We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful customer service”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of High Beeches

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
High Beeches
Ranked #15 of 160 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awful customer service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Ali and Ian were rude to my son on the phone and we were made to feel like naughty school children on our arrival as Ian had missed our lovely email confirming our arrival time. We paid £110 for a twin room and were given a double with a kiddies bed so I ended up sleeping on a kiddies bed because Ian and Alison could not be bothered to separate the divan and give us separate bedding. On requesting an early breakfast we were made to feel as we were imposing on Ian and Alison.
I've stayed in a lot of B & B's and found these hosts 'odd' and I feel they need a crash course in customer service.
Claire James 6/7/14

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Claire61cake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fitzgibbon156, Owner at High Beeches, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
This review has stunned us as we did everything possible to make the stay comfortable helping with directions into Bath, doing a special early cooked breakfast at 7.15, leaving a key out with clear instructions on how to get in etc should we not be back by 4pm.The guests actually arrived at 5.30pm .
Ali was not rude to anybody, she merely answered the phone on our way to Winchester and advised that we were not open until 4pm as per our confirmation so a 2 - 3pm entry as you requested was not possible as the housekeeper would not have finished. This guest was shown the bed configuration on arrival and although was not made up as a twin, there was a super kingsize bed for the 6ft 6ins tall son and a made up Ikea full single size daybed for the lady who said it would all be absolutely fine for her . How strange to have been able to chat in a extremely friendly fashion and then leave thanking us for the stay but hit us with these comments. As far as we are concerned all our other lovely guests find our customer service very good as is shown in their reviews. By the way, Alison did not meet these guests at all as Ian dealt with them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    624
    138
    15
    4
    4
See reviews for
125
479
35
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fleet, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Ali & Ian came across as a very warming couple, they have a great b&b,the house is very clean to a high standard,our room was perfect, big bed, ( very comfortable) coffee and tea facilities,shower,toilet etc,breakfast was cooked to a good standard :-)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank essenza1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

What a beautiful house. We enjoyed our stay at this lovely B&B, the room was lovely as was the diningroom. The breakfast was delicious with plenty of selection. The bus to bath was close at hand and the local pub was lovely.

Room Tip: We found the water pump a little noise in our room and were not warned of this beforehand which let...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyne and Wear, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed for one night only as we were en route elsewhere but would have been very happy to have stayed longer.
We were made very welcome by our friendly and helpful hosts, Ian and Alison, and settled in to what is a very comfortable B & B. Our room was nicely furnished with excellent views over the valley and, although the road to the front of the house was reasonably busy during the day, it was very quiet at night.
We enjoyed a nice breakfast and, in particular, liked the communal breakfast table, where we enjoyed the company of fellow guests.
A couple of (very minor) niggles - the toilet flush is a bit noisy (electric pump) and the short access road to the parking at the rear of the house is unadopted and thus a bit "pot-holey". Neither of these things were of such importance as to deter us from returning in the future.
We had a really good stay and say "Thank You" to Ian and Alison for looking after us.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lets-do-it-again
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed just one night at High Beeches but would certainly recommend this lovely B&B to friends and family. Our room was lovely, beautifully furnished and had everything we needed to make our stay enjoyable. Breakfast was delicious, thank you Ali and Ian.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

A beautiful place to stay and especially for us to visit our roots in an area we used to live.We were made to feel welcome in your home and all our needs were met together with a lovely breakfast each day. The room was comfortable with great views and we enjoyed visiting the local pubs for dinner and a drink.Thank you Ali and Ian for your hospitality. We will certainly recommend you.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank racull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night in Bath at High Beeches and would certainly recommend this lovely b&b to others. The room we stayed in was beautifully furnished and light and airy with lovely high ceilings. The beds were very comfortable and the linen lovely. The shower and bathroom were large with good water flow. There were beautiful views overlooking trees. Just lovely. 5 stars from me.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bendoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
2.0 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
3.4 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
5.4 mi away
The House near Bath
The House near Bath
#1 of 1 in Woolverton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
2.9 mi away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#14 of 160 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Beeches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Beeches

Property: High Beeches
Address: 156 Midford Road | Combe Down, Bath BA2 5SE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 160 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — High Beeches 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High Beeches offers: ETC Quality in Tourism Four Star Guest Accommodation Genuine hospitality in a great location Three extremely well equipped Triple/ double/single rooms with super king/twin and king size beds all with en-suite shower rooms Deliciously cooked traditional English breakfast or continental if prefered Private off-street parking and garaging (if available) Courtesy pick up/drop off from Railway & Bus station (Please arrange in advance) Free Internet access via Wi-Fi for guests with their own computers or access via High Beeches PC High Beeches is situated on the Southern edge of Bath surrounded by glorious countryside, in an area of outstanding natural beauty but only a short distance from the centre of Bath with the rolling countryside and village of Southstoke behind us. We are located between the main campuses of the University of Bath and Bath Spa University with the MOD Foxhill offices, Bath Clinic, Wessex Water, Prior Park and Monkton Combe School all very close. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your High Beeches reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Beeches Bed And Breakfast
High Beeches Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing