We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another great stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Devonshire House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Devonshire House
Ranked #36 of 192 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lancashire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Another great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

I have just returned from another very enjoyable stay at Devonshire House Hotel. The owners, Louise and Chris were away, but I was well looked after by Judith and Gerry. As always, the rooms were clean, the service friendly, and the breakfast was very good. I try to make my reviews helpful and include any drawbacks with the places I stay. I can think of only three, limited parking, distance from the centre of the City, and, being a small Guest House, it does not proved meals other than breakfast. On the first point, as I am not a driver, I am not worried, on the second, the hotel is about a mile from the centre of the city, and the walk from Bath is up a fairly steep hill. However, I did not find this a problem, and the walk took me about 15 minutes. Just remember, I am not a fit young athlete, but a 67 year old with early signs of osteo arthritis in my knees! If, however, you are unable or unwilling to walk, there are a number of buses which stop at or near to the hotel.
On the third point, there is a very good pub next to the hotel, the Devonshire Arms, which, as well as providing a good range of drinks, serve an excellent choice of meals from Tuesdays to Sundays.
I am pleased the vast number of reviews are positive, and these opinions are backed up by the comments in the Visitors' Book, and from discussions I have had with fellow guests.
Finally, I should mention that Louise and Chris, as well as Judith and Gerry are local people who have a good knowledge of the area, and are always pleased to provide help and advice.
I look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidfLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    58
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
43
108
8
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

we have just returned from a short visit to bath, a beautiful city with lots more to see so we have to go again, our stay at the devonshire house was everything we hoped for , chris and louise the owners were both very friendly,helpful,and informative,we have no complaints , breakfast alone is worth the journey,the rooms are comfortable the bed even more so .superb. fantastic . thhankyou both very much.john and julie.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jaj112233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

Stayed at the Devonshirehouse for 3 nights & found it to be a delightful place.
It is located a little way from the city centre, about 15-20 minutes slow walk (downhill) it is also worth taking the scenic route into town the views are spectacular, there is also a good reliable bus service that operates a few yards from the b & b.
The premises are spotlessly clean & our room was comfortable, with tv,tea/coffee etc & even a bowl of fruit was provided.
The continental breafkast is ample with plenty of choices, we had the full english 1 morning & that was very well presented & cooked to perfection.
The owners Chris & Louise are both very helpful & are always eager to offer advise & tips regarding where to visit & places to eat, & provide plenty of leaflets with local info.
Bath is a very charming place & if we did return to Bath, we would certainly stay at the Devonshire House again.

Room Tip: Room No 5 is on the ground floor at the front of the house, it is double glazed - no noise from tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anne170711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
154 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

Our room was comfortable, clean, quiet and had a huge bathroom. But the website is misleading about how close the B&B is to attractions in Bath. It's a 25-minute walk to the attractions and longer coming back (since you're going uphill on the return). The restaurant options without this walk are very limited. Secure parking is available, but you have very limited access to it. We opted for street parking, but that was a challenge. Breakfast was included, but we opted to skip it since we wanted an earlier start to our day.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShowMeSomething
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, England
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

We had a fantastic weekend break at Devonshire House. We travelled from Essex and ended up getting to Bath at 9.30pm, beyond the alllocated check-in times. However we were assured that this was not a problem.....I received an email the previous day explaining that they would not be in on our arrival and that they would leave our keys with the pub next door, giving us instructions, which worked well.

The room was lovely - a large double bed, a large shower and a toilet. We were provided with towels and shower and hand soap too. There was also a kettle with a variety of hot drinks to choose from and a biscuit - the room was very well catered for. There was a brochure that had been put together with everything that we needed to know about the B&B and Bath itself, aswell as leaflets and maps to choose from in the dining room. We were able to connect to the Wifi which was an added bonus. There was a wide variety of food to choose from for a continental breakfast and we had a cooked breakfast on our last morning which was lovely.

The service was wonderful, we cannot thank the owners enough for their hospitality and a wonderful place to stay. Thank you very much!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel_jh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2011

My husband, teenage daughter and I have just returned from a lovely 5 day break in Bath. We stayed at Devonshire House which is a charming hotel close to all the main attractions in the City. It is around a 15 minute walk into the main city ( and a 20 minute walk back as it is uphill ). Our weather was lovely therefore we walked into Bath and back every day.
We were in room one which was a lovely, large, bright and airy room - perfect for the 3 of us. Both the room and en-suite were immaculate, decor fresh and well-equipped. The owners, Chris and Louise, were so friendly and helpful and made our stay in Bath a delight. We would highly recommend staying at Devonshire House and hope to return there some day in the future.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali-Max63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2011

My wife and I stayed there 3 nights, and we enjoyed our stay thoroughly. It's the best hotel room out of the 3 hotels we stayed during our holidays in UK. It was recommended by my niece who lived down the road from Devonshire. This B&B provides good breakfast. Overall, it was a great experience for both of us I this nice English house. Both the owners Chris & Louise were very friendly and they kept the premises very clean. We will definitely return to Devonshire when we visit Bath next. Thank you Chris & Louise for the unforgettable stay. Take care and best regards.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Uguan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.0 mi away
High Beeches
High Beeches
#16 of 192 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Hollies
The Hollies
#35 of 192 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.2 mi away
Milton House
Milton House
#22 of 192 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Bay Tree House
Bay Tree House
#46 of 192 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#15 of 192 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
2.0 mi away
Weston Lawn
Weston Lawn
#71 of 192 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devonshire House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devonshire House

Property: Devonshire House
Address: 143 Wellsway, Bath BA2 4RZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Devonshire House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family run B&B used to be a Victorian Grocers shop, but now offers individually furnished, ensuite bedrooms, including a family room, twin bedded and double rooms. Thirty years of combined hospitality experience ensure the service and standards are both professional and friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your Devonshire House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devonshire House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing