We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very impressed, recommended and will go back” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bath Star Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bath Star Apartments
Ranked #9 of 38 Speciality Lodging in Bath
Newmarket, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very impressed, recommended and will go back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

It's often a lottery when you book accom in a place you don't know - but we lucked in completely this time. Superb apartment in terms of location, layout, comfort, character and cleanliness. The owner was extremely helpful but not interfering or imposing. A delightful place if you like being left alone to do your own thing in a lovely city. Short walk from the main attractions, lovely area and an amazing price for what you get (an entire lower floor of a period town house). It's also the little touches like having fresh milk left in the fridge and fruit in a bowl for when you arrive.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stu R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
70
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

We first stayed at this apartment in February 2011 and enjoyed it so much that we returned again at the beginning of November.The apartment is in the basement of a 4 storey house, its perfectly laid out, with good sized modern living accommodation. Some nice little touches like, fresh flowers, coffee, tea and milk make it feel very welcoming. It has a small pretty outside space to sit and enjoy a drink before you go out to one of the many wonderful local restaurants.We would recommend the circus restaurant which is just a short walk away and Sam's Kitchen is great for lunch. The apartment has lots of information about restaurants/pub etc. The owners live upstairs and Alexandra is so welcoming and helpful. The apartment is in the perfect place for walking to all the attractions Bath has to offer. We would always choose to stay here, it almost feels like home, is brilliant value and so much nicer than an average sized room in a hotel or an expensive suite. Such a wonderful find, we'll definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AliBirchall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

I had an extremely enjoyable stay in Bath, and this apartment was the perfect base for enjoying all the delights of the city. We were delighted to find that the Assembly Rooms, The Circus and the Crescent were just around the corner. The city centre was a very short walk away, and there are plenty of places to eat nearby - too many to try out in just one holiday! The apartment itself is just the right size, clean and modern, with everything you need. So much better than a hotel! We received a very nice welcome from Alexandra, and it was reassuring to know that if we needed any help or advice then someone was nearby who could help. Will definitely be returning!! Sophie

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SurreySophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north east uk
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2010

Great apartment, great location, lovely people. Alex and Andrew were perfect hosts.... from the welcome pack to chatting about pubs and restaurants when we met them in the street on our way out. Apartment has everything you could need for a short or not so short stay and was very comfortable...beats hotels every time. Located close to ...well everything, we had a great time and would not hesitate to recommend this star find...a true delight.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nonandjill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2010

I found this great apartment only after searching for hotels and guesthouses. Unfortunately these all seemed to receive mixed reviews, or advertised as something they are not, and all were heavily priced for what amounted to a long weekend. I am glad I found this apartment and will probably only ever look for a hotel if this isn't available.
Great location, a five minute stroll downhill into the city centre, for all the multitude of restaurants, eateries, cafes,bistros, trendy bars or olde worlde pubs...Bath pretty much caters for every taste.
The owner (who lives upstairs) greeted us promptly at 3pm, had a small weclome pack of fruit, wine and chocolate for us too. Everything you need as a local guide was catered for.
The flat itself is hidden away down some steps from the pavement (it is the cellar to a 4 storey Georgian townhouse) but inside it is modern, very clean and deceptively spacious, a perfect weekend hideaway. For the price we paid, it is like having your own hotel suite for a fraction of the price.
Car parking could be tricky-we arrived early on a friday afternoon, found on-street parking opposite-our car never moved all weekend! You can ask for a parking permit, for £5 a day extra-a bargain considering a half hour pay/display charge is £1.30!!
The Circus and Royal Crescent is a five minute walk away, through immaculate Georgian period townhouses, although I have to say I was less impressed with the Crescent.
Bath itself is very clean, tidy, busy with pedestrians but not traffic. Plenty of bars, eateries and attractions. We had the champagne tea package at the Pump Room, £22 per head but worth it for the experience. You have to queue on a weekend-no bookings are taken, be warned, they turn people away well before the advertised closing time.
The Baths and Abbey are a good tour, inexpensive and interesting. Take a camera! There were boat trips advertised, although we never more than the one boat! Unfortunately I didnt get to see any Rugby-i am a big fan, but if it is your thing, the Bath team play a stones' throw from the Abbey...an enjoyable 80 minutes of sport followed by an imminent pub-crawl!!
Bath is a clean, tidy city. Small enough to walk around, the hop-on open top tour is okay, a little overpriced but then I have done the one in Rome which is 'slightly' better!
We drank at Brown's brasserie, on the tables outside facing the Abbey, also dined at Milsom Place-a square off the streets full of 10 or so restaurants, from sushi bars to Jamie Oliver's own restaurant. We visited the Moon & Sixpence, relatively expensive, but great food, excellent service and popular with couples or older diners.
We also tried No. 5, on Pulteney Street Bridge, a smaller more intimate atmosphere, good food and friendly service.
On our last day we got into the car, visited nearby Farleigh Castle ruins-very inexpensive and only us tow there! Then into Norton St Philip, a small village around 7 miles from Bath. We had a sunday roast dinner at the 13th Centruy Inn called the George, if you want to see a genuine medieval coaching inn, this is it-very historic, worth a photo or two. The food was averagely priced and the food was okay. You can stay here too.
I recommend that if you are staying Bath, get somewhere in the city itself. Bath is in a valley surrounded by many hills, it means a nice downhill walk into town and hardwork out of it if you are not into hiking!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mike1973Lancs_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
146 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2010

We stayed for 3 nights and agree with so much that has been said. Apartment is roomy, very comfortable, clean, modern amenities (2 TVs and we did make use of both on 1 occasion). The information on pubs and restaurant were excellent and a bowl of goodies was a nice touch.
Bath being a small city, most hotels/apartments will be close to the city and this apartment is located close to most attractions but there is a steep climb from the centre back to apartment so you may want to give the dessert a miss!
Alexandra wasn't able to be there when we arrived but within 5 minutes we were inside. Fortunately weather was good but be sure to have the mobile contact no with you and give Alexandra's yours incase of unavoidable delays on either part.
Would definitely recommend to a friend and use again if returning to Bath.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UKSENIOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2010

We stayed at the Bath Star for 2 nights and were not disappointed. The decor was contemporary and charming, appliances were modern and there were lots of little details (fresh fruit, bottle of wine, milk in the fridge).

There was also a lot of info about attractions, restaurant recommendations etc in the apartment welcome kit.

Short walk into town and the all the attractions - great location. Would definitely stay here again.

Tip: If you are arriving from the train station or downtown area with luggage, spend the money for a cab, as the apartment is located up a small hill.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Canuckle007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.1 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Bath City Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.3 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#24 of 34 in Bath
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,633 reviews
0.6 mi away
SACO Bath - St James Parade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bath Star Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bath Star Apartments

Property: Bath Star Apartments
Address: Lansdown Rd 17 Belvedere, Bath BA1 5ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 38 Speciality Lodging in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superb Apartment close to the City Centre of Georgian Bath. Only minutes from the historic Assembly Rooms, the Royal Crescent and the Thermae Bath Spa. Shops, restaurants and history in abundance. Don't miss the music and film festival plus the Christmas Market. Bath Star offers space and comfort with a touch of luxury - perfect for that two day break or weekend away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bath Star Apartments Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing