We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crescent Tea”

The Dower House at Royal Crescent
Reserve with OpenTable
The Dower House at Royal Crescent is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #84 of 575 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Dower House restaurant at The Royal Crescent Hotel in Bath –if an English hotel and restaurant have a more perfect setting, we don’t know of it. The frontage of the Royal Crescent is a masterpiece of Georgian architecture and the gardens, where The Dower House restaurant is set are leafy, secluded and lovely. Newly refurbished, The Dower House now features an elegant dining room and a super cool bar as well as a sunny terrace and manicured lawns for romantic al fresco dining. Head Chefs Gordon Jones and Mark Brega have created a modern British menu inflected with Asian and Mediterranean influences. Our pick? The French quail tart with creamed leeks and braised Puy lentils with Pommery mustard thyme sauce.
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
191 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Crescent Tea”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Well, if you are going to do tea, do it with the English. Very classic service and presentation without being pretentious. They bring all of the charm and history without any stuffiness. Stop by if you are in the area.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    35
    21
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Beautiful setting, afternoon tea is a treat and staff were very attentive. Would go again but only for a special occasion

Helpful?
Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks. UK
Level Contributor
408 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“Great ambience, great food, great service”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

OK you pay for it too, especially through the drink - we ordered champagne without looking at the menu by the glass as it was a birthday and were a little shocked to find it was £18 a glass! However the rabbit starter plate was exceptional and the other courses very good; the little touches like the amuse bouche and petits fours always please. Service was mostly spot on (except being asked 3 times by 3 different people if we wanted water at the start...). The location is lovely and peaceful and even if it's too chilly to sit out you can look at the garden. I went here about 5 years ago also for lunch and the return did not disappoint.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank helenakitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
663 reviews
352 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
“Pretty good but could do with more choice”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We came here for a celebration dinner and were not disappointed. The setting is good, as is the food, and the staff were friendly and generally attentive. The use of a voucher reduced the cost to an acceptable level and generally all was fine. The only gripe was that the only menu we were given restricted our choices to 3 per course on the basis I think that as a party of 5 we were too big to be given the big menu. Really?

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrushM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
327 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
“lovely family lunch”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Went to the Dower House at the Royal Crescent Hotel in Bath for fathers day lunch with our young children. The restaurant was very quiet with just a few other customers. The newly decorated dining room is beautifully decorated and elegant. It was a tiny bit too chilly for sitting outside so we had a table by the doors that were open to the garden which meant our children could pop out into the gardens between courses and we enjoyed the lovely views of the gardens and could wander in and out. Food was delicious, everything was excellent and the children had a childrens menu to choose from. Service was very pleasant and there was no stuffy atmosphere, just a relaxed place to enjoy a special meal. We hadn't taken our children to a fine dining restaurant before and this was perfect as they were not stuck at the table and could pop outside without disturbing other diners. Outside are croquet sets and an unusual seat hanging from a tree. We had coffee outside and all in all were at the Royal Crescent for about 3 hours. We had a look at the downstairs rooms in the main hotel which are all very stylish and impressive. Also had a look at the small spa which they were very happy to show people round.

As we were sitting outside having coffee, more guests and staff began arrive for the afternoon tea. This did look a bit chaotic despite having plenty of management and staff it all seemed a bit haphazard. when we asked for the bill they brought us a bill for 2 coffees a cake and we explained was wrong bill, we had actually had lunch. The waiter who served us lunch then brought the wrong bill again saying were we sure it wasn't ours. Luckily for the hotel we are honest as we said again it was wrong. A less honest person could have paid £13.50 for a lunch bill of £150. They need to sharpen up on organisation or will be expensive errors for the hotel!

A really lovely afternoon, we thoroughly enjoyed it and would love to return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Feeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Dower House at Royal Crescent also viewed

 

Been to The Dower House at Royal Crescent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing