We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“comfortable perch in Bath”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Three Abbey Green

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Three Abbey Green
Ranked #8 of 160 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
western new york
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“comfortable perch in Bath”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Three Abbey Green offers warm hospitality and a wonderful introduction to the many attractions of Bath. The innkeepers go the extra mile to provide information and genuine care for the stream of travelers coming their way. That personal connection and care contributes immeasureably to the experience of relaxation and pleasure in travel. The elegant decor and cleanliness of the rooms add to the comfort. The location gives access to the best of Bath. We stayed five nights so we could savor the city and have time to find our way around. With the guidance of the hosts we made good use of that time. Do not miss the topnotch vegetarian restaurant just around the corner (one of several excellent choices conveniently closeby.)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calendarmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiciJones, Owner at Three Abbey Green, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. Staying longer allows for a much more relaxed time in Bath, which you evidently had! I shall pass your compliments to Acorn Restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,040
    99
    15
    1
    0
See reviews for
308
504
40
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

This B and B offers superb hospitality and a lovely breakfast including delicious coffee and cooked to order eggs and accompaniments. Our room, Elizabeth Bennett, was bright, clean, comfortable and spacious. The location is wonderful -- close walking distance to everything, and in a beautiful and historic square. There are stairs ( so if that's a problem for you, you would want to let the proprietors know ) and we never did quite figure out how to work all the bathroom lights; and just where to press the flush seemed to change with each attempt. I am sure that if we would have asked for advice with the former, help would have been gladly given. In our wing the bathroom was across the hall. Although I would not choose it, we got used to it and robes are provided so you can get back and forth without embarrassing anyone. My only complaint is that the mattress pad was lined with plastic. We woke up in a puddle of sweat and remade the bed with a blanket between the bottom sheet and the plastic. I think if an establishment is that worried about protecting their mattresses maybe they could provide a breathable layer between the plastic and the sleeper and not subject their unsuspecting guests to the discomfort.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank merilyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiciJones, Owner at Three Abbey Green, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
We are glad that you enjoyed our hospitality and breakfasts but saddened to learn that you had trouble with some of the bathroom fixtures and didn't talk to us about them. You are right - we would have been happy to help with this and more. When booking, all the information regarding the chosen room is clearly displayed including information about which rooms are up stairs and which have private bathrooms. I believe your booking agent made the choice for you - I am sorry it was not what you had expected.I have taken on board your comments about the mattress protector and will be looking into how your bed was set up. We would also have resolved this during your two night stay if you had come to chat to us about it. Please accept our apologies for any discomfort experienced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montpelier, Vermont
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed here for our Honeymoon, and it was the perfect place for a great combination of relaxation and exploring Bath. Although we were familiar with the city, our hosts were still very helpful and extremely knowledgable regarding any questions we had. The breakfasts were abundant and delicious, particularly the sauteed mushrooms! Being in the Jane Austen suite we had a lot of privacy while still being in such a convenient location in the heart of the city. Bath is our home away from home, and we would definitely recommend staying at this B&B for a perfect experience of Bath!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Elinor Dashwood room--third floor of the Jane Austen suite, with excellent privacy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiciJones, Owner at Three Abbey Green, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
We are really pleased you decided to stay with us during your honeymoon and so happy that you both enjoyed yourselves so much. I have to say the sauteed mushrooms are my favourite part of breakfast too, although the home made jam comes a close second!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsingborg, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

The location is superb - just steps away from the Roman Baths but still very tranquil. The building is beautiful, the rooms excellent (I do love a crystal chandelier!) and the breakfast (cooked to order and plenty of choice, including the best gluten free bread I've ever had) superb. I stayed here with my sister and her family (in total 3 adults and 2 children) in the Asher suite and it couldn't have been better. The cleaning was great and the staff very friendly – especially Sue who I really miss as a breakfast companion. If you're going to Bath, you can't chose a better place to stay. Actually, Three Abbey Green is worth going to alone, with or without Bath.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiciJones, Owner at Three Abbey Green, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. We loved looking after your family and it gives us real pleasure ensuring that guests with different dietary requirements get as good a breakfast as everyone else!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed here in Early June 2014. Centrally located to the Roman baths and downtown Bath. Short walk from the train station.. Large well appointed rooms. Breakfast was very good with food cooked to order. Owner and staff very helpful and friendly. Highly recommend this B&B

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackw58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiciJones, Owner at Three Abbey Green, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

My husband and I rented the apartment for a weekend with our two very young children. We were shown to the apartment and they very kindly carried our bags too! The apartment itself is beautiful and in a great location literally next to the abbey square in the heart of bath. As soon as my husband saw it he said he wanted to buy it!! The apartment is well kitted out with all you need to make a comfortable stay. The bedroom is massive...a huge bed and we had plenty of room for two travel cots for our little ones, and still room to spare! The only thing I would say is that it can be quite noisy during the day as there are various musicians that play in the abbey square. There are shutters on the windows which do block out light and noise, but it was such a beautiful sunny weekend we loved the light coming in and actually enjoyed listening to the musicians in the early evening (it's not a negative but just be aware if you want a quiet afternoon, with the windows open it's not going to happen!). Oh, and there are stairs up to the apartment...but I could get a double pushchair through the front door into the communal hallway (which is locked to the public so could comfortably leave pushchair there) and then carry the babies up the stairs...so not necessarily disabled friendly. The family are so friendly and can't do enough to make your stay comfortable, and we are just looking for an excuse to go back again. Would definitely recommend, and actively encourage, anyone to go there!! Thanks for a lovely time.x

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheLanes2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiciJones, Owner at Three Abbey Green, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Wow - we are so happy your family enjoyed your stay in Bath so much. We are glad we were able to help and would love to see you all back in Bath sometime. Being a city centre guest house, there are lots of different noises during the day, particularly in the summer!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okarche, Oklahoma, USA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We chose 3 Abbey Green for its location, but it was absolutely perfect in every way. It's close enough to whatever you might want to do in Bath that you can pop back to your room to rest when the crowds get to be too much, and it's situated in a very pleasant and very quiet little square. There are many nice pubs, restaurants and shops literally within throwing distance. The owners were lovely, with suggestions on what to see (and the best time to go to avoid crowds) and where to eat, or just to have a chat. It was home away from home for us for four days and we loved it. Many thanks, Nici and Alan!

Room Tip: There are no lifts, so be prepared to carry your bags upstairs if you don't get a room on the gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiciJones, Owner at Three Abbey Green, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
We thoroughly enjoyed having you both to stay. Bath has a lot to offer and we love to share our knowledge of the city - and learn some new information from our adventurous guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.1 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 35 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Bath City Centre Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Gainsborough Bath Spa
0.2 mi away
Harington's City Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Abbey Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Abbey Green

Property: Three Abbey Green
Address: 3 Abbey Green, Bath BA1 1NW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 160 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Three Abbey Green 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three Abbey Green is a Four Star Gold Award guest house, hidden away in a quiet cobbled square in the heart of central Bath. A stone's throw from the Abbey and Roman Baths, everything you could wish to see is on your doorstep. A leisurely walk to the Royal Crescent and King's Circus takes in an eclectic mix of boutique, independent and big-name shops, street performers and stunning Georgian architecture along the way. And when you get there, don't forget to visit the Assembly Rooms - ladies, no visit would be complete without trying on a corset and crinoline at the Fashion Museum. Whether you're here to relax at the Thermae Bath Spa, take in a little culture at the Theatre Royal, or shout yourself hoarse in support of your team at the Bath Rugby ground, Three Abbey Green is ideally situated for everything Bath has to offer.A Grade 2 listed building, parts of which date back to 1689, the main house has seven rooms (including two large suites ideal for families or groups), each with its own character and unique charm. Period features such as original fireplaces and wood panelled walls fit comfortably with tasteful contemporary furnishings. Greet the morning with an award winning breakfast, packed full of local produce. Don't worry if you have dietary needs - we can meet them all, given a little notice! As part of our commitment to expanding upon the service we currently provide, we are extending our award-winning bed and breakfast, Three Abbey Green, into the beautiful Georgian maisonette next door (which was once Four Abbey Green apartment). We also have a beautiful one bedroom self catering apartment, Abbey View, if you would prefer to cater for yourselves. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Three Abbey Green Hotel Bath
3 Abbey Green

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing