We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely, idyllic country retreat”
other traveller has booked this property
The view of Fishermen's Retreat terrace cottage from the bottom of the garden.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The view of Fishermen's Retreat terrace cottage from the bottom of the garden.
The large master bedroom with 1200 pocket king size bed at the cottage. Elegant design throughout our self-catering holiday cottage.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
61 reviews
The view of Fishermen's Retreat terrace cottage from the bottom of the garden.
The large master bedroom with 1200 pocket king size bed at the cottage.
Elegant design throughout our self-catering holiday cottage.
Fishermen's Retreat bedroom has lovely countryside views from the window.
Luxury Egyptian cotton linen and towels make sure your cosy stay is a luxurious one.
Large open living area with a dining space by the window views.
Comfy sofas and throws for kicking back and relaxing in the evenings.
The dining area at our cosy traditional cottage.
The living area leads into the kitchen on the ground floor. There is a flat screen TV and iPod dock.
The traditional wood-burning stove is the finest way to relax in the evenings.
Modern kitchen interior in the characteristic setting of our 18th century cottage.
The kitchen is large with all the mod-cons for your self-catering needs.
The bathroom is small but practical with a modern walk-in shower and facilities.
The garden terrace at Fishermen's Retreat is perfect for the afternoon hours in the sun.
The private lower terrace in the cottage garden has BBQ facilities.
Few better ways to enjoy the sunny afternoons than outdoors in the Midford Valley.
Outside dining is the best way to make the most of our self-catering cottage surroundings.
The archway leading into the second half of your private garden, ideal for a little stroll...
Outdoor decor echoes the fine touches of the cottage interior.
The Midford Brook stream runs at the bottom of the garden and there are also fishing opportunities.
The view of the meadows across the Brook at the bottom of the garden.
The welcome sign post to our cosy cottage retreat near Bath.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bath, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 61 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Claire R
1 review
“Lovely, idyllic country retreat”
Reviewed 26 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Loved Fisherman's Cottage and have already recommended it to friends and family. A beautiful, peaceful retreat and perfect for exploring Bath!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2016
12 mins by car, 35 mins by cycle and 45 mins on foot...so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Staying at Tucking Mill provides the perfect combination of calm after the bustle of Bath.

so pleased you enjoyed it enough to recommend to your family and friends..and do please come back.
Very warmest wishes

Ann
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prophet99...
Shepperton
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Perfect Country Cottage”
Reviewed 1 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This really is a little gem of a country cottage with a perfect little country garden and a trout stream at the bottom called the Midford brook, which you can fly-fish.

There are two bedrooms, one with a large and extremely comfortable king-size bed, the second room has a small single bed in it. On booking.com it says that the cottage sleeps four but it does not; it only sleeps three.

The kitchen is well equipped and the lounge very comfortable with a great log fire. There is a TV with DVD and free Wi-Fi.

The garden is a delight, with a sun-terrace outside the door and one at the bottom of the garden with a BBQ.

If there is one complaint it is that there is no larder space in the kitchen. I had to move stuff out of one of the cupboards in order to create some space (a very minor point I admit).

For the fishermen out there you will need a long handled landing net (9ft at least) as the banks are steep. I had two rainbows (1.5lb each) on a French Partridge. Lost a couple of spotties too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quietness, the garden, the bed and the stream
Liked least: no larder space
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jun 2016
Mark...delighted you enjoyed it so much that you have already booked to come again next year!! You were at the perfect time for flyfishing as the Mayfly were out...remind me to provide you with a guest ticket next time as it is private water. I will give the ATAA your fishing record as they are interested to know what comes out as it s a stocked river.. You really need waders and then the water is easy.

You are right abut the occupancy..I will amend the booking.com entry. You can do a 4th on the sofa bed but it is too much of a squeeze.
If you have any spare time next year you could try cycling..now that we are on the cycle route in to Bath it has become very popular.
Look forward to seeing you next year...

Best wishes

Ann
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spankyred...
Dorset, UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Idyllic and peaceful”
Reviewed 14 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

My partner and I booked to stay in this cottage as we wanted a trip to the Bath Christmas market but were put off by the prohibitive cost of city centre hotels. All I can say is that we consider ourselves VERY lucky that we found the Fishermen's Retreat!

It's one of those places that you ALMOST don't want to tell anyone about, in case it suddenly gets really busy!

It is truly a chocolate box cottage - part of a short terrace of houses with privately owned homes at either end.

Low beamed ceilings? Check!
Wood burning stove (with logs, kindling and matches provided)? Check!
Decanter of sherry and complimentary sweeties? Check?
Oodles of blankets and pillows and towels? Check!
Beautifully maintained garden with babbling brook? Check!
Tonnes of wildlife to be spotted? Check!
Entirely light pollution-free back garden perfect for star gazing? Check!

Honestly, it was just perfect.

The owners have provided piles of free guides and handbooks and local magazines to help you get your bearings and make choices for eating out and whatnot. (We ate at the recommended Wheelwright's Arms in nearby Monkton Combe - wow! Amazing food!)

The cottage is also about 5 mins from the nearest park and ride scheme, so we didn't have to worry about parking in a VERY busy Bath city centre car park.

We were already feeling Christmassy when we arrived for our weekend away, but to be able to come home to this little slice of cutesy rural cottage life every night was SO lovely. We can't wait to come back in warmer weather and enjoy the garden some more.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wood burner. The view. The wildlife. I could go on...
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Mar 2016
Woow....what a brilliant review..Thank you so much...
Please do come again...simply lovely in the summer!!
Very best wishes

Ann
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
31Ingrid
Tamarin
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“A cosy, comfortable, peaceful refuge”
Reviewed 27 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Stunning garden and nature. Well equipped with lovely fireplace. Second bedroom very small. Would like to revisit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: natural setting
Liked least: not being able to wear shoes downstairs as floor cold
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kath T
Surbiton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful cottage in tranquil countryside”
Reviewed 20 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

I booked Fishermen's Retreat for a two night stay with my sister-in-law and nice who were visiting from New Zealand. They wanted a taste of the English countryside and we all absolutely loved the tranquil setting with beautiful scenery and wildlife at the doorstep.

The cottage is tastefully furnished and of an excellent standard, with everything thought of - great to have free wi-fi, as my mobile signal was not great, and the place was spotlessly clean and comfortable. The garden is gorgeous with plenty of seating areas including down near the brook, where you can watch out for dragonflies, birds, and butterflies. I got up early each morning to sit in the peaceful setting and take it all in - very calming!

We walked into Bath via the Two Tunnels path - hadn't quite realised one of the tunnels was so long...! Another time I'd love to visit and bring bikes. We took the short walk to the Hope and Anchor both nights for a good meal and nice to be in walking distance. I would certainly love to visit again, as so much to see in the area and also just to spend some time in the cottage and garden.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The countryside setting and garden area.
Liked least: The wheels on the twin beds proved a bit disturbing for my relatives who slept there, as any movement caused the beds to move around!
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawnierob
1 review
“My son and I loved the setting and the cottage”
Reviewed 16 June 2015 for a stay in March 2015

It was lovely, relaxing, clean. Well equipped but very very hot. Beautiful cottage. Great setting. Would recommend it.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna_Gorb
Moscow, Russia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing scenery and cozy place”
Reviewed 14 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We were extremely lucky with the weather and and were enjoying ourselfs in an outstanding surroundings of Somerset.
The cottage itself is small, but has everything you might want or need.
Definitely would consider coming back!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing