We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great comfortable stay”
Review of Devonshire House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Devonshire House
Ranked #36 of 157 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Westfield, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great comfortable stay”
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We stayed at Devonshire house for two nights in May and would certainly recommend it. Upon arrival we were welcomed by Louise who showed us to a very comfortable room with large bathroom. Both Louise and her husband Chris were welcoming and helpful. We felt really good staying there. They prepared a lovely continental breakfast including warm croissant. They also gave us all kind of helpful hints making our stay in Bath even more meaningful.
It’s a bit of a walk into town but the hosts provided a map showing the best option for the walk and also told us about taxi services. We walked each time but if you are a bit out of shape, you may want to take a taxi on the way up. There is a lovely pub next to B&B with good beer.
We really enjoyed it and would recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GTImages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise F, Owner at Devonshire House, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay.

Kind regards

Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    61
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
45
114
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Llandudno
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Very helpful host, nice room, comfortable and spacious. Great value. We did find the shower a bit hard to get right but it was adequate. We got parking outside which was very a helpful to us . Hosts were helpful with tips o

Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise F, Owner at Devonshire House, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Thanks for taking the time to feedback. Hope to welcome you back in the future.

Best regards

Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Stayed for 2 nights, we had a welcoming email the day before we arrived which was nice, when we arrived we were shown into a very comfortable room with an ensuite loo and separate shower. Comfy bed ensured a good nights sleep. Woke to a lovely continental breakfast including warm croissants. It's a bit of a walk into Bath but we were given a map showing best options for the walk. We bought our Thermae Spa vouchers from the hotel and had a chat about best times to visit. V knowledgeable about area and places to visit. Had a bottle of wine in our room as a thank you you for booking the vouchers which was a nice touch. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison10011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

My mother, brother and I stayed here on a quick trip through Bath. We stayed on the second floor in a large room with one double and one single bed. The toilet/shower room was newly renovated and well appointed with a large step-in shower and bright, clean, fixtures. Our room overlooked the street but despite my initial concern, the windows were very well insulated and none of us were disturbed by road (or pub) noise the entire night. Breakfast was the hearty, full flavoured English variety and started our day off on the right foot. We opted to walk to the city centre and found it an easy trip down. The trip up the hill was a bit more work but it kept us warm in the chill night air. It was quite easy to take a cab as well, (mum's request) the next day. I would stay here again to be sure!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beaterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Having read previous reviews on here I was not surprised that we had a great stay, I booked this hotel for my husbands birthday and the location was ideal. I think we made it to the centre of Bath in 15 minutes - it is a steep descent but on pavements - but so is most of Bath! we got a taxi back both days for as little as £6 so there is nothing to whinge about regarding the location.

The room was ideal - lovely and cosy with very comfy bed and the bathroom was very large by any hotel standards. The breakfast was also plentiful with everything you could wish for and more continnental style.

All in all a great stay and would book again when we return to the beautiful Bath

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irenie82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We stayed at the Devonshire after a day in Bath...it was very cozy and welcoming, but I was surprised by how big the room was and the updated bathroom (for our family of 4). Chris was a very welcoming host and helped us find a wonderful place for dinner....plus he served a delicious breakfast. The B&B is very convenient to downtown Bath. Overall a wonderful experience.
The Brown Family

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We have just returned from a two night stay at Devonshire House, and we only have great things to say about it. The owners were so friendly and eager to please. We had booked spa vouchers to use at the spa in the city centre, which were waiting for us along with a bottle of wine, which was a really lovely touch. They really had thought of everything, even down to instructions on how to get to and from town to take with you so you could find your way back. The walk into the centre was slightly longer than expected (20 minutes), but it was worth it because it was a lovely place to go back to after a long day of sight seeing. The continental breakfast was really yummy and there were even homemade muffins. I can't recommend Devonshire House enough, and will go back if we ever visit Bath again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlottegrigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.2 mi away
Milton House
Milton House
#28 of 157 in Bath
390 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bay Tree House
Bay Tree House
#47 of 157 in Bath
236 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#14 of 157 in Bath
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Waterhouse
Waterhouse
#1 of 3 in Monkton Combe
561 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dorian House
Dorian House
#20 of 157 in Bath
1,075 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grays Boutique B&B
Grays Boutique B&B
#10 of 157 in Bath
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devonshire House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devonshire House

Property: Devonshire House
Address: 143 Wellsway, Bath BA2 4RZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Devonshire House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family run B&B used to be a Victorian Grocers shop, but now offers individually furnished, ensuite bedrooms, including a family room, twin bedded and double rooms. Thirty years of combined hospitality experience ensure the service and standards are both professional and friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Devonshire House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devonshire House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing