We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food”
Review of The Chequers

The Chequers
Reserve with OpenTable
The Chequers is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #36 of 583 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$30
Cuisines: British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: A landmark dining destination in the historic town of Bath, The Chequers is a beautifully restored gastropub on Rivers Street that has been serving customers since 1776. Offering a slice of local living to visitors from out of town, The Chequers is an elegant escape from the city’s bustling boutiques and is only a short walk from the Circus and the Royal Crescent. Serving a menu of home cooked, local & seasonal food alongside a premium selection of wines, local ciders and real ales, this is a fantastic place to spend an evening over a bottle or two with friends and family. On the menu you’ll find gastropub fare unrivalled in Bath with old pub favourites including their award winning Sunday lunch given a classy makeover. The Chequers restaurant also caters for business meetings and private parties.
Arundel, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing food”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Visited the pub with a group of friends. I was very impressed with the presentation,quality and taste of the food. We shared starters to be able to have more choice - the breads, scallops and squid were fabulous, cooked to perfection and so tasty. The presentation again of the main meal was fantastic. Everybody were really happy with what they ordered commenting how delicious it was . Couldn't try the puddings as no one had any space left in their happy tummies. Wine selection was very good. Staff were attentive,polite and knowledgeable. Thoroughly enjoyable experience :)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Meggy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,042 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    690
    241
    66
    28
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
HORLEY, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Home City”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Living in Bath we rarely eat out here but I have visited here for a drink with a friend. Went with my wife on Sunday and had an overall excellent visit. I had Squid with leaves and I consider myself a bit of an expert on squid having been to Greece many times and eaten it. This was one of the best being very tender and tastly.My wife had Ham hock terrine which she followed with roast pork belly,roast pototos and vegetables,all of which she said was excellent.I had pan fried Bass with additions which included cauliflower fried in breadcrumbs-very different.My wife had Strawberry and Lavinder Eaton Mess for dessert which she thought brilliant.
I had a bottle of German Riesling which was one of the best(I like sweet) I have evr tasted in a restaurant,although it was somewhat pricey.
With attentive but not "hovering" staff we spent an excellent couple of hours here.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robyn C, General Manager at The Chequers, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Hi Foxyman,
Thank you! We are always delighted to hear this kind of feedback. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Sat upstaires where you can see the chiefs preparing the food..... Food was good but felt a little over priced compared to other resturants in the area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Annette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylvania, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Thoroughly enjoyable”
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

We were referred here by the hotel staff...they were very correct in their assessment. Whilst it is a little bit on the pricey side it's worth the investment for a really quality meal...the menu is the way I prefer it...not vast but large enough to make your choice difficult. The wait staff were attentive and keen to assist with your choices. Thoroughly recommended.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Col I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good Bistro”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Took our sons to a pre-graduation meal at the Chequers. The choice from the main menu and specials was quite extensive, however unfortunately two of our preferred mains were already unavailable even though it was only eight o'clock. All the starters were beautifully presented and delicious, three of our mains equally so, with the vegetarian Feta burger a little disappointing. The atmosphere was bustling and fun, all in all a very pleasant meal.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rich W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Chequers also viewed

 

Been to The Chequers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing