We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful”

The Dower House at Royal Crescent
Reserve with OpenTable
The Dower House at Royal Crescent is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #92 of 569 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, View, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Dower House restaurant at The Royal Crescent Hotel in Bath –if an English hotel and restaurant have a more perfect setting, we don’t know of it. The frontage of the Royal Crescent is a masterpiece of Georgian architecture and the gardens, where The Dower House restaurant is set are leafy, secluded and lovely. Newly refurbished, The Dower House now features an elegant dining room and a super cool bar as well as a sunny terrace and manicured lawns for romantic al fresco dining. Head Chefs Gordon Jones and Mark Brega have created a modern British menu inflected with Asian and Mediterranean influences. Our pick? The French quail tart with creamed leeks and braised Puy lentils with Pommery mustard thyme sauce.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Beautiful setting, afternoon tea is a treat and staff were very attentive. Would go again but only for a special occasion

Helpful?
Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    34
    21
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bucks. UK
Level Contributor
402 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“Great ambience, great food, great service”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

OK you pay for it too, especially through the drink - we ordered champagne without looking at the menu by the glass as it was a birthday and were a little shocked to find it was £18 a glass! However the rabbit starter plate was exceptional and the other courses very good; the little touches like the amuse bouche and petits fours always please. Service was mostly spot on (except being asked 3 times by 3 different people if we wanted water at the start...). The location is lovely and peaceful and even if it's too chilly to sit out you can look at the garden. I went here about 5 years ago also for lunch and the return did not disappoint.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank helenakitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
628 reviews
333 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“Pretty good but could do with more choice”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We came here for a celebration dinner and were not disappointed. The setting is good, as is the food, and the staff were friendly and generally attentive. The use of a voucher reduced the cost to an acceptable level and generally all was fine. The only gripe was that the only menu we were given restricted our choices to 3 per course on the basis I think that as a party of 5 we were too big to be given the big menu. Really?

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrushM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
327 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
“lovely family lunch”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Went to the Dower House at the Royal Crescent Hotel in Bath for fathers day lunch with our young children. The restaurant was very quiet with just a few other customers. The newly decorated dining room is beautifully decorated and elegant. It was a tiny bit too chilly for sitting outside so we had a table by the doors that were open to the garden which meant our children could pop out into the gardens between courses and we enjoyed the lovely views of the gardens and could wander in and out. Food was delicious, everything was excellent and the children had a childrens menu to choose from. Service was very pleasant and there was no stuffy atmosphere, just a relaxed place to enjoy a special meal. We hadn't taken our children to a fine dining restaurant before and this was perfect as they were not stuck at the table and could pop outside without disturbing other diners. Outside are croquet sets and an unusual seat hanging from a tree. We had coffee outside and all in all were at the Royal Crescent for about 3 hours. We had a look at the downstairs rooms in the main hotel which are all very stylish and impressive. Also had a look at the small spa which they were very happy to show people round.

As we were sitting outside having coffee, more guests and staff began arrive for the afternoon tea. This did look a bit chaotic despite having plenty of management and staff it all seemed a bit haphazard. when we asked for the bill they brought us a bill for 2 coffees a cake and we explained was wrong bill, we had actually had lunch. The waiter who served us lunch then brought the wrong bill again saying were we sure it wasn't ours. Luckily for the hotel we are honest as we said again it was wrong. A less honest person could have paid £13.50 for a lunch bill of £150. They need to sharpen up on organisation or will be expensive errors for the hotel!

A really lovely afternoon, we thoroughly enjoyed it and would love to return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Feeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, UK
Level Contributor
124 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fine dining but....”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Not having been to eat at the Royal Crescent for a long time, we were delighted to have been given a Christmas voucher gift which we had saved up for a fine sunny evening to eat at the newly decorated Dower House, now under new management. Before dining we sat in the garden until it was too cold and waited quite a long time for our bottle of wine. Unfortunately, our first choice of seating was made uncomfortable by the huge, noisy air-conditioning units nearby. We were given 'tapas' of mayonnaise, mini croquettes and tiny vegetable pieces. I have to say that I was personally disappointed at the newly decorated bar and restaurant, finding it rather dull and dark. However, the seats were very comfortable! We were presented with delicious bread (I thoroughly recommend the dark, moist Irish soda bread) and an 'amuse bouche' which included a lovely tomato jelly.. My main course of turbot was good in part; I didn't really like the texture of crushed quinoa and for my taste the turbot was overcooked. My husband had 'suckling pig' which consisted of 3 tiny squared morsels along with other tiny delicate bits and pieces. A minimalist version of the succulent, generous classic Spanish dish? We paid £40 for a bottle of superior Kiwi Sauvignon Blanc, presented by the charming Italian sommelier. When we presented our vouchers to balance against the bill, the final total presented was actually £20 too much! A big minus point. (By unfortunate coincidence we had been overcharged by about the same amount when we ate at the main restaurant on our wedding night 15 years ago!!)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fortnight52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Dower House at Royal Crescent also viewed

 

Been to The Dower House at Royal Crescent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing