We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent - warm, informative and comfortable”
Review of High Beeches

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
High Beeches
Ranked #15 of 154 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Excellent - warm, informative and comfortable”
Reviewed 3 July 2012

My wife and I stayed here on a vacation in April and couldn't recommend it more. Ian was the consummate host. He took time to explain the area and recommend things to do and places to go for the best views and most interesting things. In addition, he cooked us delicious traditional English breakfasts all 3 of the mornings that we were there. He said that was unusual for Americans coming through, and that they usually only do that once or twice, but he happily obliged.

The warm, comfortable home is a bit of a walk from the center of Bath, but it's a picturesque walk, and the very clean and reliable busses pick up just down the street if you'd rather ride to town, so there was no problem with any inconvenience. Plus, by being a little way out of town, you are right on the edge of the Cotswolds, which is breathtaking.

All-in-all it was super-great and I would stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    630
    138
    16
    4
    4
See reviews for
127
483
35
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 June 2012

A 10 to 15 min bus ride from the centre of Bath but no problem as the bus stop is 100 yds away.
Our room although on the small side was nicely decorated and warm, breakfasts were well presented and appetizing. The owner was very helpful and a train ride to Bradford on Avon is a must.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MIKEYBULV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veneta, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

After arriving from a 20+ hour flight, Ian welcomed us with warm wishes and sound advice to fight through the jet lag and stay up by walking to a nearby pub for dinner and then an idealic village nearby. The start of great advice which we followed for our 2-day stay. The B&B and the amazing breakfast to order he served us each morning impressed upon us the hospitality of the English. Ian went out of his way to help us whenever we asked and made for a wonderful start of our stay in England. Thanks.

Room Tip: Our family had 2 upstair rooms and both were very quiet and pleasant. Our hosts stressed to respect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CinderFire420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paraparaumu, New Zealand
Level Contributor
391 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Awesome owner, Ian, went out of his way to make our time spent in Bath a great experience.

Room Tip: Room with an amazing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulineTAntrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Accomodation: large room, lovely decorated with comfortable bed and spacious bathroom
Hospitality: Ian and allison gave us a warm welcome and cared for helpful advice and delicious full english breakfast :-)
Location: half an hour walking distance from the city with great viewpoints - to sum it up: we would love to come back

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank rainer81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Located just outside the centre of Bath, the room was really spacious and beautifully decorated. The service during our stay was great, would highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TiffanyjaneDaniels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We had a lovely stay at High Beeches. Alison and Ian made us feel very welcome. It is within easy access of Bath either by bus or on foot.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pfleach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
1.9 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 34 in Bath
1,367 reviews
2.0 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,239 reviews
3.4 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
2.1 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#23 of 34 in Bath
2,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Beeches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Beeches

Property: High Beeches
Address: 156 Midford Road | Combe Down, Bath BA2 5SE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — High Beeches 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High Beeches offers: ETC Quality in Tourism Four Star Guest Accommodation Genuine hospitality in a great location Three extremely well equipped Triple/ double/single rooms with super king/twin and king size beds all with en-suite shower rooms Deliciously cooked traditional English breakfast or continental if prefered Private off-street parking and garaging (if available) Courtesy pick up/drop off from Railway & Bus station (Please arrange in advance) Free Internet access via Wi-Fi for guests with their own computers or access via High Beeches PC High Beeches is situated on the Southern edge of Bath surrounded by glorious countryside, in an area of outstanding natural beauty but only a short distance from the centre of Bath with the rolling countryside and village of Southstoke behind us. We are located between the main campuses of the University of Bath and Bath Spa University with the MOD Foxhill offices, Bath Clinic, Wessex Water, Prior Park and Monkton Combe School all very close. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your High Beeches reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Beeches Bed And Breakfast
High Beeches Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing