We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic stay at Fishermen's Retreat”
other traveller has booked this property
The view of Fishermen's Retreat terrace cottage from the bottom of the garden.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The view of Fishermen's Retreat terrace cottage from the bottom of the garden.
The large master bedroom with 1200 pocket king size bed at the cottage. Elegant design throughout our self-catering holiday cottage.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
60 reviews
The view of Fishermen's Retreat terrace cottage from the bottom of the garden.
The large master bedroom with 1200 pocket king size bed at the cottage.
Elegant design throughout our self-catering holiday cottage.
Fishermen's Retreat bedroom has lovely countryside views from the window.
Luxury Egyptian cotton linen and towels make sure your cosy stay is a luxurious one.
Large open living area with a dining space by the window views.
Comfy sofas and throws for kicking back and relaxing in the evenings.
The dining area at our cosy traditional cottage.
The living area leads into the kitchen on the ground floor. There is a flat screen TV and iPod dock.
The traditional wood-burning stove is the finest way to relax in the evenings.
Modern kitchen interior in the characteristic setting of our 18th century cottage.
The kitchen is large with all the mod-cons for your self-catering needs.
The bathroom is small but practical with a modern walk-in shower and facilities.
The garden terrace at Fishermen's Retreat is perfect for the afternoon hours in the sun.
The private lower terrace in the cottage garden has BBQ facilities.
Few better ways to enjoy the sunny afternoons than outdoors in the Midford Valley.
Outside dining is the best way to make the most of our self-catering cottage surroundings.
The archway leading into the second half of your private garden, ideal for a little stroll...
Outdoor decor echoes the fine touches of the cottage interior.
The Midford Brook stream runs at the bottom of the garden and there are also fishing opportunities.
The view of the meadows across the Brook at the bottom of the garden.
The welcome sign post to our cosy cottage retreat near Bath.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bath, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 60 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
KMurphy67
Sausalito, California
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay at Fishermen's Retreat”
Reviewed 9 May 2018 for a stay in March 2018

The garden was a dream...such a break from London..a real home away from home.

And the log burning stove was an unexpected bonus..just love the atmosphere it creates.

We spent many hours watching the birds and even managed a coffee down beside the brook.

This is the second Tucking Mill property I have stayed in and this was every bit as comfortable as Brooks' View. Plan to try Tucking Mill View next time I come to Bath.

These cottages are all so handy for the city and wonderful to relax in, we thoroughly enjoyed are stay and can't wait to come back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidtjam...
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Superb location would definitely stay again.”
Reviewed 13 April 2018 for a stay in December 2017

We came to Bath for a couple of days to do Christmas Shopping and we could not have picked a better spot. Well away from the hustle and bustle of Bath (only 12 mins drive) we could relaxed totally in front of the log burner and have a wonderful cosy home from home.

Beautifully furnished in cottage style we really enjoyed the views both of the garden and the lovely birds on the feeders.

Plan to return in the Spring to see the wild flowers and the daffodils....

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madeleine...
1 review
“As perfect as we remembered”
Reviewed 11 April 2018 for a stay in January 2018

This was our second visit to Fishermen's Retreat which we enjoyed immensely. It was so cosy to snuggle up by the woodburning stove, it was a real home from home. Super comfortable too. Watching the birds on the feeders was a sheer delight. Communication with the family team was very easy and they made us feel so welcome.

We hope to return in the summer to sit beside the brook.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kurtwesto...
St Austell, United Kingdom
1 review
“Make space in your diary and book it”
Reviewed 7 February 2018 for a stay in January 2018

In our weekend stay here we managed to enjoy seeing a whole array of wildlife, including nuthatch, tree creeper, a family of long tailed tits, blue tits, great tits, robins, blackcap, woodpeckers, heron, and pheasants. We listened to four tawny owls at night - one, we think, landed right on the top window sill outside our bedroom.

Also we saw a badger, and at night, in the torchlight, we think we spotted an otter, just to the right of the big tree straight across from the dividing fence between the two gardens. There seem to be scratchings in the mud, and a few holes in the banks where they may be living, a very welcome sight providing you know how to keep very quiet at night time so as to respect their home and not to scare them.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Mar 2018
Hi Kurt, thank you for your lovely review and great to see you discovered so much wildlife. It is certainly the beautiful location here that is the finest selling point! :) Best wishes, Ann
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prophet99...
Shepperton
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Perfect little country cottage”
Reviewed 4 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This really is the perfect little country cottage; it is the fourth time I have stayed here and have already planned to do so again. It is perfect for Bath as there is a lovely walk through the old railway tunnel to get into town (takes about an hour or so) and the cottage has a discount on a taxi firm if you want to use them.

All the amenities are there that you need and the bed is the most comfortable I have ever slept in.

I used this as a base for fly-fishing the west-country, which was perfect; the stream at the bottom is also fishable with natural brownies and stocked triploid rainbows. Ann, the owner, can also get you a week pass to fish the stretches of water (Wellow, Cam and Midford brook) owned by the ATAA, which I recommend.

This cottage is ideal for couples and that special weekend away. Don't wait, book now.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jun 2017
Hi there

Thank you so much for taking the time to write and at such length. You clearly enjoy the fishing opportunities....and walking into town through the 2 Tunnels.
The brooks is lovely for fishing and of course being so close you can fish off the bottom of the garden.
Glad you like the bed too.
It was lovely to meet up with you and hopefully see you again in December....

Best

Ann
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kateb8720...
Cornwall, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent place!!”
Reviewed 24 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The cottage is in a great location, you can cycle to bath if you wanted, lovely walking paths and routes and garden to relax in.
The cottage have everything we needed! And the host were so helpful. We had evening meal in the hope and anchor pub which was fab and great value. We did have a little trouble to find it, it's about 1/2 mile from where your sat nav takes you.
Would love to come back and stay longer!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire R
1 review
“Lovely, idyllic country retreat”
Reviewed 26 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Loved Fisherman's Cottage and have already recommended it to friends and family. A beautiful, peaceful retreat and perfect for exploring Bath!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2016
12 mins by car, 35 mins by cycle and 45 mins on foot...so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Staying at Tucking Mill provides the perfect combination of calm after the bustle of Bath.

so pleased you enjoyed it enough to recommend to your family and friends..and do please come back.
Very warmest wishes

Ann
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing