We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
B&B Bathwick Gardens
Nearby Hotels
US$150
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Holiday Inn Express Bath(Bath)(Great Value!)
US$210
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$273
US$265
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harington's City Hotel(Bath)(Great Value!)
US$247
US$207
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$362
US$338
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Bath Priory(Bath)
US$328
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$123
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$309
US$299
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$177
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Dukes Hotel(Bath)(Great Value!)
US$217
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (32)
Filter reviews
32 results
Traveller rating
24
6
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
24
6
1
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 32 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2011

My husband and I stayed at Bathwick Gardens at the end of August. As architects we were thrilled with the opportunity to stay in a Regency period town house, to experience the rooms, proportions, and views. Since Persuasion was one of my favorite films, that connection gave added pleasure to my stay. We stayed in Sir Walter's Room, a very large and elegant room with a lovely view over the back garden, the adjacent roofs, and the steeple of the local church beyond. The ensuite bath was very large with an antique commode and a bathtub. Every morning I would wake up and marvel that I was staying in a room that was so large and elegant.
The rest of the house is equally as nice with lovely period decorations. But like so many homes the heart of the house is in the kitchen. We enjoyed breakfast there around the common table with other guests and tasty English or Austrian breakfasts. Julian and Mechthild are warm and generous host with a wealth of knowledge about Bath, architecure, history, interior design, and custom wall paper. An Australian mother and daughter shared our time and we all compared notes on what to see. From them I learned to collect English tea towels as a souvenir. We always got a late start because the time at breakfast was so enjoyable.
It's just a 10 minute walk to downtown Bath, the Abbey, and the baths. It couldn't be more convenient and the neighborhood is lovely.
When we got back to the states, we popped in the DVD of Persuasion and enjoyed seeing our home from home again - although I'll take Julien over Sir Walter any day.
Stay at Bathwick Gardens - you'll enjoy Bath all the more.

Room Tip: Back rooms overlook the gardens and the adjacent church steeple.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KBSilverSpring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We were unexpectedly placed at Sir Walter Elliot when another property that we booked at had a burst pipe that made our room unavailable. The Villa Magdala was gracious enough to book us at an "equivalent" property.

We arrived at the Sir Walter Elliot and we were surprized to see the dining room table heaped with laundry, more laundry bags in the dingy hall and a smell of damp. We were given a choice of rooms (basement or upstairs).

The basement had a sitting room furnished with garage sale decor in a unique historic room used by the servants back in the day. The bedrooms were in desparate need of upgrading and updating. The bathrooms had vinal flooring and cheap fixtures and very little in the way of commonly expected toiletries.

We chose the room upstairs because the basement rooms were so unappealing. The upstairs bedroom was brighter but the towels were worn and mismatched, our daughters bed (in the triple room was) little more than and extra mattress on the floor. The bathroom upstairs was no better than the one in the basement.

You are keenly aware that you are staying in someone's home by the laundry on the dining room table, bottle of cough syrup on the bookcase and general state of disarray in the kitchen.

The property was used as a setting in the Jane Austin production of Persuasion and being a huge Jane Austen fan. I really wanted to like this property! The proprietor was friendly and welcoming but the property was so shabby and not at all eqivaltent to the property we originally booked that I had to call the Villa Magdala back and explain that the accomdations were in so run down that they made other accomdations for us.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank tropicaltrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

elegant regency townhouse built in 1809, used in BBC movie "Persuasion". Like living in 19th century with 2lst century advantages. 10 mins walk to town, free parking, opposite lovely park and museum. Huge rooms, modern updated bathrooms and comfortable beds. Hosts were charming and very helpful, and the breakfasts were great.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maureenzinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2011

We booked two nights at Bathwick Gardens (also called Sir Walter Elliot's B&B) via the visitbath website last weekend. Bathwick Gardens is a private, beautiful period property where they rent out three or so rooms on the second floor, as well as in the basement and attic. The property is stunning and is located around a 10 to 15-minute walk from Pultney Bridge. The house is peaceful and elegant yet you can’t help but feel that you’re staying in someone else’s home.

The en-suite room we stayed in was pretty and tastefully decorated and the bathroom was pretty as well. The bed was a bit small however and slightly on the hard side, and the shower in the bathroom was little more than a trickle in the mornings.

The room was clean but a few things did disappoint: there was a single bar of used soap in the bathroom, the tea bags and biscuits were never replaced and there was no wi-fi on the property, unlike what was mentioned on the website.

Breakfast was delicious; you must confirm the night before the time and type of breakfast (English or Austrian) you would prefer. The hostess is of Austrian origin and cooks breakfast herself on most days. We tried both and were not disappointed.

Breakfast was a community affair and we were seated around a single table with the other guests. The fact that we had to share breakfast with complete strangers resulted in a few awkward moments on our first morning but the hostess soon put us all at ease. Once we got to know them, the other guests were lovely and even gave us a few tips on what to see around town.

The couple who run the place are very friendly and have restored the building to its original state. I recommend reading the history page (included in a folder placed in the room). I asked the hosts about the property's period features and was rewarded with a tiny tour of the original kitchen located in the basement (converted into a large room for groups), complete with the period stove and utensils.

All in all, it’s a lovely house but I would have preferred it if I’d been told before booking that I wouldn’t be allowed to lock my room (you must leave your keys in the main corridor when you enter the building). I would also have preferred it if we were given the option of choosing whether we wanted to have breakfast alone or join the rest of the group in the main dining area.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bhumii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2010

Lovely location and so handy for town centre-5min walk! Beautiful house and very friendly couple running it. They made us feel so welcome and a lovely breakfast. We were asked the night before what we would like for breakfast and what time, when we came down the next morning it was all ready for us. We were given a key so we could come and go as we pleased. When we got back in the evenings the lamps were on in the room and room set up for us coming back. Will return as enjoyed bath and this guest house added to a wonderful weekend!! Like staying with friends- fab

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank clm1409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews