We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B”
Review of Three Abbey Green

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Three Abbey Green
Ranked #9 of 157 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We stayed from Sun 26th Jan through until the Tuesday morning, birthday and Xmas presents combined from the kids. We had a great time, Sue, Nici and Derek plus all of their staff made us very welcome. The room Old Plane Tree was very nice and very neat and tidy. At the front of the building so we did hear the odd bit of early delivery traffic as mentioned below, but the breakfast more than made up for it. Freshly cooked and local produce where possible. All of the advice in the booking information is spot on, we parked in the Southgate car park which is a 5 min walk to the B&B. Cost was about £12 per night which is not bad for secure parking in a city. The B&B is very well located for the Abbey and both baths. We had a relaxing afternoon in the Thermae spa followed by dinner and then a couple of drinks on the way back to the B&B. Found plenty to do in Bath including the walking tour which was free, as the guides are volunteers who are very passionate about their city. We saw more of the city and learnt more of its history in these 2 hours than we would of on our own in a whole day. Plenty of good places to eat including Sotto Sotto, would recommend booking in advance for this as its very popular.
Barry and Sue

Room Tip: All rooms looked to be of the same standard, very good.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Baz_SueAyleshamkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiciJones, Owner at Three Abbey Green, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, it sounds like you had a very relaxing time. We aim to give the most helpful advice and information we can, to be sure you get to see the best bits of Bath - without running yourselves ragged! Thanks for taking the time to write your lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,205)
There are newer reviews for Three Abbey Green
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

493 - 499 of 1,205 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2014

A great place to stay, very clean and well presented. The owners were attentive, staff were friendly, nothing seemed to be too much trouble and the breakfasts were very tasty. My only criticism was the bed in the 'Sycamore' was a bit firm although a good size, pillows were rather small and the towels in the bathroom were again quite small and perhaps not to the quality we’d expected.

A point beyond the control of the owners was the early Monday morning deliveries to the surrounding premises. At about half 5 the local cake shop (I assume) received a delivery and you could hear the plastic pallets being dragged across the cobbles, after the van delivering had reversed with its beeping warning alarm. After which the pub opposite took delivery of numerous metal barrels of beer, clanking from the lorry and then rolled to the pub. Finally, the weekly bottle bank collection from a nearby pub or restaurant was the finale to the early morning pallet, beeping, barrel, bottle bank concerto. I then understood why the room came with earplugs!

Bath is a city that attracts a huge amount of tourists, so it’s no surprise that such early morning noise exists, although it’s shame that no steps have been taken to dampen it’s affect including preserving the originality of the building..

Three Abbey Green is a great place to stay, centrally located, with a wonderful view and my criticism regarding the bed, pillows and towels, is my opinion based on places I’ve stayed before for a similar rate. Would I stay there again, for sure.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mtbkayaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiciJones, Owner at Three Abbey Green, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such an in-depth review. I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us – it’s always lovely to hear that we have done a good job!

We value all feedback from our guests and strive to incorporate suggestions wherever possible. I’m sorry to hear that you were unhappy with the quality of the towels provided; I have made a note of your feedback and we will raise this with the company from whom we hire our linens.

Please accept our apologies for the noise disturbance from early morning deliveries. This is an ongoing issue and we are in discussion with the neighbouring businesses to find a solution. Our central location offers great access to Bath’s many sights and attractions, but with the inevitable downside of noise being a factor. We are always open about this and provide earplugs to mitigate the intrusion as much as possible.

Three Abbey Green is a Grade 2 Listed building; maintaining the integrity of its period features is an abiding concern for us, which is why we do not have secondary glazing or other noise-reducing features typically added to city-centre properties. We feel that to compromise the beautiful Georgian architecture of the house would have a significant impact upon the character and charm that bring so many guests back to stay at Three Abbey Green, again and again. We hope that you will be among that number – we’d love to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We had a great time here. It's perfectly located a block from the Abbey and the Roman Bath, two blocks from the Thermae Bath Spa. The owners are wonderful and friendly and really make you feel at home. Sue provided a great suggestion for dinner and things to do, and she helpfully explained which restaurants would take the "Big Ben" discount card many downtown businesses honor (we probably saved 15-20 pounds just with that card!). The breakfast was delicious. I'd highly recommend!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joshdouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiciJones, Owner at Three Abbey Green, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

We're glad you enjoyed your stay, thank you for taking the time to write a review. We do our best to make Three Abbey Green a 'home away from home' for all our guests, whether you stay for a night, or a week, or even longer - and we're always pleased when new guests tell us we were recommended by friends and family. The best advertising we could ask for!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We've recently come back from a one night stay at three abbey green. The night was booked for my husband's 40th birthday and we weren't disappointed.
Firstly, the location is second to none in my opinion. It's tucked away in a lovely old square amidst an abundance of quirky little shops and tea rooms. Literally round the corner are the old Roman baths and the abbey. There are also some fantastic restaurants within a three minute walk.
We were checked in by Sue, one of the owners, who was very helpful and gave us lots of information on the local area, restaurants, advice etc, but without being overbearing.
We stayed in Lord Nelson which is just lovely with a working fire which we sat in front of with a glass of wine before heading out for the evening.
Breakfast the next day was really tasty and fresh, and the room was stylish and comfortable. The building is just gorgeous but you can see that from the photos.
I would definitely return, and to anyone who is thinking about staying, going ahead, you certainly won't regret it.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beaufief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiciJones, Owner at Three Abbey Green, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Thank you for your kind and detailed review. We love it when guests come to stay with us on special occasions - Bath is a great place to celebrate and Lord Nelson is the perfect room if you want to treat yourself. I'm glad you were able to make the most of your short visit and hope you will return and stay a bit longer next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We very much enjoyed our stay for two nights at Three Abbey Green. We have visited Bath on several occasions over the last 20 years and this was by far the best place we have stayed - the location is ideal to get around the city centre on foot, it is close to everything!
We stayed in the Westwood Suite on the ground floor and it was idea for our small family of three ( parents and teenager). This also saved us money because we usually have to stay in two separate rooms, this is best of both worlds having extra, small, single leading through to immaculate bathroom.
Being on the ground floor it did get a little noisy occasionally but earplugs have thoughtfully been provided! Two out of three in our party did not even notice any noise, but it is worth noting if you are a light sleeper perhaps do not have one of the ground floor rooms.
Excellent breakfasts, homemade jam etc, lots of personal touches, pub opposite ( the very good Crystal Palace) Sally Lunns ( literally) around the corner, as are the Roman baths, we will certainly be back on our next visit to Bath, as soon as we can.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThreeSurrys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiciJones, Owner at Three Abbey Green, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, thank you for taking the time to review. Having a child ourselves we try our best to make families as welcome as possible and help your visit to be a stress-free and cost-effective experience - I'm glad the Westwood Suite hit the mark for you in that regard.

I am sorry to hear that you were disturbed by noise; though I'm thrilled that it hasn't dimmed your desire to return and stay with us again! When you do, you could try the Asher Suite instead - though it is a bit larger (sleeping four guests as standard) it is on the first floor and thus quieter. And if your family is anything like ours, a little extra space is never a bad thing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

The Three Abbey Green Hotel is a beautifully presented classic, Georgian styled Bath city center hotel. Our stay here was faultless with our first floor room overlooking the cobbled square outside. The breakfast was superb. Nothing to say but lovely.

Room Tip: Overlooking the square is beautiful.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcoappraisal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiciJones, Owner at Three Abbey Green, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Thank you for your kind review. Such praise is music to our ears - though it gives us a lot to live up to for your next visit! We strive to make every guest's time here both memorable and relaxing and are glad to hear that we succeeded for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Booking was easy and we had a very enjoyable one night stay. The owners are friendly and helpful, the room lovely and the breakfast scrummy. We will return when we can to this well located and comfortable b&b.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiciJones, Owner at Three Abbey Green, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Thank you for your lovely review, it's great to hear that your visit, however brief, ticked all the boxes. We look forward to welcoming you back to stay a bit longer next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.1 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 31 in Bath
1,416 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 31 in Bath
1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#25 of 31 in Bath
2,851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Abbey Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Abbey Green

Address: 3 Abbey Green, Bath BA1 1NW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: £109 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Three Abbey Green 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three Abbey Green is a Four Star Gold Award guest house, hidden away in a quiet cobbled square in the heart of central Bath. A stone's throw from the Abbey and Roman Baths, everything you could wish to see is on your doorstep. A leisurely walk to the Royal Crescent and King's Circus takes in an eclectic mix of boutique, independent and big-name shops, street performers and stunning Georgian architecture along the way. And when you get there, don't forget to visit the Assembly Rooms - ladies, no visit would be complete without trying on a corset and crinoline at the Fashion Museum. Whether you're here to relax at the Thermae Bath Spa, take in a little culture at the Theatre Royal, or shout yourself hoarse in support of your team at the Bath Rugby ground, Three Abbey Green is ideally situated for everything Bath has to offer.A Grade 2 listed building, parts of which date back to 1689, the main house has seven rooms (including two large suites ideal for families or groups), each with its own character and unique charm. Period features such as original fireplaces and wood panelled walls fit comfortably with tasteful contemporary furnishings. Greet the morning with an award winning breakfast, packed full of local produce. Don't worry if you have dietary needs - we can meet them all, given a little notice! As part of our commitment to expanding upon the service we currently provide, we are extending our award-winning bed and breakfast, Three Abbey Green, into the beautiful Georgian maisonette next door (which was once Four Abbey Green apartment). We also have a beautiful one bedroom self catering apartment, Abbey View, if you would prefer to cater for yourselves. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
3 Abbey Green
Three Abbey Green Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing