We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed Bag.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Jamie's Italian

Jamie's Italian
Ranked #148 of 567 Restaurants in Bath
Price range: US$6 - US$26
Cuisines: Italian, European, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Drinks, After-hours, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: JAMIE'S ITALIAN BATH A partnership between Jamie Oliver and his Italian mentor, chef Gennaro Contaldo, Jamie's Italian has won thousands of fans for its delicious and affordable food since launching their first restaurant in Oxford in May 2008. The Jamie's Italian menu is based on dishes you'd find people eating all over Italy, made with care but delivered without fuss. The family-friendly restaurants are all about serving up rustic, Italian food made using the best possible ingredients, plus fresh pasta that's made on-site every day, and an award-winning children's menu, too. Set in a gorgeous Georgian conversion in Milsom Place, right in the heart of the town, Jamie's Italian Bath is a great spot for midweek lunches, weekend dinners and everything in between. It also has a chic rooftop terrace boasting some amazing views - the ideal spot for al fresco dining on a sunny day. If you're looking to host a private event or a meeting you can also exclusively hire the Georgian room for up to 28 people, or the bright and spacious upstairs area accommodates up to 70 guests.
Level Contributor
101 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Mixed Bag.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Having thoroughly enjoyed Jamie's in Bath on a previous occasion, it was a no-brainer to book a table whilst we were visiting Bath again. Although the greeter was warm & welcoming our waitress certainly was not. We appeared to be an inconvenience to her day. We waited almost 15 mins for our drinks order to be taken. A further 20 mins for our food order. I would love to say that the food was worth waiting for, but my partner's honeycomb cannelloni was lukewarm. However my risotto was steaming hot and tasty. To be fair when the waitress finally made a reappearance and we informed her of the below par food she immediately offered a replacement meal, which we declined as we wanted to eat together. The manager was obliging and a credit to the brand. When we asked for the bill the waitress still failed to engage with us!

Helpful?
Thank PandoraPistis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie's Italian r, Guest Relations Manager at Jamie's Italian, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you very much for your review regarding our restaurant. We are sorry that you didn't receive the service that you should have and would like to discuss with you further your experience. Please could you contact us on reviews@jamiesitalian.com for us to respond to you directly?

We hope to hear from you soon.

Kind regards,

Antonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,573 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    799
    758
    474
    345
    197
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,032 reviews
386 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
“Great food and well explained by the waiter”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

I ordered the Gnudi which was just ricotta dumplings and, whilst very nice, would not have been a meal on their own. The waiter told me this when I ordered as it was unclear and this made me order some chips as well to go with it and I'm glad I did.

Using our Gold Card, he also made sure we got the best value of the monthly treats and tasters so very pleased with our visit.

We turned up at 11.50am but the restaurant opens at 12. They showed us to the bar where we could sit and wait until taken to your table.

Good children's menu as well, and very quirky way of showing the kids what the food is!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Tasteless and uninspiring”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Probably the worst food experience for a long time. Overpriced tasteless food which is nothing like a traditional italian, redeemed only by decent staff. I fear they are fighting a losing battle.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie's Italian r, Guest Relations Manager at Jamie's Italian, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you very much for your review of our restaurant. We are very sorry that you had such a bad experience at our restaurant. We were concerned to read your review and would very much like to discuss this further. If you could take a moment to contact us on reviews@jamiesitalian.com we would be very grateful.

We hope to hear from you soon.

Kind regards,

Antonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewkerne, Somerset
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very pleasant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Popped in for a late lunch with my wife and a couple of friends. Being it was late afternoon there was plenty of room. Chose an outside table with nice views over Bath's interesting rooftops.
We were all pleased with our meals and I must admit mine, salmon etc, was awash with wonderful flavours. Wasn't too enthralled by the desserts though.
The staff were attentive and lovely.
My only negatives were that the floor could have been cleaner and our table had been wiped over but not cleaned.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandy1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
131 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent food and beautiful Roof terrace”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Long. waiting time to get table, But Worth the wait, attentive staff and great nibbles and pasta. Jamies italiano is all over UK, But really good!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank AlmhultGrodan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jamie's Italian also viewed

 

Been to Jamie's Italian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing