty of helpful information and ideas for the best places to visit and dine, whilst being sympathetic to taste and budget. The location is unbeatable if you plan to launch out into central Bath. The cooked breakfast was hearty and delicious - something that too often can be underwhelming at B&Bs, this cooked breakfast was not! Very happy to recommend.

Room Tip: we were on the second floor which elevated you from the passing footfall of the square, so perhaps m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiciJones, Owner at Three Abbey Green, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Thank you for your kind words, I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We love to give an insider's view of Bath and it is a pleasure for us to be able to guide our guests towards the best that Bath has to offer, whether it be food, drink or entertainment. We hope you will return and stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kintbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

We have just spent 2 nights at Three Abbey Green to visit the Christmas Markets. It was our second stay this year and was equally as good as the first. Our room was lovely with plenty of room for two adults and a child, a lovely view over the markets stalls outside and immaculately clean. Breakfast on both days was excellent, and Sue and her family are great hosts. The location is perfect, right in the centre of Bath, and I really wouldn't bother to look for anywhere else when staying in Bath.

My tip re the Christmas markets is to avoid Saturdays if you can.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiciJones, Owner at Three Abbey Green, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you for your lovely review; I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. We're very lucky to be right in the thick of things; though your tip is a very sensible one: Bath can be quite crowded on any given Saturday, so it's even more exciting at Christmas Market time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

Our fifth year of staying at Three Abbey Green. The hospitality has always been fantastic. Rooms are always spotless & breakfast made fresh with plenty extra if you want it. They even have a wine fridge! Booked again for next year. Can't wait. Thank you Sue, Nici & Allen for always giving us such a warm welcome. See you in 2014.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anwen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiciJones, Owner at Three Abbey Green, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
It's always a pleasure! There's nothing quite like welcoming back lovely guests who return to us year on year - like catching up with old friends! We look forward to seeing you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

We stayed here two nights in late November. The location is superb and it was an easy walk (with luggage) from the Manvers carpark (once we found the carpark!). The Christmas market was just beginning and the area outside the B&B and all around the nearby abbey was filled with booths with crafts and holiday cheer. All the important Bath sites are in easy walking distance from the B&B. Our room (Lady Hamilton) was spacious and comfortable, and Nici & Allen are such welcoming and friendly hosts. They are so earnest in wanting guests to be comfortable & satisfied, and clearly love what they do! We'll be back, and have already recommended 3 Abbey Green to friends.

Room Tip: Lady Hamilton is on the ground floor which made for very easy access, and although facing the green...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jpbellack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiciJones, Owner at Three Abbey Green, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us; thank you for taking the time to review. The Christmas Market really is a wonderful festive experience, just the thing to get you into the holiday spirit! It's great to hear that you're recommending us to your friends - we look forward to meeting them too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

This B&B is located at a very convenient place. Two minutes walking to a sight seeing bus departing point and Roman Bath.
Because of the size of the B&B , 8 rooms, you could not expect typical service proviced by a smaller B&B. Sue , owner, is very effficent on reservation of a room and restaurant.
Breakfast is nothig special. A dining room is large and it is like a Company's lunch room.
I chose this B&B for location. In that sense, this met my expectation.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George32655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiciJones, Owner at Three Abbey Green, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are always grateful for honest feedback. As owners we all enjoy being directly involved in every aspect of the day to day running of our nine-room guest house. As you would expect from a family operated bed and breakfast, providing a positive experience for our guests is very important to us.

We are disappointed that you felt breakfast was nothing special. We cook freshly to order with as much local produce as possible and are happy to accommodate special requests and dietary requirements. We have recently been granted the Visit England Breakfast Award for the third year in a row and are proud of this achievement; however we are always keen to improve! How could we have made your breakfast better?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Kennedy, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

This hotel is centrally located in Bath, parking is an issue (of which they explain about in the paperwork) and trying to find the place was difficult aside from that it is a great place to stay. Our room (Sycamore) located at the front of the house, overlooked the 200 year old tree in the courtyard. Room big and comfortable, ensuite huge. Even though we were facing courtyard the noise from below is not an issue. Breakfast great everything you required was there, all locally sourced.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LKB1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiciJones, Owner at Three Abbey Green, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you for your review; it's good to hear that you had such a peaceful and enjoyable stay with us. It can be a challenge to drive and park in Bath - we recommend guests travel by train for just that reason, since we're less than five minutes' walk from the station. I hope your time at Three Abbey Green was its own reward for the difficulty of finding your way to us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.0 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 34 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,310 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Bath City Centre Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Gainsborough Bath Spa
0.2 mi away
Harington's City Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Abbey Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Abbey Green

Property: Three Abbey Green
Address: 3 Abbey Green, Bath BA1 1NW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Three Abbey Green 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three Abbey Green is a Four Star Gold Award guest house, hidden away in a quiet cobbled square in the heart of central Bath. A stone's throw from the Abbey and Roman Baths, everything you could wish to see is on your doorstep. A leisurely walk to the Royal Crescent and King's Circus takes in an eclectic mix of boutique, independent and big-name shops, street performers and stunning Georgian architecture along the way. And when you get there, don't forget to visit the Assembly Rooms - ladies, no visit would be complete without trying on a corset and crinoline at the Fashion Museum. Whether you're here to relax at the Thermae Bath Spa, take in a little culture at the Theatre Royal, or shout yourself hoarse in support of your team at the Bath Rugby ground, Three Abbey Green is ideally situated for everything Bath has to offer.A Grade 2 listed building, parts of which date back to 1689, the main house has seven rooms (including two large suites ideal for families or groups), each with its own character and unique charm. Period features such as original fireplaces and wood panelled walls fit comfortably with tasteful contemporary furnishings. Greet the morning with an award winning breakfast, packed full of local produce. Don't worry if you have dietary needs - we can meet them all, given a little notice! As part of our commitment to expanding upon the service we currently provide, we are extending our award-winning bed and breakfast, Three Abbey Green, into the beautiful Georgian maisonette next door (which was once Four Abbey Green apartment). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Three Abbey Green Hotel Bath
3 Abbey Green

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing