We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Bath Experiance”

B&B Bathwick Gardens
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bath
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
B&B Bathwick Gardens
Ranked #133 of 158 Bath B&B and Inns
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“True Bath Experiance”
Reviewed 25 April 2012

I stayed here during the 2010 Jane Austen Festival as part of a Jane Austen Tour and really felt like I had stepped back into her times. The wall paper in each room in something worth checking out and the only down side was having to take my luggage up the many stairs which some would say is all part of the experiance of staying in a townhouse in Bath.

Room Tip: Choose a double room on one of the lower flours
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladyhelga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    6
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
13
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

This is a great location in walking distance to downtown. We parked the car & didn't drive it for three days. The rooms are decorated in period decor and they are very clean & well maintained. The manager and his wife are wonderful people and we enjoyed talking with them. They gave us great tips for what to do while visiting. If you have trouble climbing stairs ask for a room on the first floor. Note: they do not accept credit cards.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Storrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Bathwick Gardens is located in Bathwick the other side of the Avon, just a five minute's walk from the city centre opposite the Holbourne Museum. This location is the first positive - convenient for walking into the city centre. There is free parking round the back (if you have arranged prior to arrival).

This is a house built in the early 19th century, and decorated in a Regency style so it gives a fantastic taster of life 200 years ago. We were in the top floor (in the "attic" to be technical, but don't picture a pitched roof - it is a proper room!) in Mrs Smith's Room. If you're not young or fit the 77 stairs might be a bit of fun, but the view across of the church next door and further to the Abbey (beautifully lit up in the evenings) is a nice compensation when wheezing and trying to get your breath back!

For wont of a better word, the room was "quaint", perhaps a little tired but as it's a period building with a deliberatly old furniture that's to be expected. It is however very clean, and the modern en-suite shower room was great (with a fantastic powerful modern shower).

We loved the shutters on the windows, and the view across Sydney Gardens and, Holbourne Museum to the sunlit hills to the north of Bath were a delight in the mornings.

The owners of the B&B were very welcoming and hospitable, allowing you to come and go as you please throughout the day, and very helpful with any queries about the B&B or about Bath. Breakfast was either a lovely full English or an Austrian-style continental (the wife of the owners is from Austria).

One wee quibble was that much of the house is slightly colder than we are used to these days with our central heating, but that was how the house would have been anyway. Besides, our bedroom itself did have modern central heating so the room was heated fine.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stuart J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2011

The building is a period home in a good location and tastefully furnished. We stayed in the bedroom on the top floor, which is "Mrs Smith's Room". Only minor complaint was the shutters were in need of maintenance but otherwise the room was great.
We chose this place as my wife is a Jane Austin fan. She loved it.
The house was spotless and had a very homely feel about it. The hostess was a lovely Austrian lady who made us feel very welcome.
The breakfast in the morning was magnificent. It was so good and wholesome that I was just chock full in not time.
The location was within easy walking distance to the Roman Baths which was the main purpose of our visit.

Room Tip: All rooms are different and have different appeal and qualities. Check the website photos for more i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PidynTeithio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

My husband and I stayed at Bathwick Gardens at the end of August. As architects we were thrilled with the opportunity to stay in a Regency period town house, to experience the rooms, proportions, and views. Since Persuasion was one of my favorite films, that connection gave added pleasure to my stay. We stayed in Sir Walter's Room, a very large and elegant room with a lovely view over the back garden, the adjacent roofs, and the steeple of the local church beyond. The ensuite bath was very large with an antique commode and a bathtub. Every morning I would wake up and marvel that I was staying in a room that was so large and elegant.
The rest of the house is equally as nice with lovely period decorations. But like so many homes the heart of the house is in the kitchen. We enjoyed breakfast there around the common table with other guests and tasty English or Austrian breakfasts. Julian and Mechthild are warm and generous host with a wealth of knowledge about Bath, architecure, history, interior design, and custom wall paper. An Australian mother and daughter shared our time and we all compared notes on what to see. From them I learned to collect English tea towels as a souvenir. We always got a late start because the time at breakfast was so enjoyable.
It's just a 10 minute walk to downtown Bath, the Abbey, and the baths. It couldn't be more convenient and the neighborhood is lovely.
When we got back to the states, we popped in the DVD of Persuasion and enjoyed seeing our home from home again - although I'll take Julien over Sir Walter any day.
Stay at Bathwick Gardens - you'll enjoy Bath all the more.

Room Tip: Back rooms overlook the gardens and the adjacent church steeple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KBSilverSpring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We were unexpectedly placed at Sir Walter Elliot when another property that we booked at had a burst pipe that made our room unavailable. The Villa Magdala was gracious enough to book us at an "equivalent" property.

We arrived at the Sir Walter Elliot and we were surprized to see the dining room table heaped with laundry, more laundry bags in the dingy hall and a smell of damp. We were given a choice of rooms (basement or upstairs).

The basement had a sitting room furnished with garage sale decor in a unique historic room used by the servants back in the day. The bedrooms were in desparate need of upgrading and updating. The bathrooms had vinal flooring and cheap fixtures and very little in the way of commonly expected toiletries.

We chose the room upstairs because the basement rooms were so unappealing. The upstairs bedroom was brighter but the towels were worn and mismatched, our daughters bed (in the triple room was) little more than and extra mattress on the floor. The bathroom upstairs was no better than the one in the basement.

You are keenly aware that you are staying in someone's home by the laundry on the dining room table, bottle of cough syrup on the bookcase and general state of disarray in the kitchen.

The property was used as a setting in the Jane Austin production of Persuasion and being a huge Jane Austen fan. I really wanted to like this property! The proprietor was friendly and welcoming but the property was so shabby and not at all eqivaltent to the property we originally booked that I had to call the Villa Magdala back and explain that the accomdations were in so run down that they made other accomdations for us.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank tropicaltrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

elegant regency townhouse built in 1809, used in BBC movie "Persuasion". Like living in 19th century with 2lst century advantages. 10 mins walk to town, free parking, opposite lovely park and museum. Huge rooms, modern updated bathrooms and comfortable beds. Hosts were charming and very helpful, and the breakfasts were great.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maureenzinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.6 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.8 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#1 of 30 in Bath
1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
0.0 mi away
Queen Charlotte's Orangery
0.0 mi away
Sir Walter Elliot's House B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Bathwick Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Bathwick Gardens

Property: B&B Bathwick Gardens
Address: 95 Sydney Mews, Bath BA2 4ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 158 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our stunning Regency House in the World Heritage City of Bath, where Jane Austen's Persuasion was filmed! Parking is available and the city centre is only 5 minutes level walk away. The spacious bedrooms are handsomely furnished and decorated with period wallpapers. The hostess is Austrian and offers a choice of her country's breakfast as well as the traditional English calorie buster! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
b&b Bathwick Gardens Hotel Bath
Bed And Breakfast Bathwick Gardens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing