We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MAINTAINS HIGH STANDARD SET ON MY FIRST VISIT”
Review of High Beeches

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
High Beeches
Ranked #18 of 159 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2009

Still immaculately run, clean and welcoming. An unusual treat to sit at the communal breakfast table and, as a lone traveller, to have a good conversation. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LombokCarlisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (812)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

678 - 684 of 812 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2009

I stayed at Ian and Ali's homely bed and breakfast for a night and I have absolutely nothing to complain about. The room, breakfast, overall service and not to mention Ian and Ali's warm welcome were all excellent. Not very far from the city centre and the university, the accommodation is in an ideal location. If you are looking for a nice place to stay at a reasonble price then look nowhere else.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djaved
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2009

We spent 4 nights at High Beeches. The room was very large and bright, the bed was great, and the shower is exactly what you want a shower to be (including big enough for two). Ali and Ian provided everything we needed, including a great breakfast and flashlights for evening walks. Definitely take Ali's recommendation to eat at the Packhorse Inn, a 10 minute walk down a country lane. High Beeches is very convenient for visiting Bath, Stonehenge, Avebury, Lacock, and High Combe. We do recommend that you get detailed directions to High Beeches from Mapquest or some other service.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BoulderSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2009

what a lovely b&b! we received a lovely warm welcome from both ali& ian and rufus the dog we felt really at home.nothing was too much trouble, and both ali & ian always found time to chat which was nice ,we were given advice on where to eat etc.high beeches was first class,spotless,we had a lovely room,bed was lovely& comfortable&very warm just a shame i had to get out of it!,but it was worth it for the lovely breakfast.it was nice to drink a decent cup of tea in a lovely china cup.what a beautiful home they have! iwe will definately return to high beeches next year.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2009

Our stay at High Beches in Bath was the first night of our Cornwall vacation. What a way to start! It made it difficult for all the other B&Bs/Guesthouses to come:
Ian and Ali are lovely hosts why will give you a very warm welcome and have always valuable tipps for exploring the area. The rooms are large and very comfy, the house is just beautiful. And if you are looking for a very delicious breakfeast, this is the place to go.
But you definitely need a car, as it is a bit too far from the city centre - we had one, so it was perfectly fine for us!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vren_le
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2009

An absolute pleasure to stay in such a nice clean, well decorated, comfortable and cozy room, with every thing catered for. Fresh milk for tea and coffee on arrival, a nice touch, and a good breakfast to set you up for the day. Really made to feel welcome.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DickieV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2009

First class B&B. We loved our large, beautifully decorated front bedroom and ensuite bathroom with 2 (yes 2) side by side showers. Excellent breakfast and tea, coffee, fresh milk and biscuits in the room, very welcome. Wine glasses provided in the room, another nice touch. Ian couldn't do enough for his guests. Delightful dog added to homely feel. A bit difficult to find, but entirely our fault as we failed to print off the very helpful directions. We mention this so no-one else makes the same mistake.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ariadne01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
2.8 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
2.2 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,336 reviews
2.8 mi away
Aquae Sulis Hotel
Aquae Sulis Hotel
#16 of 159 in Bath
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#14 of 159 in Bath
833 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hawkins of Bath
Hawkins of Bath
#1 of 159 in Bath
556 reviews
3.9 mi away
The George Inn
The George Inn
#1 of 5 in Norton St Philip
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Beeches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Beeches

Address: 156 Midford Road | Combe Down, Bath BA2 5SE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 159 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: £89 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — High Beeches 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High Beeches offers: ETC Quality in Tourism Four Star Guest Accommodation Genuine hospitality in a great location Three extremely well equipped Triple/ double/single rooms with super king/twin and king size beds all with en-suite shower rooms Deliciously cooked traditional English breakfast or continental if prefered Private off-street parking and garaging (if available) Courtesy pick up/drop off from Railway & Bus station (Please arrange in advance) Free Internet access via Wi-Fi for guests with their own computers or access via High Beeches PC High Beeches is situated on the Southern edge of Bath surrounded by glorious countryside, in an area of outstanding natural beauty but only a short distance from the centre of Bath with the rolling countryside and village of Southstoke behind us. We are located between the main campuses of the University of Bath and Bath Spa University with the MOD Foxhill offices, Bath Clinic, Wessex Water, Prior Park and Monkton Combe School all very close. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your High Beeches reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Beeches Hotel Bath
High Beeches Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing