We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The B&B to stay at!”
Review of Three Abbey Green

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Three Abbey Green
Ranked #8 of 154 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“The B&B to stay at!”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This is an amazing place to stay in Bath. Everything from the spacious room to the unbeatable location. From the moment you walk in the door, you are welcomed like family. The owners did an exceptional job at making you feel at home and were helpful with recommendations to restaurants, "local" activities, and information on Bath and the surrounding area. Everything was perfect from the breakfast, to the rooms, which were very clean, tidy, and beautiful! Overall, they delivered in every way and I would recommend this location to anyone! We absolutely loved our stay!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiciJones, Owner at Three Abbey Green, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Thanks for leaving such a lovely review, It's wonderful to know that you enjoyed your time here. Many of our guests come to us a via recommendations from friends and family; thanks for carrying on the tradition!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,058
    99
    15
    1
    0
See reviews for
312
518
40
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Croydon, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Just wanted to say Thanks you! We had a beautiful stay with you as part of our 9 week trip around Europe and the UK. Everything was just perfect and we could not have wanted for anything more. If we inquired about something it was promptly sorted or answered. Rooms were just beautiful and clean.

Thanks you

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiciJones, Owner at Three Abbey Green, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
You are most welcome, thank you for taking the time to review! We do our very best to take care of all the little details, leaving our guests free to enjoy all the sights and sounds of beautiful Bath. Our aim is to provide the level of service we'd like to see on our own holidays and I'm glad to hear we succeeded for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennewick, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

The B&B was charming and relaxing. It was a good fit for us to get over some jet lag and see some easy to walk to sites. Great central location. Only one draw back was there was some noise in the night when people were walking home from the pubs. Comfortable, great bathrooms. The proprietor, Allan, was friendly and helpful. We loved our stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HMJCEJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiciJones, Owner at Three Abbey Green, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Jet lag can be a real pain so it's important to be gentle with yourself at the beginning of a trip. I'm sorry to hear that you were disturbed by outside noise - we're aware this can be an occasional downside to our central location, which is why we provide ear plugs to give you that extra layer of insulation from the outside world. Thanks for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I planned an overnight for myself and my parents to Bath during our trip to London and wanted to make sure they had a really lovely experience full of charm and elegance. Three Abbey Green delivered in every way. The location is excellent- an easy ten minute walk from the train station and a stones throw away from the Abbey and the Roman Baths, but since it is tucked away in a little green, it felt private and was calm and quiet. We were within easy walking distance to everything you'd want to see and many great restaurants, so in terms of location, it can't be beat. My parents stayed in The Lord Nelson room in the main building - classy, spacious, and very comfortable. I chose the Elinor Dashwood room in the adjacent building The Jane Austen wing) and it was utterly charming with everything you need. Both rooms overlooked the green. Sue and the entire staff are welcoming, full of recommendations and useful tips for local family-owned places to eat, and make coming and going quite easy. Our breakfast the next morning was soooo good. We each had the full English breakfast, and it was done perfectly- all the food is either homemade (including the marmalade and rhubarb jam! And the hand pressed apple juice!) and the ingredients are locally sourced with care and attention. Our only regret, truly, was that we couldn't stay longer. It was clear many others there were repeat customers, and I would absolutely stay there again if I can get back to Bath. I also appreciated that there were rates for single occupancy, which is not always the case. All in all, this fulfilled all our needs and expectations and then some!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snashtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiciJones, Owner at Three Abbey Green, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
It's lovely to hear that you and your parents enjoyed your stay with us; thank you for taking the time to review. We try to be as flexible as possible when it comes to accommodating families and groups, whether sharing a large room like the Asher Suite or taking the multiple-room option as you did - everyone's preferences and requirements are different. It's great to hear that you're keen to come and stay again - we look forward to it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We just returned from a trip to England and had the pleasant experience of staying at Three Abbey Green in Bath! We couldn't have picked a nicer place to stay! The proprietress, Sue, was beyond friendly and helpful, the room was large, cozy and clean, the location was superb, and the breakfast that was included was large, fresh and yummy! We highly recommend this hotel and once there, Sue will set you up with reservations for restaurants, discounts to attractions and she'll make you feel so welcome! A tip if you plan to go to Stonehenge and if you are comfortable driving on the opposite side of the road, make reservations to visit the "inner circle" of Stonehenge...it's well worth it for an inside view of this incredible wonder!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patty0625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiciJones, Owner at Three Abbey Green, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Thank you for your review, it's so lovely to hear that you had such fun. We're always happy to look after our guests in whatever way we can and we like to make sure you are well fed and well informed! I'm glad you enjoyed visiting Stonehenge - what a great tip for a truly unique experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

This is a truly wonderful establishment. Management are friendly and could not be more helpful. Even the booking process was easy and pleasant.

We arrived on the Saturday to be greeted by Sue, our host for the weekend. She took the time to give us some handy tips for visiting Bath. Her restaurant recommendations were spot on and she generally made our stay comfortable and enjoyable.

We spent our first night in the Lady Hamilton room. It was on the ground floor making access very very easy. Some may have been put off by people going past the front windows but I doubt anyone can see in and I felt this added to the ambience of the room, being able to see the green outside. The room itself was comfortable, bed large and roomy. This is a nice room.

Our second night was spent in The Lord Nelson room. Wow wee. Loved the room with its four poster bed. A seating area was perfect for the England v Wales match. You can still view the green outside from this room which is nice if you like people watching.

Both rooms were extremely clean and tidy. All amenities and whilst the decor is grand, it certainly does not feel starchy at all. Loved it.

Breakfast each morning is downstairs. Each morning we had a full English breakfast consisting of locally sourced products. Each breakfast is individually cooked so no food is kept hanging around. So fresh and delicious. Croissants served hot and tasted buttery. Yum. We were treated to a good fill each morning.

Location is spot on. Being pregnant, I was not able to walk far and you are quite literally placed in the heart of Bath. Everywhere is within easy peasy walking distance. The Abbey, the Roman Baths and the Thermae Baths are not much more than a stones throw away. Good restaurants and tea rooms litter neighbouring streets. No need for taxis or cars at all.

Parking is a pain but we found cheap parking with parkourcaratourhouse.com. Thirteen pounds for three days parking. Result. And the parking was only ten minutes from the B&B.

All in all, our trip to Bath was beautifully complimented by our stay here. I could not recommend Sue's establishment enough.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Happyinrome888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiciJones, Owner at Three Abbey Green, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
It's wonderful to hear that you had such a good time, thank you for writing such a detailed review! We're always happy when guests are able to stay for more than one night; Bath has so much to offer, you really need time to take it all in. I'm glad to hear that moving rooms part way through your stay wasn't a problem - it's a great way to try out the different rooms!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful time on our midweek break at Three Abbey Green. The staff were friendly, helpful, and attentive; the breakfast was lovely; and the location is ideal for anyone wanting to explore the city centre. There are plenty of attractions and restaurants nearby, which allowed us to experience a lot of the city even though we only stayed two nights.

The room we had (sycamore) was gorgeous and we got it for a great price through the trip advisor offer. We would definitely stay again if we were back in the area!

Thanks Nicky and everyone else who made our stay so enjoyable :-)

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CatBells89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiciJones, Owner at Three Abbey Green, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thanks for your lovely review! It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I'm glad you made the most of our Winter Warmer offer - there's nothing like a bargain to brighten up your holiday, is there!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.1 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 34 in Bath
1,367 reviews
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.4 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
0.5 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 34 in Bath
1,344 reviews
0.3 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Abbey Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Abbey Green

Property: Three Abbey Green
Address: 3 Abbey Green, Bath BA1 1NW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Three Abbey Green 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three Abbey Green is a Four Star Gold Award guest house, hidden away in a quiet cobbled square in the heart of central Bath. A stone's throw from the Abbey and Roman Baths, everything you could wish to see is on your doorstep. A leisurely walk to the Royal Crescent and King's Circus takes in an eclectic mix of boutique, independent and big-name shops, street performers and stunning Georgian architecture along the way. And when you get there, don't forget to visit the Assembly Rooms - ladies, no visit would be complete without trying on a corset and crinoline at the Fashion Museum. Whether you're here to relax at the Thermae Bath Spa, take in a little culture at the Theatre Royal, or shout yourself hoarse in support of your team at the Bath Rugby ground, Three Abbey Green is ideally situated for everything Bath has to offer.A Grade 2 listed building, parts of which date back to 1689, the main house has seven rooms (including two large suites ideal for families or groups), each with its own character and unique charm. Period features such as original fireplaces and wood panelled walls fit comfortably with tasteful contemporary furnishings. Greet the morning with an award winning breakfast, packed full of local produce. Don't worry if you have dietary needs - we can meet them all, given a little notice! As part of our commitment to expanding upon the service we currently provide, we are extending our award-winning bed and breakfast, Three Abbey Green, into the beautiful Georgian maisonette next door (which was once Four Abbey Green apartment). We also have a beautiful one bedroom self catering apartment, Abbey View, if you would prefer to cater for yourselves. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Three Abbey Green Hotel Bath
3 Abbey Green

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing