We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“will be back”
Review of Beckford House

Beckford House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bath
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Beckford House
Ranked #88 of 157 Bath B&B and Inns
Aylesford - Kent
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“will be back”
Reviewed 26 October 2011

I cannot find any negative points for this B&B at all and all in all our stay was superb.
Anthony - the B&B owner - was very friendly and helpful.
Breakfast was excellent (both the fry-up and the continental breakfast with yogurt, cereals and the biggest selection of jams i've ever seen).
The room was lovely. I appreciate that - as mentioned in some other review - some of the decor was a bit tired, but this was also shown in the price of the room!
Location was also convenient. Although not right in the centre, it was a short walk away.
I will definitely book here again on my next trip to Bath!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlesr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    7
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
50
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2011

We've travelled to Europe about 15 times, this being our 8th visit to England alone, so have stayed in dozens and dozens of B&Bs. We'd originally booked this location for 4 nights but left after 2. We relied on all the great Tripadvisor comments when booking this 4 star B&B accommodation. Our room was very large, which we appreciated. As for the rest - HUGE disappointment: Paint peeling in the bathroom, towels unravelling and mishaped, the circa 1970's TV didn't work at all the first night, after being "fixed" I could only get ONE channel, bed rail kept falling off and the worst point of all - at breakfast, all the condiment lids were coated with dust! Pretty disgusting.
On a positive note, the breakfasts themselves were very good. - the negative side is, we were never offered more coffee or toast - Anthony simply disappeared to the kitchen once he put your breakfast plate in front of you and watched our reflection in the glass door to see when we left. Find another place in Bath.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere if you really expect a 4 star spot
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank particular_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

The Beckford was superb for the two nights we stayed in Bath on our three week trip through the UK in June of 2010. Anthony is an absolute peach and I agree with other reviewers on his breakfasts. Made to order and copious quantities. The house is a little difficult to find if you are not familiar with the area so prepare yourself with a street map and exact directions. It is a very peaceful accommodation once you find it.

Room Tip: Don't miss High Tea at the Pump Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kolekona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevenage
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2011

what a wonderful B and B, nothing too much trouble, host very welcoming and informative,a map of the area was supplied so the walk into town made easier.
Bath itself absolutely lovely and the weather was a bonus.
The room was delightful with lovely views enhanced by the binoculars.
If you are going to Bath stay here for the icing on the cake......

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruthieStevenage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2011

Wonderful host lovely b&b. Room was beautifully decorated and great breakfast

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosetinted82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2011

Me and my girlfriend had a lovely stay in this beautiful property. We were made to feel very welcome from start to finish, from the very helpful and friendly host, Anthony, who's extensive knowledge of local pubs and bars went down a treat! His breakfasts get the thumbs up too!
Rooms are a good size and very clean, so would def recommend to others!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank don_ants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2010

We were looking to stay somewhere in Bath for the Christmas Market and would normally have chosen a larger hotel but many were booked up far in advance. We decided to take a chance with Beckford House. Our enquiry re room availability was responded to quickly by Anthony O’Flaherty the proprietor. We duly booked two double rooms and sent off our deposit.
Our trip to Bath was set against a backdrop of snow and ice but we duly arrived on time. Anthony asked that we advise him of our approx arrival time in order that he could meet us upon we arrived at Beckford House.
Our earlier fears of a B&B were quickly dispelled. Beckford’s is more than a B&B. It is a friendly “home from home” where we made to feel immediately welcome. Our rooms on the first floor overlooked the city of Bath that is approximately 20 minutes (easy downhill) walk away.
The rooms were comfortable and clean with central heating, essential for the cold weather we had been experiencing. We slept well as Beckford House is located on a quiet residential road.
Breakfast was freshly cooked to order by Anthony and there was also a good selection of cereals, fruits & yoghurt. There are just too many jams, honeys and preserves available to name here.
Overall our 2 night stay was a pleasure and we would recommend Beckford House for anyone wishing to visit Bath. As mentioned by other reviewers there is a bus close-by although we chose to walk downhill into the city and use a taxi for the journey home (approx £6) as this was cost effective for 4 people.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevan-Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 31 in Bath
1,397 reviews
0.2 mi away
Astor House
Astor House
#68 of 157 in Bath
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Queen Charlotte's Orangery
0.5 mi away
Crescent Guest House
Crescent Guest House
#96 of 157 in Bath
221 reviews
1.9 mi away
Beckfords View Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beckford House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beckford House

Property: Beckford House
Address: 59 Upper Oldfield Park, Bath BA2 3LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Number of rooms: 29

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing